EXXEL Distributions
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-30-2020, 11:51 AM   #1
CeglA
Enlisted Member
11
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: BMW M4
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Warsaw\Poland

iTrader: (0)

D35A9C error after THOR flash

Hello,

I flashed THOR Dynamic Package and now I have D35A9C Signal Qualifier error. When I try to clear it I see malfunction on dashboard. Flashed back to stock but error still exist.

Anyone had similar problem? Any solutions?

Thank you!
Chris
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2020, 12:05 PM   #2
parabmw
Major
126
Rep
1,037
Posts

Drives: 2018 m4
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: canada

iTrader: (0)

What year is your car and any other mods?
Appreciate 0
      04-30-2020, 12:37 PM   #3
CeglA
Enlisted Member
11
Rep
37
Posts

Drives: BMW M4
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Warsaw\Poland

iTrader: (0)

2014 F82, Bootmod Stage1, downpipes
Appreciate 0
      05-16-2020, 09:29 PM   #4
ckendri
Private
35
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: BMW M4 - F82
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: AR

iTrader: (0)

I have the exact same problem. Im BM3 custom E85 tune, and flashed Thor yesterday. Now I get the drivetrain error. Did you find a solution? Thanks.
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2020, 07:29 AM   #5
manosmiles
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Athens Greece

iTrader: (0)

i am also having the same error ! any idea someone?
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2020, 05:14 PM   #6
ASRman
Private First Class
84
Rep
118
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 competition 2018
Join Date: May 2019
Location: United States

iTrader: (0)

Email Thor?
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2020, 07:03 PM   #7
ckendri
Private
35
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: BMW M4 - F82
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: AR

iTrader: (0)

Good idea.... sent email, and I'll see what they say.
__________________
2015 M4 - VRSF Catless DP, BMC HP Filters, Mishi HE, Mishi Catch Can, Mishi Charge Pipes, NGK SILZKBR8F8S, E85 Cary Jordan Tune S2 Hybrid, BM3
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2020, 08:20 AM   #8
ckendri
Private
35
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: BMW M4 - F82
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: AR

iTrader: (0)

Well I emailed and they responded. It sounds like they are not very active on bimmerpost, but said they will post some information about the error code. Hopefully we will see something soon.
__________________
2015 M4 - VRSF Catless DP, BMC HP Filters, Mishi HE, Mishi Catch Can, Mishi Charge Pipes, NGK SILZKBR8F8S, E85 Cary Jordan Tune S2 Hybrid, BM3
Appreciate 0
      05-25-2020, 05:35 AM   #9
manosmiles
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Athens Greece

iTrader: (0)

this is what ista says:
Service Plan
Carry out the test module "System analysis: message not present".In this test module, all "Message not present" fault code entries from all control units are analysed. This makes it possible to localise the fault to a specific area (most likely fault cause).In many cases, the faults only occur sporadically. To determine the precise fault cause, additional measurements based on the results of the analysis routine need to be carried out (voltage supply, short circuit, contact problems).If it proves impossible to identify a clear and unambiguous fault cause and the fault pattern continues to appear repeatedly (repeat repairs), then it may be necessary to replace the related wiring, plug connections or the control unit.Attention:If the fault only appears sporadically (no repeat repair) and if no customer complaints concerning the problem have been received, then replacement of the related control unit is neither approved nor logical.
Note:
These faults usually appear in large numbers. If only a single fault related to a missing message has been entered and no problems related to the function of the control unit are present, then the fault can be ignored.
Appreciate 0
      05-25-2020, 05:37 AM   #10
manosmiles
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Athens Greece

iTrader: (0)

i dont think that this is an error coming from Thor
Appreciate 0
      05-25-2020, 11:14 AM   #11
ckendri
Private
35
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: BMW M4 - F82
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: AR

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by manosmiles View Post
i dont think that this is an error coming from Thor
Hey thanks for the info! The interesting thing to me is that I did not have it until I flashed Thor, so there seems to be a correlation. I understand that is not the same as causation, and the fact that I cannot clear it with any other flash supports your theory. However, it is unclear to me how a lay person like myself would be able to diagnose this issue. Do you have any thoughts on that? I read your post and it seems like there is a bit of guess work, and if the customer doesn't complain then don't fix it?? Seems odd. I cannot tell that there is anything wrong, but having an error code is bothersome. Thanks again for any input!
__________________
2015 M4 - VRSF Catless DP, BMC HP Filters, Mishi HE, Mishi Catch Can, Mishi Charge Pipes, NGK SILZKBR8F8S, E85 Cary Jordan Tune S2 Hybrid, BM3
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2020, 11:43 AM   #12
ckendri
Private
35
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: BMW M4 - F82
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: AR

iTrader: (0)

So does anyone have this error without the Thor flash? Just curious. Thor said they knew about it, and would posts fix. However, this seems unlikely as it has been a while now.
__________________
2015 M4 - VRSF Catless DP, BMC HP Filters, Mishi HE, Mishi Catch Can, Mishi Charge Pipes, NGK SILZKBR8F8S, E85 Cary Jordan Tune S2 Hybrid, BM3
Appreciate 0
      05-30-2020, 01:20 PM   #13
Trevorstein
Lieutenant
89
Rep
400
Posts

Drives: Trabant
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Galifrey

iTrader: (0)

Sub'd.




Cheers!

__________________
///M Joy

Last edited by Trevorstein; 11-30-2020 at 11:28 PM..
Appreciate 0
      06-01-2020, 09:59 AM   #14
manosmiles
New Member
0
Rep
7
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Athens Greece

iTrader: (0)

its more of indication than an error. i updated the icm unit and the D35A9C is gone! you should try it!
Appreciate 0
      08-29-2020, 10:27 PM   #15
ckendri
Private
35
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: BMW M4 - F82
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: AR

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by manosmiles View Post
its more of indication than an error. i updated the icm unit and the D35A9C is gone! you should try it!
How do you update the ICM unit?
__________________
2015 M4 - VRSF Catless DP, BMC HP Filters, Mishi HE, Mishi Catch Can, Mishi Charge Pipes, NGK SILZKBR8F8S, E85 Cary Jordan Tune S2 Hybrid, BM3
Appreciate 0
      08-31-2020, 11:23 AM   #16
Trevorstein
Lieutenant
89
Rep
400
Posts

Drives: Trabant
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Galifrey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckendri View Post
Hey thanks for the info! The interesting thing to me is that I did not have it until I flashed Thor, so there seems to be a correlation. I understand that is not the same as causation, and the fact that I cannot clear it with any other flash supports your theory. However, it is unclear to me how a lay person like myself would be able to diagnose this issue. Do you have any thoughts on that? I read your post and it seems like there is a bit of guess work, and if the customer doesn't complain then don't fix it?? Seems odd. I cannot tell that there is anything wrong, but having an error code is bothersome. Thanks again for any input!
There's always the possibility that the error messages appearance could have simply coincided
with your installation of the Thor app.??

F.Y.I.: On a side note...

I received a "Chassis Malfunction" error message, after the first time I did the GTS Coding/Flash.

All error messages presented, get registered on the ECU (DME). I took it into the dealership. They
physically checked the vehicle and plugged it in. "ISTA-Diagnostics" came back with a similar
result, basically saying there was nothing wrong and if it only appeared once, don't fix it.

Now, I understand that your message may have appeared more than once but, if nothing is wrong
with the vehicle, it can easily be cleared at any dealership or by anyone (May I suggest - ….after
having been physically checked out by a reputable mechanic.) adept at using the ISTA platform.


Cheers!

__________________
///M Joy

Last edited by Trevorstein; 08-31-2020 at 11:32 AM..
Appreciate 1
ckendri34.50

      08-31-2020, 08:14 PM   #17
ckendri
Private
35
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: BMW M4 - F82
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: AR

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevorstein View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckendri View Post
Hey thanks for the info! The interesting thing to me is that I did not have it until I flashed Thor, so there seems to be a correlation. I understand that is not the same as causation, and the fact that I cannot clear it with any other flash supports your theory. However, it is unclear to me how a lay person like myself would be able to diagnose this issue. Do you have any thoughts on that? I read your post and it seems like there is a bit of guess work, and if the customer doesn't complain then don't fix it?? Seems odd. I cannot tell that there is anything wrong, but having an error code is bothersome. Thanks again for any input!
There's always the possibility that the error messages appearance could have simply coincided
with your installation of the Thor app.??

F.Y.I.: On a side note...

I received a "Chassis Malfunction" error message, after the first time I did the GTS Coding/Flash.

All error messages presented, get registered on the ECU (DME). I took it into the dealership. They
physically checked the vehicle and plugged it in. "ISTA-Diagnostics" came back with a similar
result, basically saying there was nothing wrong and if it only appeared once, don't fix it.

Now, I understand that your message may have appeared more than once but, if nothing is wrong
with the vehicle, it can easily be cleared at any dealership or by anyone (May I suggest - ….after
having been physically checked out by a reputable mechanic.) adept at using the ISTA platform.


Cheers!

I agree. I think it is likely coincidental, and it may have been there before even. I just noticed afterwards, and found this post where the OP had the same "issue." I just want to clear it and move on. It seems benign. BM3 clears it, but as soon as I start the car it comes back. Would ISTA be different?
__________________
2015 M4 - VRSF Catless DP, BMC HP Filters, Mishi HE, Mishi Catch Can, Mishi Charge Pipes, NGK SILZKBR8F8S, E85 Cary Jordan Tune S2 Hybrid, BM3
Appreciate 0
      09-01-2020, 12:28 PM   #18
Trevorstein
Lieutenant
89
Rep
400
Posts

Drives: Trabant
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Galifrey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckendri View Post
I agree. I think it is likely coincidental, and it may have been there before even. I just noticed afterwards, and found this post where the OP had the same "issue." I just want to clear it and move on. It seems benign. BM3 clears it, but as soon as I start the car it comes back. Would ISTA be different?
Go/Save back to stock and Go to your dealership. Hopefully, you've built a relationship with a trusted mechanic there.
Otherwise, do not mention "Thor".

If ISTA doesn't clear it and it keeps coming back, there is something wrong with the car but, this should not occur.
BMW has a protocol. They will plug it in first and then, do a physical inspection and if necessary, proceed with any
repair and/or replacement of parts that may be needed.


Cheers!

__________________
///M Joy
Appreciate 1
ckendri34.50

      11-30-2020, 07:58 AM   #19
parabmw
Major
126
Rep
1,037
Posts

Drives: 2018 m4
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: canada

iTrader: (0)

What's the return policy?
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2020, 01:37 PM   #20
Jeremy Billiel
Enlisted Member
United_States
8
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: 2017 BMW M3
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

I am confused on why you haven't contacted THOR yet? in the other thread they are clearly looking to help you.
__________________
2017 M3 ZCP
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2021, 10:00 AM   #21
turbo v6
Private
United_States
9
Rep
86
Posts

Drives: 135i N55 & M3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: US

iTrader: (0)

1. Installed the Full Package. - setting: CS for everything except for GTS steering

No Errors

2. Installed the Full Package. - setting: GTS for everything

Error D35A9C Found

Maybe something to do with the GTS settings??
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2021, 01:23 PM   #22
Kilabyte
I'm Batman!
Poland
1529
Rep
624
Posts

Drives: Mineral White M3 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by turbo v6 View Post
1. Installed the Full Package. - setting: CS for everything except for GTS steering

No Errors

2. Installed the Full Package. - setting: GTS for everything

Error D35A9C Found

Maybe something to do with the GTS settings??
Nothing to do with the coding, the Thor flasher just sucks, mine failed and disabled my active diff, besides other things that I was able to fix myself. They WILL NOT help you and eventually stop responding to emails. kubax86 finally fixed the issue, contact him

Funny how just an hour ago I got an email from Paypal and I'm getting my money back. I've never had an issue with flashing or coding anything else.
__________________

S55, 2JZ
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST