BMW M3 Forum (E90 E92)

BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   M3Post - BMW M3 Forum > E90/E92 M3 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

BPM

06-19-2009, 08:25 PM   #1
sandwood
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: Z4M, formerly e90 M3

FATT at Summit Point today

Just a brief review. I'm still a novice, only my second time at Summit Point, first time in the M3. It was a blast. I passed everyone in my group except a c5 corvette, which was well driven but whom I hung with nicely, and an F40 ferrari, who for some reason was slumming it in my novice group for the better part of the day. I waved him past at one point and I couldn't hear my instructor at all. plus nice tongues of flames out his exhaust pipes on the over-run.

there were loads of nice cars, of course - a 996 and 997 GT3, a 997 GT2, a 911 turbo, 3 or 4 Z06 corvettes (I passed at least one), a number of different generation M3s, etc.

There were actually 2 GTRs in my group, including one that was heavily modified - the guy claimed 550hp to the wheel. He would pull long lengths on me on the straights, but he didn't have good lines and said he was having traction problems so I reeled him in on the corners and he waved me past a couple of times - very satisfying. he went in to limp mode late in the day when I was hot on his tail and he had to pull off the track and then limp into the pits. he said he injectors were maxed out and threw a code causing it to go into limp mode.

The M3 felt great. Brake pedal travel got a bit long a few times. the front of the car pushed on turn 1, more than I thought it would. I had the tires around 40 psi hot all around. My instructor wanted me to run with traction control full on, so maybe that had something to do with it? I was too busy with the early part of the corner to see if it was cutting in, but I'd bet it was. it certainly was coming on a lot at the exit of that corner.