Pandora Car Alarm System
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > Regional Forums > USA - California

04-15-2021, 12:40 AM   #1
B_Hxn
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: F80 M3 ZCP

BMW Track Day

Hi.
I wondered if anyone here has ever done the BMW track day in CA?

I've done as much research as I can on the forum, but had a few questions.

I'd probably go for the 1 day course.

I'm fairly new to M cars. I bought my first M3 a couple of months ago.

I'm really excited by the course just to learn how to drive the car better, and I really want to learn some racing techniques, and of course, drifting.

I've never driven a manual car though, so will this course be a waste of time for me? Or do they still have autos available to drive?
Has anyone been and had total beginners like myself? A bit concerned of making a fool of myself

Any input welcome.

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      04-15-2021, 12:32 PM   #2
jmg
Lieutenant General
Rep
Drives: G82 M4C X-Drive

Garage List
2022 G82 M4C X-Drive  [9.85]
2018 F80 M3 CS  [9.87]
2019 i3 BEV  [0.00]
It's a bit confusing since they offer so many different packages at the BMW Performance Center. I've done the M Track Day (half-day), 1 Day M School, and 2 Day M School.

M Track Day is a few minutes of instruction on the basics of high performance driving.
Then you split into different groups and head to an event. The event order depends on what group you are in.

DRAG RACE - You hop into several cars including X5M's and X6M's, M5, M4/3 etc and drag race against another driver. However, it's not just first to the finish line, you have to stop the car within a box at the end of the strip. Overshoot or undershoot and you lose. You get to drag race each car they have.