Carbahn Autoworks
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > Regional Forums > UK

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      10-13-2018, 03:48 PM   #1
higgy
Private
24
Rep
63
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 CP
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Cheltenham

iTrader: (0)

Coding

I fancy a bit of coding via my iPhone as it looks fairly simple versus using the laptop and E sys. I want ASD removed and start stop off also.

I plan to use bimmer code, do you guys recommend the Bluetooth or WiFi Vgate adapter?.

Iím new to coding , any downsides using this method? What other interesting features can you code via bimmercode ?
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2018, 04:20 PM   #2
Brandon253
New Member
2
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: 2018 bmw m4
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Washington

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by higgy View Post
I fancy a bit of coding via my iPhone as it looks fairly simple versus using the laptop and E sys. I want ASD removed and start stop off also.

I plan to use bimmer code, do you guys recommend the Bluetooth or WiFi Vgate adapter?.

I’m new to coding , any downsides using this method? What other interesting features can you code via bimmercode ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by higgy View Post
I fancy a bit of coding via my iPhone as it looks fairly simple versus using the laptop and E sys. I want ASD removed and start stop off also.

I plan to use bimmer code, do you guys recommend the Bluetooth or WiFi Vgate adapter?.

I'm new to coding , any downsides using this method? What other interesting features can you code via bimmercode ?
I have the VGATE and it works pretty well
Appreciate 0
      10-13-2018, 04:32 PM   #3
higgy
Private
24
Rep
63
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 CP
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Cheltenham

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandon253 View Post
I have the VGATE and it works pretty well
Bluetooth or WiFi?
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2018, 04:07 AM   #4
MarkG_M3CP
Supreme Being
MarkG_M3CP's Avatar
United Kingdom
1698
Rep
5,363
Posts

Drives: M3 CP
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Hampshire, UK

iTrader: (0)

Stick with WiFi - better range if nothing else.

Just be sure to disconnect your phone from Apple Car Play if you have it as it keeps trying to connect otherwise and the Vlink connection drops.
__________________
Current: F80 M3 Competition Pack
Gone: M135i / F15 X5 M50d / Saab 9-5 Aero HOT / F30 335d xDrive M Sport / E92 LCI 320d M Sport / E46 320d M Sport Touring / E46 318i Touring
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2018, 04:38 AM   #5
swissfraser
Private
4
Rep
56
Posts

Drives: AW M4
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Glasgow

iTrader: (0)

I use Bimmercode and it was incredibly simple. I had one question about a feature and the app developer replied to my email within minutes, so a great service from start to finish.

I use bluetooth and the recommended way to do it is to put your phone into airplane mode and then turn on bluetooth, to ensure that you dont receive any calls or messages mid-coding as apparently it can be a little sensitive.

This is the adapter I use: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B071D8SY...395841_TE_dp_1
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2018, 05:27 AM   #6
higgy
Private
24
Rep
63
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 CP
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Cheltenham

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by swissfraser View Post
I use Bimmercode and it was incredibly simple. I had one question about a feature and the app developer replied to my email within minutes, so a great service from start to finish.

I use bluetooth and the recommended way to do it is to put your phone into airplane mode and then turn on bluetooth, to ensure that you dont receive any calls or messages mid-coding as apparently it can be a little sensitive.

This is the adapter I use: https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B071D8SY...395841_TE_dp_1
Thanks for the reply - this is the one recommended by BimmerCode but noticed that most seem to be using WiFi. Maybe as the earlier BLE wasnít compatible with iOS. What codes have you done ?
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2018, 05:47 AM   #7
iooal3xooi
New Member
3
Rep
16
Posts

Drives: black m4 cp
Join Date: May 2018
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

same here, go Vgate bluetooth.

ASD
stop start to last setting
video in motion.
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2018, 05:52 AM   #8
swissfraser
Private
4
Rep
56
Posts

Drives: AW M4
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Glasgow

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by higgy View Post
Thanks for the reply - this is the one recommended by BimmerCode but noticed that most seem to be using WiFi. Maybe as the earlier BLE wasnít compatible with iOS. What codes have you done ?
Turned off the active sound and will never turn that back on! Also coded the start/stop to remember the last setting - you can just code it to be off by default, but this gives you the option. I coded all the video options so you can play video from a USB stick.

I did code the mirrors to fold automatically after locking the car, but I found that if you do this it was impossible to lock the car then deactivate the motion sensor. This probably isn't a concern for most people of course.

I'm going to code in the B&O settings for the hifi and very keen to hear the results, but I've not got round to that yet.
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2018, 04:55 PM   #9
d4springer
Major
d4springer's Avatar
United Kingdom
481
Rep
1,401
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 CP SS/SO
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Scotland, UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by swissfraser View Post
Turned off the active sound and will never turn that back on! Also coded the start/stop to remember the last setting - you can just code it to be off by default, but this gives you the option. I coded all the video options so you can play video from a USB stick.

I did code the mirrors to fold automatically after locking the car, but I found that if you do this it was impossible to lock the car then deactivate the motion sensor. This probably isn't a concern for most people of course.

I'm going to code in the B&O settings for the hifi and very keen to hear the results, but I've not got round to that yet.
I bought the Wifi Vgate and use Bimmercode, turned off start/stop, turned on rear lights for daytime running lights, activated the beeps when locking/unlocking, shut of radio/nav when opening driver door and messed around with sounds. There's quite a lot you can do, I did manage to lose all my shortcut selections on the programmable buttons somehow, probably when I was messing with the head unit stuff.
__________________
Current - F80 M3 CP SS/SO | M Performance Extras
Prev - F30 330D M Sport | White | M Performance Kit | Various Extras
Prev - E92 330D M Sport | Black | Highline
Older - E46 330i | Silver | AC Schnitzer, E36 328i Coupe | White
Appreciate 0
      10-14-2018, 05:27 PM   #10
JustChris
Professor of Man Maths
JustChris's Avatar
United Kingdom
6215
Rep
14,960
Posts

Drives: M3CP Individual Azurite Black
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: North West UK

iTrader: (0)

Interested in this too. What's the cheapest option to code out ASD or is it just even easier to unplug physically?
__________________
Chris
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 07:31 AM   #11
t5pilot
Captain
t5pilot's Avatar
United Kingdom
333
Rep
795
Posts

Drives: M4 CP (LCI)
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Yorkshire - UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MarkG_M3CP View Post
Stick with WiFi - better range if nothing else.

Just be sure to disconnect your phone from Apple Car Play if you have it as it keeps trying to connect otherwise and the Vlink connection drops.
^^^ Exactly this.
__________________
- Oh dear... But it's worth it
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 07:37 AM   #12
t5pilot
Captain
t5pilot's Avatar
United Kingdom
333
Rep
795
Posts

Drives: M4 CP (LCI)
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Yorkshire - UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JustChris View Post
Interested in this too. What's the cheapest option to code out ASD or is it just even easier to unplug physically?
Coding it out is the easiest option. Unplugging it is a real PITA. I know, as I've done it when fitting an add-on amplifier for upgrared underseat woofers.
The module is effectively under the carpet lining below the rear n/s lighting cluster. Getting the carpet out isn't easy. But if you do it, the unit just unplugs very easily. It sits right behind the stock amplifier.
__________________
- Oh dear... But it's worth it
Appreciate 1
JustChris6214.50

      Yesterday, 07:40 AM   #13
t5pilot
Captain
t5pilot's Avatar
United Kingdom
333
Rep
795
Posts

Drives: M4 CP (LCI)
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Yorkshire - UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by swissfraser View Post
I'm going to code in the B&O settings for the hifi and very keen to hear the results, but I've not got round to that yet.
AFAIK, the B&O option is only for lighting mode (it gets added to the interior lighting menu in i-drive - Which is pointless as the UK market doesn't get LED-Lit speakers...

Coding high End Audio on UK vehicles gives you Bowers & Wilkins settings, which I prefer over Logic7.
__________________
- Oh dear... But it's worth it
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 08:10 AM   #14
higgy
Private
24
Rep
63
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 CP
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Cheltenham

iTrader: (0)

Purchased the BLE version and worked like a dream. Coded ASD, start / stop off and reverse door lights. Couldnít find the settings to fold mirrors on lock or the B&W speakers settings though ...? Where do I find these ?
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 01:51 PM   #15
swissfraser
Private
4
Rep
56
Posts

Drives: AW M4
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Glasgow

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by t5pilot View Post
AFAIK, the B&O option is only for lighting mode (it gets added to the interior lighting menu in i-drive - Which is pointless as the UK market doesn't get LED-Lit speakers...

Coding high End Audio on UK vehicles gives you Bowers & Wilkins settings, which I prefer over Logic7.
Not heard any mention of Bowers and Wilkins settings before. More info in this thread. Seems if you have the HK hifi then you can code in the software settings from B&O. A lot of people seem to prefer it (there's a few threads on various forums with people sharing their EQ settings).
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 02:02 PM   #16
t5pilot
Captain
t5pilot's Avatar
United Kingdom
333
Rep
795
Posts

Drives: M4 CP (LCI)
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Yorkshire - UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by swissfraser View Post
Not heard any mention of Bowers and Wilkins settings before. More info in this thread. Seems if you have the HK hifi then you can code in the software settings from B&O. A lot of people seem to prefer it (there's a few threads on various forums with people sharing their EQ settings).
Interesting...

I've never found that, despite playing around. Mine is most definitely Bowers & wilkins... Only B&O I've managed to find is a lighting option...
Attached Images
    
__________________
- Oh dear... But it's worth it
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 02:08 PM   #17
swissfraser
Private
4
Rep
56
Posts

Drives: AW M4
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Glasgow

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by t5pilot View Post
Interesting...

I've never found that, despite playing around. Mine is most definitely Bowers & wilkins... Only B&O I've managed to find is a lighting option...
I'll likely be trying this at the weekend so I'll let you know how I get on with it.
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 02:10 PM   #18
t5pilot
Captain
t5pilot's Avatar
United Kingdom
333
Rep
795
Posts

Drives: M4 CP (LCI)
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Yorkshire - UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by swissfraser View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by t5pilot View Post
Interesting...

I've never found that, despite playing around. Mine is most definitely Bowers & wilkins... Only B&O I've managed to find is a lighting option...
I'll likely be trying this at the weekend so I'll let you know how I get on with it.
Yes, please do.

Funny, having read the post you linked, people saying they wish there was a B&W offering instead of B&O...
__________________
- Oh dear... But it's worth it
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 06:39 PM   #19
higgy
Private
24
Rep
63
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 CP
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Cheltenham

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by t5pilot View Post
Yes, please do.

Funny, having read the post you linked, people saying they wish there was a B&W offering instead of B&O...
Yep - followed that thread via the link above and B&W was mentioned as another preferred option. In any case, I followed the instructions in the thread and could only see the B&W option to code. No B&O option for me. I have exactly the same menus and screen shots as T5pilot. Sounds better than HK Logic 7 IMO.

Thanks for the tips, keep them coming 😁
Appreciate 1
t5pilot332.50

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:33 PM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST