Coby Wheel
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

06-29-2021, 01:41 PM   #1
Monkey Throttle
Second Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: F80 comp 6MT, 993 C2S

New to tracking the M4 - nanny controls

Hey Folks,

I'm just wondering how some, many or all of you are negotiating with your MDM and traction controls?
I was at Willow Springs on Saturday driving the M4 for the first time (entirely stock) and started the day in "Sport" and ended the day in "Sport +" I don't think I entirely eliminated all nanny controls at any point. Of course it choked me a bit but might have also kept me out of trouble.

My question is, are most of you track guys running with ZERO TC or MDM? When did you feel comfortable eliminating those functions? Do you find the car to be very manageable without them?

I have a lot of track experience and considerable racing experience but mostly in lower horsepower cars. Used to race the regional series with Skip Barber in Formula 2000. My previous track car was a 282hp 993 911. So the jump to a track car that is 440hp (ZCT) is a considerable difference.

I'm just wondering how the other M4 track crew thinks about or entirely eliminates MDM and TC... Or is it an insurance policy that you'd rather keep on?
Or track/condition dependent?
Appreciate 0
      06-29-2021, 02:59 PM   #2
NYG
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: Audi R8

If you have track/racing experience then turn that shit off. I despised MDM more than TC on (except in the wet). The F8x is one of the most driver friendly cars I've ever been in - it's so ridiculously forgiving. Run your steering in comfort (sport and sport+ makes it a lot more twitchy and likely to oversteer on turn in).