Autotalent
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics

03-27-2017, 01:47 AM   #1
fakecanad
Rep
Drives: 2017 F82 M4

Question Keep my dash cam running during service 'test drives'?

Let me start off by saying I'm a very proud new owner of an Austin Yellow '17 M4. I'm a couple of weeks away from my break-in service (I'm at 1250km, break-in service is at 2000.)

I previously had a M135i, and i was always pretty confused/annoyed when my car would come back from a service with 10-20km more than when I handed it in. This happened on at least 3 services. I'm a racing instructor here in Dubai & Abu Dhabi and I don't like the idea of my car being driven by anyone else any more than necessary.

I've got a Garmin dash cam installed on the car, do you think my dealership would have an issue if I asked them to keep it running (especially while driving) while I hand it in for a service?

Cheers!
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2017, 05:23 AM   #2
mynameisplayer
SCHNELL
Rep
Drives: F15 50i, E46, E90, Crafter van

Had my 2017 F80 ZCP in for said service 2 weeks ago. My salesman loaned a M125 for the hour or two I was waiting. Just happen to come out behind my car on the test run. While the tech had it in sport+ (pop, pop, burble...) he never gunned it, or punished the tyres. I made mention of this at the service desk, how professional he behaved - and I thought he might be a bit geek (enthusiast?) in putting it in sport+. My dealer is now third car deep, I trust them
Appreciate 1
      03-27-2017, 07:13 AM   #3
NewM3driver
Colonel
Rep
Drives: 2017 M3 ZCP

I trust my dealer.
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2017, 08:21 AM   #4
Naz24
Lieutenant Colonel
United_States
Rep
Drives: W205 AMG C63 / E70 X5M

i wouldnt say anything unless it becomes a major problem (you notice tire wear or chips, etc).

Don't be "that" guy, dealers hate that

2017 C63