Autotalent
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

05-23-2019, 01:20 PM   #1
pinginus
Rep
Drives: M3

Best club for track day?

Hi,
Happy to join the community! I just got my 2016 M3.
I live in jersey city and would like to go to track day on a bi-weekly basis (I am totally new to this).
I looked at motorsportreg and the events are all over the place.
Can some one suggest what kind of event I should go and if there is a particular good club I should join at this region.
Also if there is anyone live close to jersey city, we can go to those even together if you don't mind
Appreciate 0
      05-23-2019, 01:33 PM   #2
NYG
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: Corvette Z06

To say that there are a lot of options is an understatement. Unless you're made out of money, reconsider the bi-weekly thing. This is the worst and best hobby in the world and you'll be spending way too much money on it going to the track once a month. Bi-weekly will be insanely expensive, you'll be changing pads and tires left and right. Consider autocrossing between track days if you really need a fix. You'll want an instructor to get you started.

BMWCCA is by default worth it because you get rebates on your new vehicles even if you never attend an event.

NASA is my favorite and the club I participate in the most because most of their events are weekends, great crowd, TONS of track time. Track days are a bit pricey though, especially if you run with HPDE1 and need an instructor. On the plus side, the instructors are great.

SCCA is a popular one, but most of their events are on weekdays. They're much more affordable but you won't be getting as much lap time.

I hear great things about PCA but haven't been to an event yet. You'll need a Porsche VIN to sign up.