Top Gear Solutions
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-11-2021, 08:47 PM   #67
TopJimmy
Lieutenant Colonel
TopJimmy's Avatar
United_States
1183
Rep
1,643
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 F80
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Chester County, PA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HyeM3 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by todd20 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtygrid View Post
Doesn't the flex fuel functionality of the CustomROM account for that? It can compensate from 0 to 100% ethanol apparently
Thats what I was saying

I already have full e85 tune for my car. This would be useful when you switch to 91 every 5k miles because since the car is still going to have some e85 in there but the flex fuel will be able to adjust accordingly to this right?
With the new ots multimap if you don't want to get the flex fuel hardware for your car to automatically make adjustments it's my understanding that you can manually put in your ethanol percentage in the new Live Adjustments tab and it forces the car to compensate for whatever ethanol percentage you plug in. If I had to guess though the E85 flex fuel tune is probably pretty watered down since it is an ots tune after all. If I had to guess it might make 550 whp at most.

Edit: take what I say with a grain of salt though. I'm not PTF so that may not be how it works exactly
You can do the override E% without an ethanol sensor, but the % resets when you restart your car (Homer- DOH!). Keep your laptop handy!
__________________
'18 F80 Base 6MT | FBOs | Kies Hub | Paul's E85 | Stock Turbos | 7 seconds 60-130
Appreciate 1
HyeM3392.50

      03-11-2021, 09:21 PM   #68
Mintsopoulos
Lieutenant
Mintsopoulos's Avatar
United_States
352
Rep
455
Posts

Drives: '15 MW F80 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Ive been diving pretty deep in the flex fuel kits and think I have a good understanding of it all and all thats needed/required to get going. My own question though is reading the E% in the dash.

Do we need to splice the E% Analog Output Wire (White/Blue Wire on Zietronix) into anything on the FEM or will the E% content automatically be recognized by the BM3 FF Maps.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2021, 09:31 PM   #69
F80_Greg
Private First Class
F80_Greg's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
186
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 ZCP 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mintsopoulos View Post
Ive been diving pretty deep in the flex fuel kits and think I have a good understanding of it all and all thats needed/required to get going. My own question though is reading the E% in the dash.

Do we need to splice the E% Analog Output Wire (White/Blue Wire on Zietronix) into anything on the FEM or will the E% content automatically be recognized by the BM3 FF Maps.
I hear there is some splicing required from a few sources but not 100% sure. I would definitely only use posi-taps to tap into any original wires though. Would not dare stripping and soldering original wires or using t-taps. I've had great luck with posi-taps over the years
__________________
2017 F80 M3 ZCP 6MT, Full Bolt Ons, Pure Stage 2 Turbos, E85 Fuel, BMP Port Injection, PR LPFP, AIC PI Controller, BM3 Custom Tune by Cary Jordan.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2021, 09:37 PM   #70
Mintsopoulos
Lieutenant
Mintsopoulos's Avatar
United_States
352
Rep
455
Posts

Drives: '15 MW F80 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by F80_Greg View Post
I hear there is some splicing required from a few sources but not 100% sure. I would definitely only use posi-taps to tap into any original wires though. Would not dare stripping and soldering original wires or using t-taps. I've had great luck with posi-taps over the years
Yea ive been in touch with a company that relies heavily on ECUtek and I got it all sorted for most of it but since they arent familiar/using bm3 they cant for sure tell me whats exactly needed to activate the dash features.

For sure though, I would never use anything other than posi-taps for something like this.
__________________
Appreciate 1
F80_Greg126.50

      03-11-2021, 09:52 PM   #71
-Eidos
Low Boost Boy (LBB)
113
Rep
150
Posts

Drives: 2018 BMW M2 (LBB)
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mintsopoulos View Post
Ive been diving pretty deep in the flex fuel kits and think I have a good understanding of it all and all thats needed/required to get going. My own question though is reading the E% in the dash.

Do we need to splice the E% Analog Output Wire (White/Blue Wire on Zietronix) into anything on the FEM or will the E% content automatically be recognized by the BM3 FF Maps.
I run the Bend Calibration Flex Fuel Kit which comes with an ID-750 fuel filter and uses the Zeitronix kit/ continental sensor. You will have to splice into the passenger side front right FEM module for the Zeitronix to relay the ethanol content to BM3 and thus the dash, similar to EcuTek.
__________________
Speedtech Stage 3 (7670) | Remus Exhaust | Wagner EVO 3 | Custom Stage 3 HPFP | EU5 M5 Injectors | Walbro 525 | EOS EKP | BendCalibration Flex Fuel Kit | MSL Thermostat | TC Kline | RKP | 3DDesign | TRE

Full E85 DI-Only 620WHP Flex Fuel tuned by BendCalibration (ECUTek) | Built by SD Garage
Appreciate 1
sly1types169.00

      03-11-2021, 09:54 PM   #72
coxxoc
Private First Class
102
Rep
132
Posts

Drives: 2017 M3 CP
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mintsopoulos View Post
Yea ive been in touch with a company that relies heavily on ECUtek and I got it all sorted for most of it but since they arent familiar/using bm3 they cant for sure tell me whats exactly needed to activate the dash features.

For sure though, I would never use anything other than posi-taps for something like this.
Lmk if you have any questions. Iíve done the install for Ecutek with eca2 canbus and the continental sensor. Wiring into canbus should be the same no matter what. Iíd plan most of the day to install it as you need to remove quite a few things to get to the fuel rail.

Iím tempted to try out the bm3 ots flex stage 1 map and compare to my custom stage 1 flex fuel map.
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2021, 09:57 PM   #73
Mintsopoulos
Lieutenant
Mintsopoulos's Avatar
United_States
352
Rep
455
Posts

Drives: '15 MW F80 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by coxxoc View Post
Lmk if you have any questions. Iíve done the install for Ecutek with eca2 canbus and the continental sensor. Wiring into canbus should be the same no matter what. Iíd plan most of the day to install it as you need to remove quite a few things to get to the fuel rail.

Iím tempted to try out the bm3 ots flex stage 1 map and compare to my custom stage 1 flex fuel map.
It seems pretty straight forward, especially from the directions I got from BC. I just want to make sure I use the correct wires off the Zietronix ECA-2 so that my dash will read the E content with BM3
__________________
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2021, 10:10 PM   #74
coxxoc
Private First Class
102
Rep
132
Posts

Drives: 2017 M3 CP
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Seattle

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mintsopoulos View Post
It seems pretty straight forward, especially from the directions I got from BC. I just want to make sure I use the correct wires off the Zietronix ECA-2 so that my dash will read the E content with BM3
This is for tapping into the FEM harness in the passenger footwell for PT-CAN.

Zeitronix Red (Power) - BMW Pin 20 Green/Grey Tracer (54pin Black)
Zeitronix Black (Ground) - BMW Pin 24 on Connector A173-3B (54pin Black)
Zeitronix White/Red (Can Hi) - BMW Pin 19 Blue/Red Tracer on Connector A173-2B (42pin Black)
Zeitronix White/Black (Can Lo) - BMW Pin 18 Red on Connector A173-2B (42pin Black)
Appreciate 2
      03-11-2021, 10:10 PM   #75
964+
Private
9
Rep
75
Posts

Drives: 964; Audi RS4;M2wanted,F80 otw
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Austin, TX/ CT-tri-state

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Am I just an idiot? I've read through several of these updates, and prob don't even need them, but because of the video's that were referenced several times I want to watch them.

Where are the video's? I'm prob being dumb but a lil help would be appreciated
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2021, 05:47 AM   #76
18BMWX5M
First Lieutenant
526
Rep
344
Posts

Drives: 2018 BMW X5M
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rhode Island

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by m4h2o View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by c4ss View Post
Any install videos for Flex Fuel sensor?

Is this the one everyone is going with? https://www.amazon.com/Zeitronix-Eth.../dp/B00R1UOY9U
The brand is recommended by ptf but This specific one doesnt mention Can Bus kit.
On the zeitronix website with Can Bus is $399
Is this the kit? Looks like it's a new one and it's $339:
Attached Images
 
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2021, 06:15 AM   #77
MINERALWHITE_F80M3
Private First Class
MINERALWHITE_F80M3's Avatar
51
Rep
117
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 - F80
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: MIAMI, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewbakam4 View Post
Why would they put an ethanol blend map as a map slot when you have flex fuel?! Youíre missing the point of flex fuel. It does anything from 0 to 100 ethanol for you bro, way better than doing some fixed blend
Yes but we need to buy/add the flex fuel sensor? With the E30 map it was just pump and go.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2021, 06:45 AM   #78
chewbakam4
Major
chewbakam4's Avatar
639
Rep
1,053
Posts

Drives: F82 M4
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Malton

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MINERALWHITE_F80M3 View Post
Yes but we need to buy/add the flex fuel sensor? With the E30 map it was just pump and go.
You can use the slider for E content in the Live Adjust screen to set e30 manually without the sensor. They warn not to mess with it unless you know how much E you got in tank because if you go too high on the E slider you could run too aggressive and cause engine issues so donít fat finger it LOL just get the sensor
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2021, 06:58 AM   #79
jfritz27
First Lieutenant
180
Rep
399
Posts

Drives: 2017 F80 ZCP
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Flashed the OTS stage 1 multimap -- despite the previously-discussed limitations, it is pretty neat (thanks BM3)

Does anyone else think the OTS "stock" CS map (slot 4 of the OTS multimap) has more grunt than the previous CS maps (even compared with the CS+)? I swear it pulls harder.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2021, 07:24 AM   #80
TopJimmy
Lieutenant Colonel
TopJimmy's Avatar
United_States
1183
Rep
1,643
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 F80
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Chester County, PA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by chewbakam4 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MINERALWHITE_F80M3 View Post
Yes but we need to buy/add the flex fuel sensor? With the E30 map it was just pump and go.
You can use the slider for E content in the Live Adjust screen to set e30 manually without the sensor. They warn not to mess with it unless you know how much E you got in tank because if you go too high on the E slider you could run too aggressive and cause engine issues so don't fat finger it LOL just get the sensor
Watch out on this. The slider goes back to 0 when you restart your car and have no Ethanol sensor attached. Keep your laptop handy if using the slider!
__________________
'18 F80 Base 6MT | FBOs | Kies Hub | Paul's E85 | Stock Turbos | 7 seconds 60-130
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2021, 10:07 AM   #81
dirtygrid
Enlisted Member
9
Rep
34
Posts

Drives: 2015 M4
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: Westchester, NY

iTrader: (0)

If I convert my OTS Stage 2 map to a CustomROM map, does that add the multimap feature? If so which map/slot would be the original stage 2?
__________________
2015 F82 M4 - VRSF DPs | VRSF CPs | VRSF Single Midpipe | Gintani Crank Hub
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2021, 10:21 AM   #82
M4DNS55
Private
10
Rep
55
Posts

Drives: 1 Series
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Cyprus

iTrader: (0)

Hi, I have a VF Engineering stage 2 map.
Am I able to convert this to a CustomROM map?
If yes, will I then be able to adjust the torque settings in each gear?
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2021, 10:34 AM   #83
mike@x-ph.com
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
mike@x-ph.com's Avatar
United_States
13698
Rep
148,606
Posts


Drives: 2007 e92 335i / 2013 F30 328
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Las Vegas

iTrader: (21)

Good Job PTF, looking forward to even more updates in the future
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2021, 11:22 AM   #84
gspannu
Major
United Kingdom
162
Rep
1,166
Posts

Drives: F10 535, F82 M4
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jfritz27 View Post
Flashed the OTS stage 1 multimap -- despite the previously-discussed limitations, it is pretty neat (thanks BM3)

Does anyone else think the OTS "stock" CS map (slot 4 of the OTS multimap) has more grunt than the previous CS maps (even compared with the CS+)? I swear it pulls harder.
Quick question: Do you need any additional hardware (like the fuel sensor) to be installed before this multi-map can be used or can it be used on a Stock car as is?

I do not have any use for any fuel mixes - my main interest is playing around with the map switching (especially between CS and Stage 1) - so would any additional hardware be needed or can I just buy the OTS Stage 1 multi-map and flash it.


I am currently flashed with Stage 1, stock car - no hardware modifications.

Also, can the Anti-Lag be disabled for the OTS Stage 1 multi-map?
__________________
---
Appreciate 1
      03-12-2021, 11:25 AM   #85
F80_Greg
Private First Class
F80_Greg's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
186
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 ZCP 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by proTUNING Freaks View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by F80_Greg View Post
Update: See attached message from PTF for anyone experiencing issues with converting a custom map to work with the new features.
Hi Greg, thank you for reporting this to us. That message went out a bit too quickly. The update will be live soon for this convert change and we will post an update here so everyone's in the loop
Just received another email from support, please confirm if it's okay to reconvert and flash now. Thank you proTUNING Freaks
Attached Images
 
__________________
2017 F80 M3 ZCP 6MT, Full Bolt Ons, Pure Stage 2 Turbos, E85 Fuel, BMP Port Injection, PR LPFP, AIC PI Controller, BM3 Custom Tune by Cary Jordan.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2021, 11:38 AM   #86
jmciver
Lieutenant Colonel
jmciver's Avatar
United_States
1006
Rep
1,986
Posts

Drives: 2017 M3, 2020 X7 40i
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Northeast

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2009 BMW 128i  [0.00]
2013 BMW X3  [0.00]
2020 BMW X7  [0.00]
2017 BMW M3  [0.00]
So here is another question for those of you who have already flashed one of the new CustomROM multi-maps (or converted a custom tune map)... How many of you also have an Awron gauge installed? The Awron gauge and these new BM3 features both use the same cruise control button on the steering wheel to access their respective features. So I am wondering if there is any conflict between the two as I already have the Awron gauge installed in my car (for a while actually).

And before anyone asks, yes I have a ticket in with PTF customer support on this question and have received an initial, albeit inconclusive, response. I am speculating that PTF may not have seen this issue/question before which is why I am throwing this out there to the larger group to see if anyone else has had an issue and or resolution. Given a choice, I would rather not flash and "see what happens"....
__________________
///M3 COMPETITION 6MT - 2017 F80 Smoked Topaz Metallic
BM3 / MP-HAS / GC Camber Plates / Carbonstructure Interior
X7 XDrive 40i ///M-SPORT - 2020 G07 Arctic Grey Metallic

X3 - 2013 F25 Titanium Silver Metallic (wife's) / 128i 6MT - 2009 E82 Jet Black (son's)
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2021, 12:21 PM   #87
F80_Greg
Private First Class
F80_Greg's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
186
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 ZCP 6MT
Join Date: Dec 2020
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmciver View Post
So here is another question for those of you who have already flashed one of the new CustomROM multi-maps (or converted a custom tune map)... How many of you also have an Awron gauge installed? The Awron gauge and these new BM3 features both use the same cruise control button on the steering wheel to access their respective features. So I am wondering if there is any conflict between the two as I already have the Awron gauge installed in my car (for a while actually).

And before anyone asks, yes I have a ticket in with PTF customer support on this question and have received an initial, albeit inconclusive, response. I am speculating that PTF may not have seen this issue/question before which is why I am throwing this out there to the larger group to see if anyone else has had an issue and or resolution. Given a choice, I would rather not flash and "see what happens"....
I'm in the same boat, i have the AK-Motion data display gauge from Germany and also wondering. I have the option of disabling menu selection on the gauge by turning off the cruise control button shortcuts and using the touch screen instead. Since it uses the CANBUS system to get information, there is a way to disable and unlink the gauge from canbus with a click of a button on my setup, i wonder if that would help any interference. My map switching worked but antilag did not work yet. After proTUNING Freaks let's us know the update discussed yesterday is live, i will experiment and let you know.
__________________
2017 F80 M3 ZCP 6MT, Full Bolt Ons, Pure Stage 2 Turbos, E85 Fuel, BMP Port Injection, PR LPFP, AIC PI Controller, BM3 Custom Tune by Cary Jordan.
Appreciate 0
      03-12-2021, 12:57 PM   #88
jfritz27
First Lieutenant
180
Rep
399
Posts

Drives: 2017 F80 ZCP
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: New Jersey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gspannu View Post
Quick question: Do you need any additional hardware (like the fuel sensor) to be installed before this multi-map can be used or can it be used on a Stock car as is?

I do not have any use for any fuel mixes - my main interest is playing around with the map switching (especially between CS and Stage 1) - so would any additional hardware be needed or can I just buy the OTS Stage 1 multi-map and flash it.


I am currently flashed with Stage 1, stock car - no hardware modifications.

Also, can the Anti-Lag be disabled for the OTS Stage 1 multi-map?
No special hardware required just for map switching.

Not sure why you would want to "disable" anti-lag. It is only activated when you specifically ask for it (via the steering wheel control sequence). If you don't use it, it's not doing anything
Appreciate 1
gspannu162.00

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bm3, bootmod3, customrom, s55

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:53 AM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST