Next Level Auto Brokers
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > DIY and Coding Discussions

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      02-06-2017, 11:44 PM   #1
ktc
Private
29
Rep
85
Posts

Drives: blue beast
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: PNW

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 BMW M3  [0.00]
Coding in Apple CarPlay?

For MY2017 and beyond where Apple CarPlay is an option, do you know if it requires specific hardware?

Or is this something which could be coded in?

__________________
2017 Individual F80 M3 Hera Mica blue | full Silverstone | DCT,ZCP,ZEC,ZLP
2005 E46 330i ZHP
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2017, 03:59 AM   #2
gspannu
Major
United Kingdom
162
Rep
1,161
Posts

Drives: F10 535, F82 M4
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktc View Post
For MY2017 and beyond where Apple CarPlay is an option, do you know if it requires specific hardware?

Or is this something which could be coded in?

Can't be coded. Needs a FSC code and currently no one provides that FSC code - so best bet, buy it from BMW Connected.

Hardware requirements: All F8x cars built from July 2016 have the necessary hardware.
Cars manufactured in July & August need a firmware update - this is available from BMW dealerships free.
Cars manufactured after Aug 2016 have the required firmware.

All one needs is to login to BMW Connected, pay for the privilege and it gets enabled.
__________________
---
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2017, 07:40 AM   #3
2kaccordocoupe
Brigadier General
2kaccordocoupe's Avatar
Canada
983
Rep
4,455
Posts

Drives: MY2020 X4MC
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The 6ix

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gspannu View Post
All one needs is to login to BMW Connected, pay for the privilege and it gets enabled.
Unfortunately this option is not available to North Americans
Out of curiosity how much does it cost?
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2017, 07:57 AM   #4
gspannu
Major
United Kingdom
162
Rep
1,161
Posts

Drives: F10 535, F82 M4
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2kaccordocoupe View Post
Unfortunately this option is not available to North Americans
Out of curiosity how much does it cost?
So, how is Apple CarPlay available to US customers? I'd b every surprised if it was not available in US.

It costs 235 in UK.
__________________
---
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2017, 08:03 AM   #5
2kaccordocoupe
Brigadier General
2kaccordocoupe's Avatar
Canada
983
Rep
4,455
Posts

Drives: MY2020 X4MC
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The 6ix

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gspannu View Post
So, how is Apple CarPlay available to US customers? I'd b every surprised if it was not available in US.

It costs 235 in UK.
You add it at build time and it comes pre-loaded on your car when you take delivery.
I don't know how it works if you want it afterwards. I would assume its a trip to the dealer for them to enable it.
Appreciate 0
      02-07-2017, 02:23 PM   #6
jpics80
First Lieutenant
jpics80's Avatar
United_States
220
Rep
318
Posts

Drives: 2017 M3 - Alpine White
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Nashua, NH

iTrader: (0)

Dealers are not enabling it. It should be a simple software update or better yet every car should have it.
Appreciate 1
CMFT0.00

      02-17-2017, 03:08 PM   #7
bb1857
Major
bb1857's Avatar
858
Rep
1,411
Posts

Drives: 2020 X3MC
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Sykesville, MD

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2007 BMW 335 E92  [0.00]
2015 BMW 428GC  [0.00]
2014 BMW 535i  [0.00]
I really wish I could get this in my early build MY2017 M4. I have it in my GTI and it's pretty slick.
Appreciate 0
      02-17-2017, 05:00 PM   #8
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
2006
Rep
7,866
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

There are third party individuals that can generate FSC codes for 6CP.
Appreciate 0
      02-18-2017, 03:56 PM   #9
jpics80
First Lieutenant
jpics80's Avatar
United_States
220
Rep
318
Posts

Drives: 2017 M3 - Alpine White
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Nashua, NH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
There are third party individuals that can generate FSC codes for 6CP.
I would love to know more about this.
Appreciate 0
      02-18-2017, 04:45 PM   #10
Fake News 2017
HMFIC
Fake News 2017's Avatar
United_States
334
Rep
567
Posts

Drives: Alpine White M4 ZCP
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: NC

iTrader: (0)

I hate it. The way it has been integrated suxs.
Plus you can basically do everything CarPlay can do by using Siri via the steering wheel button.
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2017, 01:33 PM   #11
Roch M4
I /// M FAN
Canada
188
Rep
281
Posts

Drives: BMW M4 SS/SO 2016
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Montreal

iTrader: (0)

I coded 6NS on my F82 and I'm able to use Siri just by holding the voice control button on the steeing wheel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fake News 2017 View Post
I hate it. The way it has been integrated suxs.
Plus you can basically do everything CarPlay can do by using Siri via the steering wheel button.
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2017, 01:39 PM   #12
alex2364
Lieutenant Colonel
alex2364's Avatar
United_States
1336
Rep
1,814
Posts

Drives: 2020 M4 ZCP
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Northern VA

iTrader: (2)

Garage List
2020 BMW M4  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2kaccordocoupe View Post
You add it at build time and it comes pre-loaded on your car when you take delivery.
I don't know how it works if you want it afterwards. I would assume its a trip to the dealer for them to enable it.
I got mine added afterwards. Just pay for it on the website and it gets downloaded to the car in a few hours.
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2017, 03:09 PM   #13
2kaccordocoupe
Brigadier General
2kaccordocoupe's Avatar
Canada
983
Rep
4,455
Posts

Drives: MY2020 X4MC
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: The 6ix

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by alex2364 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2kaccordocoupe View Post
You add it at build time and it comes pre-loaded on your car when you take delivery.
I don't know how it works if you want it afterwards. I would assume its a trip to the dealer for them to enable it.
I got mine added afterwards. Just pay for it on the website and it gets downloaded to the car in a few hours.
Nice. Must be a new feature they added to the USA folks. It was only available to the folks across the pond before.
Appreciate 0
      09-08-2017, 04:07 PM   #14
SanchoDivine
Captain
United_States
529
Rep
862
Posts

Drives: 2017 F80 M3
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San Antonio

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2kaccordocoupe View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex2364 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2kaccordocoupe View Post
You add it at build time and it comes pre-loaded on your car when you take delivery.
I don't know how it works if you want it afterwards. I would assume its a trip to the dealer for them to enable it.
I got mine added afterwards. Just pay for it on the website and it gets downloaded to the car in a few hours.
Nice. Must be a new feature they added to the USA folks. It was only available to the folks across the pond before.
As far as I am aware, I always had the option to buy it via the iDrive "ConnectedDrive" option where the concierge, parking assistance, etc services are (bought a new 2017 last October). It cost $300 and you need to set up you ConnectedDrive account to purchase/download it though. Haven't bothered because I haven't heard anyone say it's worth it.
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2017, 07:33 PM   #15
Regulator07
Private
Regulator07's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: 2018 M3, 2015 X3 35i
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (0)

Would anyone know why my 2018 M3 would not be showing CarPlay available for download? Not that I will necessarily download it but I can't see it in the store. I am in the USA btw.
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2017, 05:20 AM   #16
vp
Second Lieutenant
58
Rep
231
Posts

Drives: MY18 430GC
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Regulator07 View Post
Would anyone know why my 2018 M3 would not be showing CarPlay available for download? Not that I will necessarily download it but I can't see it in the store. I am in the USA btw.
Has to be optioned from factory now. Can't be added via connected drive store in the US anymore.

I ordered a car without it in September thinking I could add it after the car got here. I had to get it installed aftermarket via a FSC code and VO coding through shawnsheridan
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2017, 11:07 AM   #17
Regulator07
Private
Regulator07's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: 2018 M3, 2015 X3 35i
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vp View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Regulator07 View Post
Would anyone know why my 2018 M3 would not be showing CarPlay available for download? Not that I will necessarily download it but I can't see it in the store. I am in the USA btw.
Has to be optioned from factory now. Can't be added via connected drive store in the US anymore.

I ordered a car without it in September thinking I could add it after the car got here. I had to get it installed aftermarket via a FSC code and VO coding through shawnsheridan
Does anyone have the instructions for doing the coding? I couldn't find it searching. Also, I am not asking for someone to charge me to do it, I want to do the coding myself!
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2017, 01:00 PM   #18
vp
Second Lieutenant
58
Rep
231
Posts

Drives: MY18 430GC
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Regulator07 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by vp View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Regulator07 View Post
Would anyone know why my 2018 M3 would not be showing CarPlay available for download? Not that I will necessarily download it but I can't see it in the store. I am in the USA btw.
Has to be optioned from factory now. Can't be added via connected drive store in the US anymore.

I ordered a car without it in September thinking I could add it after the car got here. I had to get it installed aftermarket via a FSC code and VO coding through shawnsheridan
Does anyone have the instructions for doing the coding? I couldn't find it searching. Also, I am not asking for someone to charge me to do it, I want to do the coding myself!
You would need the FSC code set which has to be bought. Once you have the FSC codes you can install and code in CarPlay
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2017, 02:50 PM   #19
Regulator07
Private
Regulator07's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: 2018 M3, 2015 X3 35i
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by vp View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Regulator07 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by vp View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Regulator07 View Post
Would anyone know why my 2018 M3 would not be showing CarPlay available for download? Not that I will necessarily download it but I can't see it in the store. I am in the USA btw.
Has to be optioned from factory now. Can't be added via connected drive store in the US anymore.

I ordered a car without it in September thinking I could add it after the car got here. I had to get it installed aftermarket via a FSC code and VO coding through shawnsheridan
Does anyone have the instructions for doing the coding? I couldn't find it searching. Also, I am not asking for someone to charge me to do it, I want to do the coding myself!
You would need the FSC code set which has to be bought. Once you have the FSC codes you can install and code in CarPlay
Once I code it in do I then still need to pay the $300?
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2017, 03:23 PM   #20
vp
Second Lieutenant
58
Rep
231
Posts

Drives: MY18 430GC
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Regulator07 View Post
Once I code it in do I then still need to pay the $300?
You will have to pay the aftermarket FCS code vendor. After that you don't have to pay BMW anything
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2017, 05:18 PM   #21
Almaretto
Major General
Almaretto's Avatar
United_States
2006
Rep
7,866
Posts

Drives: Test Vehicles
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Mountain View, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Regulator07 View Post
Once I code it in do I then still need to pay the $300?
You have to either provision from ConnectedDrive store or pay third party vendor for FSC codes. The latter requires coding.
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2017, 06:06 PM   #22
Regulator07
Private
Regulator07's Avatar
United_States
16
Rep
67
Posts

Drives: 2018 M3, 2015 X3 35i
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Central NJ

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almaretto View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Regulator07 View Post
Once I code it in do I then still need to pay the $300?
You have to either provision from ConnectedDrive store or pay third party vendor for FSC codes. The latter requires coding.
How do I provision from the store?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:03 PM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST