EXXEL Distributions
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-09-2018, 10:45 AM   #23
swifty
Colonel
285
Rep
2,457
Posts

Drives: F80, Levante & Tesla 100D
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: canada

iTrader: (7)

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankiebones View Post
If you have a manual, tell them your rev matching isn't working and to cover it under warranty.
Unfortunately I don't

Already complained about bluetooth etc which was an actual issue but realized later it was due to some Android bug. Nevertheless, dealer did a software update but was specifically for the idrive head unit only.
__________________
__________________
Current Bimmer: '16 F80
Gone but never forgotten: '13 FO e92 M3, Swifts, volks/advan, Akra Evo, Kics R40
Past: Alpine white e46 323i, Jet Black e39 530, Saph Black e60 530, Space Grey N54 e92 335, Mineral White N55 e92 335
Appreciate 0
      05-11-2018, 12:02 AM   #24
blackey
Mr Bill
197
Rep
494
Posts

Drives: 2015 M3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Aliso Viejo

iTrader: (0)

It would be the same. If you get the EDC updated you have whatever the latest firmware is for the dampers at that point. I would assume you would want to go to CS tuning on the EDC.
Appreciate 0
      05-11-2018, 11:40 AM   #25
frankiebones
Captain
frankiebones's Avatar
745
Rep
855
Posts

Drives: M3 CS
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Long Island, NY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackey View Post
It would be the same. If you get the EDC updated you have whatever the latest firmware is for the dampers at that point. I would assume you would want to go to CS tuning on the EDC.
interesting. getting contradicting info on this. thanks.
__________________
M3 CS with M Perf Exhaust
Retired - Yas F80 - 6MT - Hex Stage 1 - MPHAS
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2019, 06:38 PM   #26
bimmerboi510
Private
14
Rep
80
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (0)

Is there an update on whether or not to do the ISTEP update?
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2019, 06:56 PM   #27
drgmt
Lieutenant Colonel
Lebanon
838
Rep
1,728
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Lebanon

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmerboi510 View Post
Is there an update on whether or not to do the ISTEP update?
It's worthwhile checking with your tuner first.

It appears the latest istep has additional obd writing protections that could block obd tuning.
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2019, 07:17 PM   #28
M3ZCPNYC
Private First Class
116
Rep
161
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: May 2018
Location: NYC

iTrader: (1)

What if you have a JB4 connected is it okay to bring it to bmw and have them update my firmware and would that cause a problem with the JB4 I have connected?
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2019, 07:44 PM   #29
bimmerboi510
Private
14
Rep
80
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by drgmt View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmerboi510 View Post
Is there an update on whether or not to do the ISTEP update?
It's worthwhile checking with your tuner first.

It appears the latest istep has additional obd writing protections that could block obd tuning.
What if the car is stock and I plan on tuning down the line?
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2019, 12:50 AM   #30
drgmt
Lieutenant Colonel
Lebanon
838
Rep
1,728
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Lebanon

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmerboi510 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by drgmt View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmerboi510 View Post
Is there an update on whether or not to do the ISTEP update?
It's worthwhile checking with your tuner first.

It appears the latest istep has additional obd writing protections that could block obd tuning.
What if the car is stock and I plan on tuning down the line?
I think it's ecu out and bench flash for some tuners.

Check with Alex at alpine and see if it's an issue for him.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2019, 02:43 AM   #31
satinghostrider
Major
satinghostrider's Avatar
Singapore
161
Rep
1,424
Posts

Drives: 2018 F80 M3 ZCP LCI II
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Singapore

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by drgmt View Post
I think it's ecu out and bench flash for some tuners.

Check with Alex at alpine and see if it's an issue for him.
No problem for Alex. He has tuned on the latest software.

https://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh...451583&page=34

Quote:
Originally Posted by pzz67 View Post
Can confirm works, my car came back from a warranty fix and they flashed my car back to stock with the latest software, just had it tuned and works.

Waiting for Alex to help me redo my coding/dct tune

Anyone that is getting any of Alex’s tune, the gts dct tune is a must!!

Stock is literally shit compared to gts dct.
__________________

2018 F80 LCI II ZCP ///M3 Mineral White M-DCT| Sakhir Orange Interior| |M Performance Exhaust|
Appreciate 1
drgmt838.00

      09-06-2019, 03:05 AM   #32
drgmt
Lieutenant Colonel
Lebanon
838
Rep
1,728
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Lebanon

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by satinghostrider View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by drgmt View Post
I think it's ecu out and bench flash for some tuners.

Check with Alex at alpine and see if it's an issue for him.
No problem for Alex. He has tuned on the latest software.

https://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh...83&page=34

Quote:
Originally Posted by pzz67 View Post
Can confirm works, my car came back from a warranty fix and they flashed my car back to stock with the latest software, just had it tuned and works.

Waiting for Alex to help me redo my coding/dct tune

Anyone that is getting any of Alex's tune, the gts dct tune is a must!!

Stock is literally shit compared to gts dct.
Not surprised.

He's on top of all things f80 - legend guy.
Appreciate 1
      09-06-2019, 08:51 PM   #33
bimmerboi510
Private
14
Rep
80
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Bay Area

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by drgmt View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by satinghostrider View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by drgmt View Post
I think it's ecu out and bench flash for some tuners.

Check with Alex at alpine and see if it's an issue for him.
No problem for Alex. He has tuned on the latest software.

https://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh...83&page=34

Quote:
Originally Posted by pzz67 View Post
Can confirm works, my car came back from a warranty fix and they flashed my car back to stock with the latest software, just had it tuned and works.

Waiting for Alex to help me redo my coding/dct tune

Anyone that is getting any of Alex's tune, the gts dct tune is a must!!

Stock is literally shit compared to gts dct.
Not surprised.

He's on top of all things f80 - legend guy.
Are his tunes the way to go? Better than BM3? More reliable? I've read countless threads on Alex and have yet encountered anything negative but there are numerous people out there that still prefers BM3 > Alex when there are a ton of complaints on BM3 as well.
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2019, 10:21 PM   #34
matty088
Major
261
Rep
1,062
Posts

Drives: 335i
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ct

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmerboi510 View Post
Are his tunes the way to go? Better than BM3? More reliable? I've read countless threads on Alex and have yet encountered anything negative but there are numerous people out there that still prefers BM3 > Alex when there are a ton of complaints on BM3 as well.
How can someone complain about the bm3. Its incredibly simple. The tunes are on point. What are you reading??
Appreciate 0
      09-06-2019, 11:03 PM   #35
drgmt
Lieutenant Colonel
Lebanon
838
Rep
1,728
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Lebanon

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bimmerboi510 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by drgmt View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by satinghostrider View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by drgmt View Post
I think it's ecu out and bench flash for some tuners.

Check with Alex at alpine and see if it's an issue for him.
No problem for Alex. He has tuned on the latest software.

https://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh...83&page=34

Quote:
Originally Posted by pzz67 View Post
Can confirm works, my car came back from a warranty fix and they flashed my car back to stock with the latest software, just had it tuned and works.

Waiting for Alex to help me redo my coding/dct tune

Anyone that is getting any of Alex's tune, the gts dct tune is a must!!

Stock is literally shit compared to gts dct.
Not surprised.

He's on top of all things f80 - legend guy.
Are his tunes the way to go? Better than BM3? More reliable? I've read countless threads on Alex and have yet encountered anything negative but there are numerous people out there that still prefers BM3 > Alex when there are a ton of complaints on BM3 as well.
He's my preferred option.

Level of support second to none.

Not a single bad comment about him.

I just wouldn't trust anyone else with my car. My trust isn't easy to earn in the tuning game
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2019, 12:00 AM   #36
LOW4LYF
Colonel
LOW4LYF's Avatar
918
Rep
2,681
Posts

Drives: ///M4 COMPETITION
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: @Home

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by frankiebones View Post
Not sure who that is. i spoke to Autocouture and they suggested I have BMW do the upgrade. They are one of THE premier shops in the NYC area.
Just another Instagram shop...lol


You need to make the cut between coding and software.

Most "upgrades" are just coding except for the GTS transmission software.
Let the dealership upgrade your software and then do your individual coding, whatever you want.
Just FYI ... as far as I know BPM is the only which can flash the DME after the newest BMW Software.
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2019, 05:36 AM   #37
drgmt
Lieutenant Colonel
Lebanon
838
Rep
1,728
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Lebanon

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by LOW4LYF View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by frankiebones View Post
Not sure who that is. i spoke to Autocouture and they suggested I have BMW do the upgrade. They are one of THE premier shops in the NYC area.
Just another Instagram shop...lol


You need to make the cut between coding and software.

Most "upgrades" are just coding except for the GTS transmission software.
Let the dealership upgrade your software and then do your individual coding, whatever you want.
Just FYI ... as far as I know BPM is the only which can flash the DME after the newest BMW Software.
https://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh...83&page=34
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2019, 09:55 AM   #38
MuffinFlavored
Second Lieutenant
28
Rep
204
Posts

Drives: 2014 F10 M5 MT
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Sicily

iTrader: (0)

https://cdn.bimmerpost.com/forums/at...1&d=1492950563

https://www.evc.de/en/product/ols/re...earch=MEVD172G

f80 m3 has MEVD172G ECU, which uses tricore tc1797 processor

i don't have a full bench readout of the internal flash + EEPROM for this specific ECU in front of me, however i do have one for med1775 (2018 w213 e63s amg)

the way it works is: the tune is only a specific portion of the ECU. for example, in a full dump (4MB for MED1775), you have these different kinds of blocks:

0x10: 'Startup block',
0x20: 'Tuning protection',
0x30: 'Customer block',
0x40: 'Application software #0',
0x50: 'Application software #1',
0x60: 'Dataset #0',
0x90: 'Customer tuning protection',
0xA0: 'Application software #2',
0xC0: 'Absolute constants #0'

0x60 is tune. for w213 e63s AMG, it is 1MB at address 0x84002000. the reason i am saying this is to try to paint a picture of what gets overwritten. to say that a tune will downgrade your entire software is interesting. when i flash e63s AMG, i do not flash full 4MB (aka entire software on car), I just flash the dataset/parameters block 0x60. if this process is true for f80 m3 as well (which I think it is but could be wrong), it is interesting to hear "when you tune your car, they will downgrade software" because I feel like that contradicts how most OBD-II flashing works. It is just UDS over CAN to 0x36 RequestDownload service and 0x36 TransferData service

console.log('step 11 - requestDownload')
await send(0x34, Buffer.from(`0044${address}${size}`, 'hex'))
Appreciate 0
      12-06-2019, 02:38 AM   #39
PaulM4
Private
3
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: 2016 M4
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Sorry folks, it's might be a stupid question but I have ID6 head unit retrofitted and I wanna have my car update to the latest ISep so that would be any issue? My car is 2016
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST