EXXEL Distributions
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > DIY and Coding Discussions

02-12-2019, 08:44 AM   #1
basadan
Rep
Drives: 335d touring

DIY: F83/M4 convertible battery removal/replacement

My M4 convertible was throwing a replace battery error at every start up, I tried charging and clearing the error but never had any success. After some research the process sounded a little more involved than the coupe but not overly so. The best price I could get from a UK dealer was £650 supply only, there appeared to be no aftermarket alternatives. I’m not a mechanic so please follow the instructions but at your own risk.

Tools used:

10mm, 13mm spanners.

Cable ties

Flat head, cross head screwdrivers

Rheingold ISTA+ and OBD/RJ45 cable

Time taken 1hr

The battery is located in the boot on the offside, under the carpet which is fastened down via some push through fasteners. Taking this out is the hardest part, the carpet is shape formed and doesn’t bend very easily. I didn’t lower the roof half way as others have suggested, it was raining and I didn’t have clearance in my garage.

The securing brackets uses a 13mm and 10mm bolt at either end, undo and remove these and the bracket.

Disconnect the battery negative terminal using the 10 mm spanner, put the terminal protector from the new battery over the old battery’s terminal. The wire is quite thick and will go back into position causing sparks if let go of, then cable tie back the cable out of the way to the nearest hardpoint used by the roof mechanism.

Disconnect the battery positive terminal, use cable ties to secure out of the way, then transfer terminal protector to positive terminal as they are slightly different diameters and it won’t fall off when you start to move the battery around/out.