Mo Reviews
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis

07-11-2022, 08:01 AM   #1
RElias21
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2017 30 Jahre M3

Best EDC compatible Street Coilover Setup

Hi All,

I've been running on MP-HAS for about two years now (12k miles in total).
My car currently has about 21k miles on it.

Initially, I absolutely loved them. They were MORE comfortable thank stock ZCP ride, I love the stance of the car lowered and they handled better.

In the past two years, I've already blown one rear shock, however, and I have a suspicion one of my fronts is either blown now, or just vastly degraded. In short, I feel like the shocks are degrading with the MP-HAS, which is messing with at least two of the things I loved about the MP-HAS at the outset - comfort and handling.

Buying new shocks every few months is silly.

So, my question is, what does the community recommend for coilovers.
This car is primarily street and family use (I have two young kids). I may get 3-4 track days a year, if I'm lucky. So, I don't want anything too harsh. Frankly, if they handle just a bit better than MP-HAS, don't degrade so quickly, and still ride comfortable, then I'm good.

I also like EDC and would like an EDC compatible setup.

Thoughts please?

Thanks.

Pic for views!
Attached Images

Last edited by RElias21; 07-11-2022 at 08:47 AM..
Appreciate 1
      07-11-2022, 08:49 AM   #2
f80tanz
Private First Class
Rep
Drives: 2017 M3

Hey Ragi,

I have the B16 Damptronics on my car, have driven with the setup for about 5-6k miles. It is definitely stiffer than stock (I'm coming from base suspension setup), with comfort mode now feeling like sport mode prior. My criteria was pretty much the same as yours, and at that time there were really only a couple of options to retain EDC:

- Bilstein B16 Damptronics
- KW DDC
- lowering springs on OEM shocks/struts