proTUNING Freaks
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > Regional Forums > AUSTRALIA

04-16-2017, 08:20 AM   #1
screenshot
Private First Class
Australia
Rep
Drives: BMW F80 LCI M3 2015

Anyone had curb rash troubles with this car??

Having recently acquired a 2015 LCI M3 earlier this year, I found that the F80's width and heavy steering (even in comfort) makes it a lot trickier to park or drive near curbs (especially in small multilevel car parks).

I have owned two 3 series for the last 7-8 years, a E46 and then F30 M Sport. Never came close to wheel curbing but with this car, I am EXTREMELY paranoid about damaging them. The F30 3 series had the M Sport 19" rims which are very similar in profile and shape to the M3's wheels too. Just saw a minor scuff on the back driver side today and I think it must've happened last night when I was negotiating this ridiculously tiny multilevel car park. I'm a very careful driver and super fussy about my cars so this is perplexing me to no end.

Have any other F80/82 owners had bad experiences in this regard? Has anyone suffered any misfortunes and had to get the wheels repaired or replaced? I'm also aware that the 437M style wheels are notoriously difficult to repair since the face has a diamond cut finish and is tinted in this unique grey colour requiring a special mixture. Apparently I read somewhere that the wheels are not even made by BMW factory but by a third party company!

Who do you go to for repairs (in Melbourne) or would you claim it through insurance for a full replacement? These wheels are a small fortune ~ $1500 each to replace brand new online or through a local dealership!
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2017, 11:08 AM   #2
brownb_2
First Lieutenant
Australia
Rep
Drives: 2016 M3

Lci should have surround view? Should be hard to hit a curb
Appreciate 0
      04-16-2017, 01:00 PM   #3
G35POPPEDMYCHERRY
Banned
No_Country
Rep
Drives: F80

Quote: