Autotalent
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis

11-09-2020, 08:45 AM   #1
m3elmo
Private First Class
United_States
Rep
Drives: F80 M3

F80 Brakes Judder - not good under hard braking OEM

Hello All,

I'm new to the F80 M3 but have owned/own many other high performance vehicles and I'm a bit shocked at the braking on my M3. Since buying the car I experience what I can describe as judder or strange frictional vibration from hard braking. So high speed say 70mph to 30mph stops or when in the hills and going downhill hard on highway 9 etc. I would NOT experience this in normal daily driving techniques.

Car has CS wheels, dinan HAS, 12mm apex spacers, dinan rear links. Al Brakes are OEM pads/rotors with <1000 miles on them. Car has 20K miles and thrust bushings were replaced ~5K miles ago.

Photo attached showing the wear on my front rotors.

I've searching and from my reading will chalk it up to bad brake pads or improper bedding.

So my question is in simple terms. Are the OEM brakes and especially the pads just simply bad for high performance driving? The previous owner had the brakes/rotors changed a few times under warranty but kept on re-using OEM because of warranty.

Thanks for any input:
Attached Images

11-09-2020, 02:05 PM   #2
weytie
Banned
Rep
Drives: BMW M4 F82 Competition

Clean the perforation holes and check the condition of your pads. Also clear the rear holes of the disc. My back of the disc were completly filled with pad excess and also had a judder.
After cleaning all gone ....
Appreciate 2
m3elmo49.50
kyle9560.50
      11-09-2020, 04:11 PM   #3
m3elmo
Private First Class
United_States
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by weytie View Post
Clean the perforation holes and check the condition of your pads. Also clear the rear holes of the disc. My back of the disc were completly filled with pad excess and also had a judder.