BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > BMW M3 (F80) and BMW M4 (F82) General Forum

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-07-2014, 10:55 AM   #1
rsr racer
Private First Class
rsr racer's Avatar
36
Rep
183
Posts

Drives: 2015 M6
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

PSA for new M4/M3 owners regarding BMW Assist

If you plan on subscribing to the SOS BMW assist program:

do not press the SOS button to establish an account until you have confirmed that your dealer has sent the data regarding your car to the assist program people.

If you do press it; you will receive a notice on your screen that it is trying to send the data. and this notice will not go away. period. it locks up your screen and all other functions are inaccessible. It will not time out on its own as BMW assist thought.

a call to BMW genius leads to them calling BMW assist who then says they cannot remotely reset the SOS as the dealer has not sent them the information (takes over 24 hours?)

thus the solution is as follows unless you want to have the dash lit up all night and the screen trying to contact assist program:

you must disconnect the battery negative cable in the trunk right side AND disconnect the 4 AAA battery pack in the DME unit in the trunk as well on the left aspect of the forward area. there is a small access panel and you simply slide that forward and can remove the battery pack.

failure to do this will result in the SOS system trying to continue its call to whereever.

button everything back up and the SOS is reset
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2014, 12:14 PM   #2
Sir Loin
M3AT LOVER
Sir Loin's Avatar
United_States
200
Rep
1,807
Posts

Drives: Silverstone F80 M3
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (0)

Very good to know. I will remind myself not to press the SOS button when I get my car today or tomorrow.

I linked this thread to the sticky FAQ thread. Thanks.
__________________
2015 F80 M3 | SSII ext SO int | M-DCT | 19" Black Wheels
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2014, 01:32 PM   #3
Suave
Major
Suave's Avatar
United_States
134
Rep
1,444
Posts

Drives: GT4 and M2 in progress
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Philadelphia, PA

iTrader: (0)

Thanks for this! I added to my pickup checklist
__________________
201X ???? Coming soon
2015 F80 M3 AW/SO - Going Going Gone!
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2014, 02:57 AM   #4
kinimod
Lieutenant
59
Rep
474
Posts

Drives: 911 GT3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Can't you just hold the power button on the radio for ~10 seconds to reset the iDrive?

This method resets the entire iDrive. Not sure if it'd help in this scenario. But posting here for other forum members in case they got stuck and want to try.
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2014, 12:44 PM   #5
Gstone
Lieutenant
88
Rep
535
Posts

Drives: M4 BSM/SO 6MT
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: NY Burbs

iTrader: (0)

Have had my M4 for 6 weeks and have not activated the SOS.

Can it be done at anytime or does activation expire?

I'm thinking of not doing it at all. Opinions?
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2014, 02:22 PM   #6
schmitzna
Private
schmitzna's Avatar
United_States
21
Rep
98
Posts

Drives: 2015 M3
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Stokesdale, NC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2018 BMW X3 M40i  [0.00]
2015 BMW M3  [0.00]
I made two calls before the dealership sent in the info. Never had any problem.
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2014, 02:29 PM   #7
sandwi54
Captain
sandwi54's Avatar
149
Rep
778
Posts

Drives: F80, F36, F15 50i
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: California

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kinimod View Post
Can't you just hold the power button on the radio for ~10 seconds to reset the iDrive?

This method resets the entire iDrive. Not sure if it'd help in this scenario. But posting here for other forum members in case they got stuck and want to try.
I have been trying to figure out how o reset iDrive and read various ways such as holding radio power button for 10 seconds, holding both radio button and eject button for 30 seconds. None of them resets iDrive. I don't have my M3 yet but tried on my 2012 328i and a 2014 328i.

Does anyone know for sure how to reset iDrive?
Appreciate 0
      10-07-2014, 02:35 AM   #8
kinimod
Lieutenant
59
Rep
474
Posts

Drives: 911 GT3
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sandwi54
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinimod View Post
Can't you just hold the power button on the radio for ~10 seconds to reset the iDrive?

This method resets the entire iDrive. Not sure if it'd help in this scenario. But posting here for other forum members in case they got stuck and want to try.
I have been trying to figure out how o reset iDrive and read various ways such as holding radio power button for 10 seconds, holding both radio button and eject button for 30 seconds. None of them resets iDrive. I don't have my M3 yet but tried on my 2012 328i and a 2014 328i.

Does anyone know for sure how to reset iDrive?
Weird, it worked on X3.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:47 PM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST