European Auto Source (EAS)
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-04-2015, 11:31 AM   #1
warrenm14
Private
9
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: BMW M4
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

No Signal on iDrive Dash

driving along at the weekend and suddenly my music stopped and the dashboard iDrive system died. It displayed "NO SIGNAL" for around 2 mins. HUD/Odometer etc all remained working.

anyone else?!
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2015, 12:56 PM   #2
bensaawn
New Member
1
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: 2015 F80 M3
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

me!

i thought i was the only one so i never posted about it.

that issue has happened over a dozen times since my delivery in november 2014. it occurs intermittently and without reason. the system would revert back to the settings that the car was on when it was last started (i.e. the radio station goes back to the one it was on when the car was started).

i've taken my f80 to my dealer 3 times now.

1st appointment) the first time:

"performed a scooe and a test plan. reconfigured the most-bus and checked the operation of the idrive."

<no signal occurs again>

2nd appointment) did a diagnosis and determined that the car needed another appointment to do some programming.

"short tested. performed energy diagnosis - load tested passed. 12.68v avr tested 14.1 v charging followed test plan for fault patterns needs updated software and coding. service measure."

3rd appointment) "programmed and encoded complete vehicle including headunit to update software level. customer to monitor."

<no signal occurs again>


need to go in again for another diagnosis and a possible replacement of the headunit. still haven't had the time to go in yet. i hope this helps you.
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2015, 03:13 PM   #3
sandwi54
Captain
sandwi54's Avatar
272
Rep
875
Posts

Drives: F80
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: California

iTrader: (1)

While I don't have this problem on my F80, I had it on my 2012 F30. It took about 5 trips to the dealer before they found it's the problem with the head unit. In the first four trips they did all those software checks, programming, and what not which obviously didn't fix the issue. On the 5th trip I was able to reproduce the issue right at the dealership and they replaced the head unit. The problem went away (well it actually happened once more in the last 2 years).
__________________
2017 M3 YMB DCT
2018 Q7 Prestige
Appreciate 0
      02-04-2015, 07:10 PM   #4
lucbac
Enlisted Member
3
Rep
48
Posts

Drives: F30 330d M Sport
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Essex

iTrader: (0)

My F30 has had 3 new head units for this, it started with showing no signal, and then kept rebooting repeatedly.

I think its something fundamental with the wiring.

On my 3rd system now and the no signal came up again yesterday.... I have done 30,000 miles in a year so am probably further down the line in mileage/usage compared to most.
Appreciate 0
      02-05-2015, 05:22 AM   #5
warrenm14
Private
9
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: BMW M4
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

thanks guys. It's in next week for the run-in service and they're going to check it. I've owned the car about 3 weeks and this has happened once.
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2015, 11:28 AM   #6
major one
Private First Class
64
Rep
183
Posts

Drives: 18 750i x-drive; 16 g550
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: pittsburgh

iTrader: (0)

yes. ive had it happen (only) twice. but today when i took the car in to the dealer for its 6mos check-up, i mentioned it to them. and they said the head unit needs to be replaced. they ordered the part and will install it when the part arrives. no big deal really.
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2015, 11:59 AM   #7
hoffa3
Private First Class
13
Rep
129
Posts

Drives: 2015 M4 AW/SO
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: SA,TX

iTrader: (0)

i have had my unit restart 3 times randomly and it powered back on, 2 weeks ago the "NO SIGNAL" display showed up for 5 minutes or so and then restarted. its kinda of annoying that we are having these types of issues on such an expensive car.

i have had the following happen to my car in the 5 months of ownership / 7k miles:

Rattling LOTS of rattling
driver seat warmer shorted and burned a hole in my seat
IDrive screen restarting, No Signal
electronic passenger seat auto movement broke vanity mirror
speakers have had static/Snow sound randomly
Appreciate 0
      02-06-2015, 01:16 PM   #8
secretariat
Major
426
Rep
1,036
Posts

