BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > Regional Forums > USA - Mid-Atlantic

10-28-2019, 09:01 PM   #1
M4KOBEL
Rep
Drives: BMW M4 CSC, BMW X3 M40i

2017 M4 Lease: Return or buy?

Hello Everyone, I am new to the forum, and I’ve come here seeking your advice. I’ve been driving a beautiful M4 Competition Convertible for the past three years, and I’m 60 days from lease return. The car has 22,000 miles on it, and it is pristine. I love this car, and I’ve fussed every detail of it for these past three years. I’ve been driving only BMWs since I purchased my first one, a 325 convertible, in 2001, and while my 2005 330 ZHP convertible was awesome, I have enjoyed this M4 even more.

I have been seriously considering buying the car in 60 days, if I can negotiate a fair price. However, I have some concerns. Of course, I’ve been told you never do this; it does not financially make sense. But, from my perspective, this car is mint, so if I can get it at fair market value, I win because of its outstanding condition.

I’ve also been told I should only do this if I’m willing to purchase maintenance coverage for an extended period of time because of the high cost of repairing these cars.

I’ve also been told, it’s not worth it to buy this car. The residual value, plus the cost for the dealer to certify the car, plus the cost of the maintenance plan will push the price so high it just won’t make sense.

I’ve also been told these cars are not meant to be kept long term. This person told me the cost of ownership and the ongoing maintenance and repair needs make the M cars a costly pain in the behind. I will say the cost of ownership details I’ve found online regarding M4s does appear to be significant.