ARMA SPEED
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > BMW M3 (F80) and BMW M4 (F82) General Forum

05-01-2018, 09:09 PM   #1
M4lifestyle
Private
Rep
Drives: M4

In order to get the best results to launch the car (fastest 0-60) when do you guys shift to 2nd gear? Like at what rpm or km/h etc.

I didnt turn on Sport + mode today and when I try to switch to second gear in high 1st gear rpm, the car is not smooth at all. Just want to see when most of you switch to second gear. I have many years driving manual experience but seems the M4 behaves slightly diff... or maybe im still not use to the car.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2018, 09:38 PM   #2
barnsdale
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: 2015 M4 6MT AY

Agreed the 6MT is not super smooth from 1-2nd I’ll be interested to see what other say.

I owned a 135i with PPK stage 1 tune and it was also super notchey from 1-2.

Was interesting because off the line I felt other cars always had a quicker start but then 2-3 and 3-4 I completely blew them away...same goes for the M4.
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2018, 11:43 PM   #3
M4lifestyle
Private
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnsdale View Post
Agreed the 6MT is not super smooth from 1-2nd I’ll be interested to see what other say.

I owned a 135i with PPK stage 1 tune and it was also super notchey from 1-2.

Was interesting because off the line I felt other cars always had a quicker start but then 2-3 and 3-4 I completely blew them away...same goes for the M4.
I guess if we are up against dct or any auto tranny, 1-2 gear we fall behind for sure... just maybe our second gear is long enough to make it up?

I am almost the slowest car all the time from red light to 20km/h unless i push the car uncomfortably. Interested for more input
Appreciate 0
      05-02-2018, 07:50 AM   #4
boss2k
Colonel
Rep
Drives: 2021 M2C

Quote:
Originally Posted by Am4zinlyfast View Post