Pandora Car Alarm System
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Wheels | Tires -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack

12-04-2017, 02:29 PM   #1
pdrama
Rep
Drives: bmw

Winter Tires for 2018 F82 M4 Compeition Package?

Newbie here - apologies if this was answered already somewhere!

I just got my first M4 - yay! It's the competition package with the 20" rims.

But, bought it right as the weather was turning, so obviously need some winter tires.

I realllly don't want to have to purchase new rims AND tires and would prefer to get tires only. Only problem is that I can't find any winter/all season staggered wheels that fit this car. I can, however, find winter/all season tires that are square.

So, question - is there any harm in getting a square set for this setup for the winter? Or, is it absolutely required to stick to staggered? Would a set of square tires even fit these wheels properly?

Thanks!!
Appreciate 0
      12-04-2017, 04:23 PM   #2
pdrama
Rep

Also - would love some inputs on whether or not people recommend me biting the bullet and just getting a new set of wheels and tires for cold months. How much do the rims matter in this situation and what are some recommendations of combos here? Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2017, 08:49 AM   #3
pdrama
Rep

bump
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2017, 10:12 AM   #4
BoxKing
I Rock Your Girls Box
Rep
Drives: M4 F82 ZCP AW

You will have to get a new/used setup. Square is just fine and prolly preferred so that you can extend the lifetime of the winter setup by rotating your tires each winter. Generally the rule of thumb is smaller widths are better for snow setups so don't look to get 10" wide square all around. 8.5-9"