European Auto Source (EAS)
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning

02-17-2018, 02:28 PM   #1
AtlantisF80
First Lieutenant
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2017 M3 / 2008 328i

Flash tune vs chip tune

I am new to the world of tunes whether they be flash tunes or chip tunes to our cars.

1. What is the difference between the two types of tunes?
2. Why do flash tunes cost more than a chip tune (i.e., BMS stage 1)?
      02-17-2018, 02:33 PM   #2
Mike@N54Tuning.com
Joint Chiefs of Staff
Canada
Rep
Drives: 2007 335i, 2015 M3

You should also add the JB4 (chip Tune / piggyback) combined with a special back end flash into the mix.. Best of both worlds Takes the positives of the Chip / piggyback tune and flash tune and combines them into one..

Also I think a better comparison would be JB4 versus a flash tune.. The BMS stage1 is a pretty basic tune but a great value as you get a nice safe bump in power for a crazy low price.

Mike

Last edited by Mike@N54Tuning.com; 02-17-2018 at 05:46 PM..
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2018, 02:37 PM   #3
parabmw
Major
Rep
Drives: 2018 m4

Do the flash. Way safer, consistent and reliable than a piggyback.
Everyone would agree that a good flash is always preferred over a piggyback.
I've had both and flash was better in everyway
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2018, 03:05 PM   #4
BPMSport
United_States
Rep
Drives: Harrop M3 / F10 M5 / F82 M4

Garage List
2000 BMW M5  [0.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [7.50]
2015 BMW M3  [0.00]
2015 BMW M5  [0.00]
"Chip" tunes don't really exist for newer vehicles. Back in the day, the DME or "engine computer" had an actual EEPROM "chip" that was often replaced with a reprogrammed version in order to tune the car.