Drives: 2016 X5M
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

Sometimes when I'm driving I'll get a text message and the sound for it comes through the speakers, so I know it is working. But where should I see the text message displayed on the HUD or screen? Thanks
Appreciate 0
      02-11-2015, 12:26 PM   #9
bensaawn
New Member
1
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: 2015 F80 M3
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

after reading some of the new input on this thread, im starting to have second thoughts about replacing the headunit.

they have approved and shipped a new head unit to my dealership.

lucbac do you think its a good idea to? i mean you've replaced it 3 times and it hasn't gone away. my issue has only showed up once since my reprogramming 3 weeks ago.
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2015, 11:25 PM   #10
tyler9595
Captain
tyler9595's Avatar
United_States
44
Rep
723
Posts

Drives: Boring
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Indianapolis, IN

iTrader: (1)

I don't have my M4 yet, but this "No Signal" thing has happened several times on my 2015 X3. I have just been rebooting the iDrive by pressing and holding the volume/mute button for 30 seconds. It works and doesn't clear any of my presets.

I might mention to the dealer but not really an issue.
__________________
Previous - 2015 M4 - ZEC, M DCT, ZLP, Adaptive M Suspension, HK Audio
Previous - 2015 X3 xDrive35i - BSM, ZPP, ZCW, Nav, HK Audio
Previous - 2013 135is (N55) - Carbon Black, ZPP, ZTP, DCT, HK audio, heated seats
Previous - 2010 e90 335i (N54) - BSM, 6AT, ZSP, ZPP, ZCW, Hi-Fi, Nav, BMW PPK & PE, Dinan S2
Previous - 2007 e90 335i (N54) - BSM, 6AT, ZSP, ZPP, ZCW, Hi-Fi
Appreciate 0
      02-26-2015, 07:29 AM   #11
smithf80
Brigadier General
smithf80's Avatar
United_States
1877
Rep
4,816
Posts

Drives: '18 F80 M3 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2018 F80 M3  [5.00]
Wow Mike_L looks like you're not the only one!

EDIT: Fucker, of course tagging doesn't work now.
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2017, 11:38 AM   #12
saeedg48
Brigadier General
United_States
248
Rep
3,579
Posts

Drives: Porsche 991.1 GT3
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Newport Beach, CA

iTrader: (1)

Just experience this. I hit the volume mute button twice and the system autopower-cycled. Seems to be working just fine now.
__________________

2015 Porsche 991.1 GT3
2015 F80 M3 -- Individual; Space Grey
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2017, 02:12 PM   #13
ecf34
Lieutenant
ecf34's Avatar
United_States
299
Rep
580
Posts

Drives: F80
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Baltimore

iTrader: (3)

Same thing happened to my '16 this morning. However, the problem resolved on its own at the car's next start up. Very strange!
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2017, 03:34 PM   #14
Vectors2final
Brigadier General
Vectors2final's Avatar
United_States
1101
Rep
3,177
Posts

Drives: 2018 F80 YMB/SS ZCP
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Austin, Tx

iTrader: (0)

My 2018 did a full reboot a few weeks ago, and the week before Thanksgiving I got a "No Signal" as well.

Sorry for the potato pic, the sun was really bright.

__________________
Delivered: 2018 F80 Part Deux /DCT /YMB /Full SS /CF Trim /ZCP /ZEC w/Black 666M

SOLD: 2015 F80 /DCT /YMB /Full SS /CF Trim /ZEC /ZLP /HK /S&TVC- 18''///M

V2F's Yas Journal
Appreciate 0
      02-01-2018, 06:33 PM   #15
RLONGMUIR
Registered
0
Rep
1
Posts

Drives: 2016 F80 M3
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: New Mexico

iTrader: (0)

2016 M3 owner here. I recently purchased the 2018 Navigation update from Bimmer Coders and installed it. Now,my GPS signal recently started displaying my coordinates off the West Coast of Africa (I live in New Mexico).

Customer support said it should update after driving around for a little bit. I've driven approximately 30 minutes already with ti still displaying my Atlantic coordinates. Any known fixes?
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      07-01-2019, 06:44 AM   #16
Emme2
Private
17
Rep
61
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RLONGMUIR View Post
2016 M3 owner here. I recently purchased the 2018 Navigation update from Bimmer Coders and installed it. Now,my GPS signal recently started displaying my coordinates off the West Coast of Africa (I live in New Mexico).

Customer support said it should update after driving around for a little bit. I've driven approximately 30 minutes already with ti still displaying my Atlantic coordinates. Any known fixes?
I realise this is an old post, but... how where these GPS navigation issues resolved in the end?
Appreciate 0
      12-19-2019, 10:52 AM   #17
Bahram
New Member
United_States
2
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 2015 X5 xDrive 35d
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 328d  [0.00]
2015 X5 xDrive35d  [0.00]
2014 i3  [0.00]
I was looking for my "no signal" issue, which happened yesterday while I was on the phone and cut off my conversation, while the phone Bluetooth was still connected, and saw this.

I had a G05 X5 loaner a few weeks ago with this problem. Parked the car in my garage, with no satellite reception, rebooted the system by holding power/volume button for 30 sec or so. When I drove out of garage nav found its correct location and I was no longer in Paacific Ocean.
Appreciate 0
      12-20-2019, 08:47 AM   #18
Encanto
Major
Encanto's Avatar
489
Rep
1,254
Posts

Drives: 2018 M3
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Florida

iTrader: (1)

“No Signal” means no video signal input to the display. There is 9-12V and ground in display.

Causes:
- no video output from OEM HU
- defective LVDS cable (OEM cable from OEM HU to OEM display)
- defective OEM display
Appreciate 1
IK6SPEED3965.00

      12-21-2019, 08:16 AM   #19
Emme2
Private
17
Rep
61
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

Not necessarily where "NO SIGNAL" appears only for a split second... and the screen otherwise works. It's only GPS that is malfunctioning.
Appreciate 0
      12-23-2019, 02:45 AM   #20
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
3965
Rep
9,981
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cali

iTrader: (21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emme2 View Post
Not necessarily where "NO SIGNAL" appears only for a split second... and the screen otherwise works. It's only GPS that is malfunctioning.
Incorrect


No Signal is from a display that is powered on but has no signal, just as stated previously by @Encanto

Most Computer Monitors do the exact same thing.
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2019, 08:39 AM   #21
Emme2
Private
17
Rep
61
Posts

Drives: BMW
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Europe

iTrader: (0)

And I what I am saying to you both, again, is that the symptom I am describing is a lost connection to ConnectedDrive services. The display and all other iDrive functions are not affected. If they were, I agree it would be the display connection.
Appreciate 0
      12-25-2019, 06:10 PM   #22
IK6SPEED
Major General
IK6SPEED's Avatar
United_States
3965
Rep
9,981
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 / AH3
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Cali

iTrader: (21)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Emme2 View Post
And I what I am saying to you both, again, is that the symptom I am describing is a lost connection to ConnectedDrive services. The display and all other iDrive functions are not affected. If they were, I agree it would be the display connection.
And as I stated to you in your other post, it's easy to show your answer is 100% incorrect as the majority of BMWs in the USA no longer have a working connection to the BMW Servers as the ATT 2G Services were discontinued on 12/31/2016 which means every CIC COMBOX combination up to 2014 have had no connection for 36 months and do not show NO SIGNAL on the CID.

It has nothing to do with a GPS Signal or a loss of signal to BMW Servers as is your position in the other thread.

But if you continue to think Encanto and I are incorrect, perhaps you will believe BMW themselves.
Attached Images
 
__________________
Stable: F80 / AH3
Past: F80 ZCP / F22 M235i / E89 35is

Last edited by IK6SPEED; 12-25-2019 at 06:29 PM..
Appreciate 1
Poochie3677.50

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST