European Auto Source (EAS)
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-28-2021, 11:48 PM   #1
turbof80
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW M3
Join Date: May 2021
Location: MD

iTrader: (0)

Unhappy Please HELP, no on can answer this!? DINAN S1 and BOOTMOD3 Question

I have a Dinan Stage 1 piggyback + axle-back exhaust in the car at the moment. I want to flash Bootmod3 for greater tuning options.

Does anyone know if I can put the Dinan in BYPASS mode (via the app, you can choose S1 or BYPASS) and then just flash Bootmod3 on top (since it operates on a different computer)? or do I need to remove the Dinan unit entirely for things to run cleanly?

I've got a ton of components going on this weekend which will require Bootmod3 tuning. I want to know if i need to go through the pain of fully removing the piggyback or if i can just disable it with the app (via bypass mode) and then flash Bootmod3 to the primary ECU and be done.

Can one of the pros please help me out and drop some knowledge on me?

Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      05-29-2021, 04:42 AM   #2
Djdnav
First Lieutenant
207
Rep
365
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Central FL

iTrader: (6)

A lot of people do this with jb4’s, so this shouldn’t be any different. If you don’t plan on using it in the future, you may as well remove/sell it though. It doesn’t take long to remove.
__________________
///M3
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2021, 12:59 PM   #3
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
4955
Rep
17,142
Posts


Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (19)

Garage List
2018 BMW i3s  [0.00]
2010 BMW M3  [5.00]
2015 BMW M4  [3.50]
I wouldn't recommend it. Removing the Dinantronics doesn't take very long at all.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com · web: www.europeanautosource.com · tel 866.669.0705 · ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG · FACEBOOK · YOUTUBE · FLICKR · INSTAGRAM
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2021, 04:02 PM   #4
schnell1982
Captain
335
Rep
971
Posts

Drives: FAST
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

The Dinantronic is not intended to be used in conjunction with other brand ECU software programs. I'm sure you can contact Dinan directly about this question for a technical answer
Appreciate 0
      06-02-2021, 04:03 PM   #5
schnell1982
Captain
335
Rep
971
Posts

Drives: FAST
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djdnav View Post
A lot of people do this with jb4’s, so this shouldn’t be any different. If you don’t plan on using it in the future, you may as well remove/sell it though. It doesn’t take long to remove.
JB4 is a totally different type of tuning unit compared to Dinantronic.
The JB4 can be adjusted. Dinantronic can not be adjusted by the end user
Appreciate 0
      06-04-2021, 02:10 PM   #6
Djdnav
First Lieutenant
207
Rep
365
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Central FL

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by schnell1982 View Post
JB4 is a totally different type of tuning unit compared to Dinantronic.
The JB4 can be adjusted. Dinantronic can not be adjusted by the end user
Thanks for chiming in, I figured a bypass mode should render it irrelevant
__________________
///M3
Appreciate 0
      06-07-2021, 04:23 PM   #7
schnell1982
Captain
335
Rep
971
Posts

Drives: FAST
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djdnav View Post
Thanks for chiming in, I figured a bypass mode should render it irrelevant
bypass mode is used for diagnostic aide and it will turn the module off.
But I wouldnt turn it on active and have a ecu performance program at same time
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2021, 08:31 AM   #8
mike@x-ph.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
mike@x-ph.com's Avatar
United_States
14245
Rep
154,217
Posts


Drives: 07-335/12-328/18-M4/21-M4CP
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (21)

You can put the Dinan in Bypass mode and use bootmod3 but you might as well just remove the Dinan tune since you are no using bm3 instead.
__________________
20% OFF MAD PRODUCTS - AUGUST SALE||https://x-ph.com/sale/
Phone number 702-494-9435
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:08 AM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST