Coby Wheel
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

06-02-2023, 03:47 AM   #1
Ebinkerd
Rep
Drives: F82

Rear end felt snappy at VIR

I was on track at VIR a few weeks ago and overall my 15 m4 preformed beautifully. But through turns 4a-5b the rear felt snappy. I'm still learning the car so I admit it could be my technique, but has anyone felt this during a low speed?.

To be specific, entry into 4a felt good, maintenance throttle in to 4b, and as soon as the car pitches to the right at the entry to 5a is where I felt the rear kinda jerk.

The climbing esses felt perfect, nice and planted, probably 105-107mph to the crest, even in to 10 for the downhill left hander at 87ish, pushing throttle into the apex and carrying the car to the right, everything felt perfect. I just can't make sense of the low speed issue.

Any insight would be welcome.

2015 M4, stock everything, MDM mode, sequential mode, 95k miles, stock alignment with increased negative camber on the rear.

My gut is telling me the differential is the issue.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2023, 07:31 AM   #2
SYT_Shadow
///M Powered for Life
Rep
Drives: E90M/E92M/M4GTS/M4GT4/X5M

It could be your throttle mode deploying too much torque abruptly. Try Sport or Efficient instead of Sport+

If the diff were dead you would hear the revs rise without the corresponding acceleration, but it would not 'snap' anywhere.

At high speeds the car doesn't have enough power to really alter its course, but it does have decent torque, so in low speeds it can become a drift fest.

Also, if you're running with MDM, you may want to stop. These cars are noble and communicate their intentions well.
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2023, 07:53 AM   #3
G35POPPEDMYCHERRY
Banned
No_Country
Rep
Drives: F80

Quote:
Originally Posted by SYT_Shadow View Post