European Auto Source
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > M3 / M4 Photos and Videos

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-07-2014, 06:23 PM   #1
mil405
Private First Class
mil405's Avatar
15
Rep
114
Posts

Drives: M4 > E92
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SoFla

iTrader: (0)

Pics - Heads Up Display Standard vs. M View

Not sure it's been posted here yet, but here's what the Heads up Display looks like between the standard view and M View. The Standard view is really nice when showing the Navigation directions.

It was a little difficult to get it to photograph well, but I bumped up the Contrast to get it to show better.
Attached Images
   
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2014, 07:05 PM   #2
1stm3f80
First Lieutenant
1stm3f80's Avatar
United_States
37
Rep
380
Posts

Drives: F80 ///M3
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Thanks!!!
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2014, 09:51 PM   #3
mil405
Private First Class
mil405's Avatar
15
Rep
114
Posts

Drives: M4 > E92
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SoFla

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1stm3f80 View Post
Thanks!!!
Having the Navigation directions displayed in the HED is pretty impressive too. It allows me to keep the main screen full map without the side screen active.
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2014, 10:06 PM   #4
GOLFFRR
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
GOLFFRR's Avatar
3163
Rep
23,157
Posts


Drives: I'm Jimmy aka GOLFFRR
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Solvang, CA/Camarillo, CA

iTrader: (4)

HUD is awesome
__________________

BEFORE YOU BUY YOUR NEXT BMW, PM ME FIRST WE CAN HOOK YOU UP!
David Aviles: bmwdavid@icloud.com - Cell:202-262-2900
If you have any issues getting a hold of David PLEASE PM me, I'm available everyday till 545pm!
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2014, 11:08 PM   #5
tooch
Captain
United_States
54
Rep
806
Posts

Drives: F82
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: NOR-CAL

iTrader: (0)

Nice
__________________

96 E31 JB
07 E92 AW
F82 BSM
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2014, 11:40 PM   #6
///M ARMY
Colonel
326
Rep
2,414
Posts

Drives: F80
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Cali

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2015 Charger 392  [0.00]
2015 M3  [0.00]
One of the best features in the car
__________________
2015 BMW /// M3 BSM
Just stock!
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2014, 11:41 PM   #7
Sedan_Clan
Olympic Lifting Junkie
Sedan_Clan's Avatar
Brazil
1365
Rep
13,648
Posts

Drives: '17 Nardo Grey M4
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: On 2 wheels clipping an apex!

iTrader: (26)

Does M-HUD show navigation directions?
Appreciate 0
      07-07-2014, 11:42 PM   #8
GBPackerfan1963
Banned
United_States
21
Rep
996
Posts

Drives: 2002 BMW M5 2007 E60 550i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Elk Grove, CA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2002 BMW M5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sedan_Clan View Post
Does M-HUD show navigation directions?
Who fucking knows. He only posted 2 pictures. What a freakin' n00b.
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2014, 12:53 AM   #9
Buddy Revell
First Lieutenant
30
Rep
357
Posts

Drives: E92 M3, M4, 991 911 Turbo
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orange County, CA

iTrader: (0)

I wish there was a way to get speed limit info on the HUD through coding without having the Driver's Assistance package.
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2014, 12:57 AM   #10
jc05e46m3
Colonel
jc05e46m3's Avatar
132
Rep
2,668
Posts

Drives: '15 Z06
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NW AR

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buddy Revell View Post
I wish there was a way to get speed limit info on the HUD through coding without having the Driver's Assistance package.
^THIS
__________________
'15 /// M4 - YMB/SO
'15 MK7 GTI - APR Stage 2
'12 E92 ///M3 ZCP - AW/FR - Sold
'05 E46 ///M3 - TiAg/IR- Sold
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2014, 12:59 AM   #11
GBPackerfan1963
Banned
United_States
21
Rep
996
Posts

Drives: 2002 BMW M5 2007 E60 550i
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Elk Grove, CA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2002 BMW M5  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buddy Revell View Post
I wish there was a way to get speed limit info on the HUD through coding without having the Driver's Assistance package.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jc05e46m3 View Post
^THIS
Hit up pillpusher84 (the coding Master Jedi) He will know.
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2014, 01:58 AM   #12
UK6
First Lieutenant
United Kingdom
48
Rep
376
Posts

Drives: M4 & 330e
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Middlesbrough UK

iTrader: (0)

UK options allow it, I have it on mine, I prefer the non M HUD for day to day driving.
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2014, 02:11 AM   #13
Sir Loin
M3AT LOVER
Sir Loin's Avatar
United_States
200
Rep
1,807
Posts

Drives: Silverstone F80 M3
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

Speed Limit Info uses a camera in front of the rear view mirror to read speed limt signs. Without ordering the driver assistance plus package in the USA, you can't have the feature, coding or not.
__________________
2015 F80 M3 | SSII ext SO int | M-DCT | 19" Black Wheels
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2014, 02:13 AM   #14
Sir Loin
M3AT LOVER
Sir Loin's Avatar
United_States
200
Rep
1,807
Posts

Drives: Silverstone F80 M3
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

mil405, thanks for the pictures. On the packages and options FAQs thread I added a link to your thread. Thanks.
__________________
2015 F80 M3 | SSII ext SO int | M-DCT | 19" Black Wheels
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2014, 02:47 AM   #15
RickMonet
Lieutenant
RickMonet's Avatar
104
Rep
497
Posts

Drives: 2015 M3 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Loin View Post
Speed Limit Info uses a camera in front of the rear view mirror to read speed limt signs. Without ordering the driver assistance plus package in the USA, you can't have the feature, coding or not.
Confirmed this on a test drive - speed limit showed in solid white background box in HUD.

Makes the Drivers Assistance Plus option worth it - road trips!
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2014, 07:40 AM   #16
Wah
IG@i.am.wah
Wah's Avatar
United_States
2109
Rep
4,957
Posts

Drives: 2018 M4
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NJ

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Loin View Post
Speed Limit Info uses a camera in front of the rear view mirror to read speed limt signs. Without ordering the driver assistance plus package in the USA, you can't have the feature, coding or not.
My 5 year old Garmin has speed limit info and it is one of those portable units, so it doesn't use any cameras. It seems like BMW is making things more difficult than it needs to be.
Appreciate 1
      07-08-2014, 07:44 AM   #17
gthal
Major General
gthal's Avatar
Canada
1268
Rep
5,642
Posts

Drives: 2016 M2
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Canada

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wah View Post
My 5 year old Garmin has speed limit info and it is one of those portable units, so it doesn't use any cameras. It seems like BMW is making things more difficult than it needs to be.
I'm not convinced it uses cameras and not GPS. My car shows the speed limit IMMEDIATELY when I turn onto a street whether I can see a speed limit sign or not. IF it is using cameras I think it is also using GPS in some way as it will know speed limit data even without visible signs in my experience.
__________________
2016 M2 | Long Beach Blue | 6MT - current
2015 M4 | Austin Yellow | DCT
2014 Corvette Stingray | Z51 | Torch Red | 7MT
2012 MB C63 Coupe | Performance package | Obsidian Black
2011 E92 M3 | Jerez Black | Fox Red | DCT | Competition Package
Appreciate 1
      07-08-2014, 08:34 AM   #18
chiplee
Captain
chiplee's Avatar
167
Rep
943
Posts

Drives: 2015 M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ridgecrest, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Loin View Post
Speed Limit Info uses a camera in front of the rear view mirror to read speed limt signs. Without ordering the driver assistance plus package in the USA, you can't have the feature, coding or not.
Can't tell if you're serious, but that just can't be true is it? Talk about a Rube Goldberg approach to problem solving by BMW engineers of so... The garmin HUD does turn by turn, speed and speed limit info for $180 and knows the speed limit no matter where it is.
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2014, 08:41 AM   #19
Kanuck
Lieutenant
Kanuck's Avatar
Canada
80
Rep
443
Posts

Drives: 2017 M3 (ED)
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

I'm guessing it uses GPS but overrides that with the camera info if different. I've found that the speed limit display will adjust if there is a temporary lowered limit, say for road construction, with a sign.
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2014, 10:19 AM   #20
chiplee
Captain
chiplee's Avatar
167
Rep
943
Posts

Drives: 2015 M3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Ridgecrest, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kanuck View Post
I'm guessing it uses GPS but overrides that with the camera info if different. I've found that the speed limit display will adjust if there is a temporary lowered limit, say for road construction, with a sign.
I suppose that makes a bit more sense, but I'm still not gathering how the technology can tell the difference between an interstate number and a speed limit number, especially worldwide where sign designs vary so much.
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2014, 11:30 AM   #21
Greeney
Brigadier General
Greeney's Avatar
United_States
133
Rep
3,812
Posts

Drives: Jerez E90 M3
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Westchester, NY / Fort Lauderdale, FL

iTrader: (4)

Send a message via AIM to Greeney Send a message via MSN to Greeney Send a message via Skype™ to Greeney
I also read that if you have the Surround View Cameras and the KAFAS module on your car you technically already have the hardware onboard for Speed Limit Info... BMW locks the feature out using some required code which only dealers BMWAG has the ability to distribute.
__________________
11' E90 M3 6MT | Jerez Black | Black Ext./Carbon | ZCP | ZCW | ZPP | ZTP | 302 | 403 | 507 | 5AC | 655 | 6FL | 752 |
15' F80 M3 6MT | Black Saphire | Black Full | ZEC | ZLP | 2VF | 2VZ | 5DL | 688 |
Appreciate 0
      07-08-2014, 11:33 AM   #22
ersin
Brigadier General
ersin's Avatar
United_States
75
Rep
4,150
Posts

Drives: 08 IB E92 M3
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Maryland

iTrader: (1)

Where's the aiming blip? Prior to launch the M division was talking about the aiming blip showing up in the HUD. The 20 mm cannon option will be worthless; I'll be shooting left lane bandits blind.


Cheers.
__________________

I've been assimilated. 6MT/ZPP/18"/PS extended.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:03 AM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST