Mo Reviews
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Cosmetic Maintenance (Wash/Wax/Detailing/Exterior Restoration & Repairs)

09-02-2017, 10:31 PM   #1
radiofrequency
Field Marshall
Rep
Drives: 2018 M4 ZCP, 2021 M2 Comp

Paint Correction on a New Silverstone Metallic M4 ZCP

My intention is to update/edit this thread as I make progress toward full paint correction tomorrow, and, as a disclaimer, I am an amateur detailer. I will also detail the process of wheel correction and coating using Gyeon Prep (http://gyeonquartz.com/product/prep/) and Kamikaze Stance Rim Coat (https://www.kamikaze-collection.com/products) I took delivery of my new 2018 M4 ZCP on Friday, September 1st, 2017. I drove the vehicle home, about 30 miles and parked it in my garage. Today, Saturday, September 2nd, I washed the vehicle using a Foam Cannon with Chemical Guys Honeydew Snow Foam. I used P21S Gel for the 666 Wheels, and let me say upfront, I've cleaned a lot of wheels, and the 666 is probably the biggest PITA to clean (I use only Wheel Woolies as my tool of choice for wheel cleaning). I pulled my car back into the garage and performed a decontamination using Iron Cut. The images below show the extent of iron contamination on a brand new vehicle - pretty bad! Tomorrow, Sunday, I will clay the entire vehicle prior to using Rupes Yellow Pads (http://www.esotericcarcare.com/rupes...polishing-pad/) and Sonax Perfect Finish (http://www.sonaxusa.com/tag/perfect-finish) to perform a one step paint correction. Polishes, pads and polishing machines have improved so much over the past 5 or so years, resulting in the ability to perform paint correction in one step using a DA Polisher. This process used to take three steps for me to accomplish what I can, today, in one step. Disclaimer: I am polishing a new vehicle here, if this was an older vehicle with, perhaps, more significant paint correction required, I would probably