EXXEL Distributions
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > BMW M3 (F80) and BMW M4 (F82) General Forum

08-06-2018, 10:27 AM   #1
HotlantaM4F83
Registered
Rep
Drives: '15 M4

My Damaged Oil Cooler Story

Hey all. I'm a newbie with a 2015 M4 convertible that I bought used with only 8k miles. Basically, previous owner broke it in for me. I have driven it a lot and it now has 9,700 miles. Best car I've ever owned.

Sorry about the long message. Trying to give as much info to you in case you know what to do or have similar experience.

Found this forum because I was trying to see what the internet had to say about my problem, which apparently is common for these engines with oil coolers at the front of the engine and with crappy plastic OEM shields. While driving on highway, something in the road got kicked into my lane by another car ahead of me but merging into my lane from the right lane, to avoid debris from another accident. I could not swerve in time to avoid and had to drive over. Whatever it was punctured my oil cooler, resulting in very fast oil loss, resulting in engine shutting down after driving about 1 mile (I had finally found a place to stop). Didn't have time to see if I could swerve into other lanes before the incident bc it happened so fast. And didn't want to swerve without looking since my wife and 2 year old kid were in the car.

After wards, a few warning signals came up, including oil pressure loss and "stop carefully." I should have tried to stop immediately, but I didn't. How could driving less than 1 mile hurt? Apparently, everything.... Lesson learned.