Pandora Car Alarm System
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in | Oil & Fluids | Servicing | TSB | Recalls

05-05-2023, 10:59 PM   #1
sdsurfer007
Registered
Rep
Drives: M4 Vert, X5 M50i, X3

Question M4 Convertible "Roof Not Latched"

Hi All,

I am technically new to the forum though I have been trolling as an observer for about 10 years. Prior to this forum existing I was very active on the e46 fanatics forum but work in software and try to stay offline outside of work as much as possible for sanity.

I know this topic has come up a few times in the past but the threads are quite old at this point and solutions listed have not helped so hoping there are others out there that can give some "newish" feedback. I'm providing some context of how the car is used as well as the issue noted in case it helps shed some light.

I have a 2015 M4 Convertible with about 60,000 miles on it with no modifications (I modded 6 other BMWs and all ended up with various issues caused by mods over time so wife didn't allow it on this car :Laughing Out Loud. The car is driven about once every week or two for short fun rides around town and occasionally longer trips up to drive through fun canyons and places like Big Sur, etc (noting because the car sits for sometimes for extended periods and unclear if that could impact things). There are no notable mechanical or electrical issues with the car (other than what I will note below) and the car has never been in an accident. The car has never been tracked or pushed to its limits other than some moderate pulls from stop.

About 2 years ago, I started getting completely random, non-permanent "Roof Not Latched" errors on the dash (of course shortly after 50,000 miles) which would:
a) Not allow the top to operate
b) Not allow backup camera to work