European Auto Source (EAS)
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      03-18-2018, 01:16 AM   #1
awbmw
Private First Class
38
Rep
197
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

EDC Delete Kit or Code it out

Have just installed Bilstein Clubsports on 2014 F82 M4 with EDC from factory and have had conflicting advice on deleting the EDC.

Can I just unplug the cables and have the EDC 'coded out' OR do i need to drop the extra bucks on an KW EDC delete kit?

The car will never be returned to stock suspension or require EDC as it is now set up for track purpose only, so would prefer not to buy or increase the weight with the KW kit (albeit marginal).

Be great to hear from anybody who has actually just coded it out and had success as this is my preference.
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2018, 10:50 AM   #2
blackey
Mr Bill
125
Rep
420
Posts

Drives: 2015 M3
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Aliso Viejo

iTrader: (0)

Just code it out. That's what I did, pretty straightforward.
Appreciate 2
anglo38660.00
SOLIDM441.50

      03-18-2018, 05:36 PM   #3
awbmw
Private First Class
38
Rep
197
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackey View Post
Just code it out. That's what I did, pretty straightforward.
Thanks blackey, that's the answer I was hoping for - so why do so many people spend money on kits to cancel it when it can be coded out for next to nothing?
Appreciate 0
      03-23-2018, 08:43 PM   #4
HuskyBMW
Dr. Feelgood
HuskyBMW's Avatar
United_States
100
Rep
324
Posts

Drives: YMB M3
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Orygun

iTrader: (0)

I am getting ready to install JRZ RS1 coilovers and need to do one or the other as well. The local shop who are very involved in local track scene mentioned the delete kit as the better option but it's also $420.
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2018, 07:48 AM   #5
awbmw
Private First Class
38
Rep
197
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by HuskyBMW View Post
I am getting ready to install JRZ RS1 coilovers and need to do one or the other as well. The local shop who are very involved in local track scene mentioned the delete kit as the better option but it's also $420.
Had the same thing, cant work out what difference is or why the $400 option is better than coding it out? My only guess is that most suspension specific shops don't do coding, so the kit is their go-to option??
Appreciate 0
      03-24-2018, 08:14 AM   #6
f8xdct
Second Lieutenant
f8xdct's Avatar
United_States
146
Rep
234
Posts

Drives: 17 SO M3
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: NE

iTrader: (0)

code it out then disconnect the edc cable in the trunk
Appreciate 0
      03-31-2018, 06:34 PM   #7
RalphyBMW
Captain
United Kingdom
150
Rep
910
Posts

Drives: F31 330d xDrive MSport
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: West Yorkshire

iTrader: (0)

I think you need to disconnect the EDC module before coding.
Otherwise the system will detect its presence and show an error due to the missing hardware.
__________________
2016 F80 M3
Appreciate 0
      07-05-2018, 10:08 AM   #8
ryanwarriors9
Lieutenant
82
Rep
462
Posts

Drives: F30 335D
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Wakefield

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RalphyBMW View Post
I think you need to disconnect the EDC module before coding.
Otherwise the system will detect its presence and show an error due to the missing hardware.
Dont suppose youve had this done or know anywhere local that will?

Im in west yorkshire too and looking at coilovers but in 2 minds to get the delete kit or code out
Appreciate 0
      07-10-2018, 01:49 PM   #9
RalphyBMW
Captain
United Kingdom
150
Rep
910
Posts

Drives: F31 330d xDrive MSport
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: West Yorkshire

iTrader: (0)

I'm going for the delete kit
__________________
2016 F80 M3
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2018, 03:33 PM   #10
parabmw
Captain
98
Rep
916
Posts

Drives: 2018 m4
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: canada

iTrader: (0)

How much does it cost to code out remotely?
Appreciate 0
      09-26-2018, 10:52 PM   #11
schnell1982
Captain
310
Rep
933
Posts

Drives: FAST
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by parabmw View Post
How much does it cost to code out remotely?
I use Mike @ BPM for all my clients coding options.
BPM is a sponsored vendor on the forums.
Recently codes out suspension and SRS out a clients track build
Very straight forward and Mike is easy to work with.
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 1
      12-17-2018, 02:19 PM   #12
1sickf30
New Member
9
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: f30
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Has anyone had issues with a dealer or any other coding it out?
Appreciate 0
      12-17-2018, 02:33 PM   #13
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
3889
Rep
16,107
Posts


Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (18)

Garage List
2018 BMW i3s  [0.00]
2010 BMW M3  [5.00]
2015 BMW M4  [3.50]
No need to purchase cancellers, coding out is the preferred method. We can do this in-house for those local to our facility.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1sickf30 View Post
Has anyone had issues with a dealer or any other coding it out?
None. Vehicle appears as a non-EDC car to dealer equipment. You can revert back to EDC when it comes to sell if needed.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com ∑ web: www.europeanautosource.com ∑ tel 866.669.0705 ∑ ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOGFACEBOOKYOUTUBEFLICKRINSTAGRAM
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2019, 11:25 AM   #14
WillyBeamin
///M
WillyBeamin's Avatar
27
Rep
354
Posts

Drives: 2012 e92 335i m sport BSM
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Miami

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackey View Post
Just code it out. That's what I did, pretty straightforward.
Can you give me info on coded this out. Iíve tried to find some but I havenít had any luck. Thanks
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2019, 11:46 AM   #15
parabmw
Captain
98
Rep
916
Posts

Drives: 2018 m4
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: canada

iTrader: (0)

Alex from alpine recommends delete module over coding it out.

Something to do when doing in for dealer service and conflicts with dealer scans.
Appreciate 0
      03-25-2019, 12:12 PM   #16
WillyBeamin
///M
WillyBeamin's Avatar
27
Rep
354
Posts

Drives: 2012 e92 335i m sport BSM
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Miami

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by parabmw View Post
Alex from alpine recommends delete module over coding it out.

Something to do when doing in for dealer service and conflicts with dealer scans.
I recently bought a car and it's been coded out. I'm trying to code it back.
__________________
'14 335i sportline
Appreciate 0
      03-27-2019, 01:14 PM   #17
melanthius
Private
17
Rep
55
Posts

Drives: 2015 M3
Join Date: May 2018
Location: SF Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by awbmw View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackey View Post
Just code it out. That's what I did, pretty straightforward.
Thanks blackey, that's the answer I was hoping for - so why do so many people spend money on kits to cancel it when it can be coded out for next to nothing?
Quote:
Originally Posted by awbmw View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackey View Post
Just code it out. That's what I did, pretty straightforward.
Thanks blackey, that's the answer I was hoping for - so why do so many people spend money on kits to cancel it when it can be coded out for next to nothing?
Simpler solution, less hassle, less all around time investment, terminals of the plugs won't be exposed to get corroded, and car remains modified in hardware only. Basically just pay a bit of $$$ to not have any worries.
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2019, 03:42 PM   #18
SOLIDM4
Private First Class
SOLIDM4's Avatar
42
Rep
194
Posts

Drives: FAST M4
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: NORTH JERSEY

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackey View Post
Just code it out. That's what I did, pretty straightforward.
Do you happen to know the steps ?
Appreciate 0
      05-01-2019, 09:57 PM   #19
fazalcon
Enlisted Member
6
Rep
42
Posts

Drives: 2016 NARDO M3
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: ATL, GA

iTrader: (0)

I recently purchased a 16 F80 M3 and the EDC appears to be coded out. I took it to BMW and they can't seem to figure it out. Thats when it hit me, I realized that it had to have been coded. How do I bring it back.
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2019, 11:47 AM   #20
tcabill
Enlisted Member
tcabill's Avatar
United_States
11
Rep
45
Posts

Drives: 2009 E63 650i Coupe
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
If you code out how does this affect xHP transmission flash as you lose sport+?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:28 AM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST