BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > Regional Forums > UK

11-02-2023, 05:41 AM   #1
kazad
Rep
Drives: Toyota

BMW M4 Comp Pack Questions - Please Help

Hi Guys,

I am looking to purchase a BMW M4 Comp Pack and came across the following which I do not quite understand, please could someone help me to understand the below?

I saw few listing on Autotrader as 3.0 BiTurbo GPF Competition Coupe 2dr Petrol DCT Euro 6 (s/s) (450 ps) and some as 3.0 BiTurbo Competition DCT Euro 6 (s/s) 2dr. I understand GPF is just a filter? Is there any major changes between GPF and the normal non filter comp pack? Would I lose power/torque with the GPF filter etc? Apologies if this is a silly questions but I just wanted to know what the difference is, appreciate your time and responses, thank you.

Thank You,
Kaz
Appreciate 0
      11-03-2023, 10:39 AM   #2
Sheepy
First Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: F82 M4 Competition

Firstly I’m no expert so please don’t anyone shoot me down if I’m wrong!

I don’t think there are any power differences between the cars with or without the filter, however, I’m lead to believe the filter cars sound much quieter, mine is a Nov 2018 build filter car & it’s quiet .

Also if you was wanting to put an M performance exhaust on your car these cannot be fitted to a filter car without modifications etc which would invalidate any warranty you may get with the car.

Best bet would be to buy a pre filter car, think they changed them around mid 2018 & the filter cars have a red stop/start button although these can be retrofitted, unfortunately I found a car in correct spec & colour I wanted so went with it even though it had the filter, at least it gives my neighbours some peace & quiet after having an M performance exhaust on my 440..

Also if you did buy a car with the filter there are numerous exhaust option out there to make it sound better if you don’t have or care about a warranty.