EXXEL Distributions
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-27-2017, 09:02 PM   #1
MetalsMan
Private
3
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: 2015 Mineral Gray M3
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

iTrader: (0)

Kw H.A.S Install, Error with Active Suspension?

Hey guys. Just completed the pain in the ass job of installing just the front kw has springs as well as GC Camber Plates. Worst part is hammering the spring perches down onto the struts. Wrapped it up, went for a test drive. I've got a Chassis warning message and my active suspension is not operational. The screen doesn't show whether it's in comfort, sport, etc. Hope I didn't damage the struts during installation.

Any ideas?

Thank you
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2017, 09:06 PM   #2
Drew@Sonic MS
Captain
Drew@Sonic MS's Avatar
318
Rep
625
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Jose

iTrader: (1)

Most likely you damaged the EDC on the fronts unless something just isn't plugged in unfortunately.
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2017, 11:30 PM   #3
dzvero
Lieutenant Colonel
419
Rep
1,522
Posts

Drives: 2015 M$4 F82
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: CA

iTrader: (2)

This ^
Appreciate 0
      07-27-2017, 11:31 PM   #4
dzvero
Lieutenant Colonel
419
Rep
1,522
Posts

Drives: 2015 M$4 F82
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: CA

iTrader: (2)

Dont you have ISTA to check the error?
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2017, 12:05 AM   #5
MetalsMan
Private
3
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: 2015 Mineral Gray M3
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

iTrader: (0)

No I don't, but I do have a local shop I can bring it to. Can't imagine how they were damaged unless it was from hammering the spring perches on. Don't know how that job is a DIY any other way
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2017, 12:35 PM   #6
knightarmor
Captain
393
Rep
850
Posts

Drives: 2017 M3
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Washington

iTrader: (0)

I replied to your other thread which disappeared from the General area.

1st- Did you disconnect everything prior to removing the suspension? (including battery)
2nd- Did you reconnect everything after reinstalling?
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2017, 02:51 PM   #7
MetalsMan
Private
3
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: 2015 Mineral Gray M3
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

iTrader: (0)

Just disconnected both strut top adaptive suspension plugs and reconnected. Voila - Back in Business. Then 10 min later, I get the Chassis Function Restricted message again and lose the edc. At least it was working, must be an electronic glitch to sort out
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2017, 02:52 PM   #8
MetalsMan
Private
3
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: 2015 Mineral Gray M3
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

iTrader: (0)

I did not disconnect the battery, just covered up the engine bay terminal so I wouldn't touch it with anything metal
Appreciate 0
      07-28-2017, 10:33 PM   #9
knightarmor
Captain
393
Rep
850
Posts

Drives: 2017 M3
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Washington

iTrader: (0)

If I recall correctly there is also a connector on the strut right at the bottom of the spring isn't there? And one side of the car has a light level sensor that needed to be disconnected.
Just watched this DIY as I don't have my car on the lift this evening.
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2017, 01:08 PM   #10
MetalsMan
Private
3
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: 2015 Mineral Gray M3
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

iTrader: (0)

I followed the instructions on that YouTube video actually. I reconnected those plugs and the headlight leveling arm, but it may be worth disconnecting and reconnecting again.
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2017, 09:03 PM   #11
knightarmor
Captain
393
Rep
850
Posts

Drives: 2017 M3
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Washington

iTrader: (0)

It might be worth it to unplug the battery and go through and check all of your connections. Make sure a pin didn't get bent when you plugged items back in. I cant imagine an error popping up just because.
Appreciate 0
      07-31-2017, 11:09 AM   #12
ZAGA_M3
Captain
ZAGA_M3's Avatar
162
Rep
714
Posts

Drives: 16' F80
Join Date: May 2014
Location: CA

iTrader: (1)

This is exactly what happened to mine. Same set as well KW hAS and GC plates.
After the shop installed everything, they could not reset that error and i ended up taking it to dealer and both front sensors got replaced (under warranty). Apparently these are very sensitive/finicky sensors that do not like to be touched or what not.

By the way, any creaking/crackling noises from top hats when going on driveways?
__________________
1996 Maxima (Sold)
2007 G35 Sport (Sold)
1996 Miata Supercharged (Sold)
2010 E92 M3 (Sold)
2016 F80 ED..MW / Exec / Black 19' / DCT
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2017, 10:06 AM   #13
MetalsMan
Private
3
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: 2015 Mineral Gray M3
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

iTrader: (0)

Very frustrating, The adaptive suspension comes and goes. I'm thinking it's simply a sensor. I was pretty damn careful with everything during the install. The only thing I was doing that simply didn't feel right, was banging those damn spring perches down onto the struts. In hindsight, I guess taking those to a shop with some sort of press would have been better. Nonetheless, the suspension comes and goes, so hopefully the solution is pretty simple and is sensor related.

I will say, for the money you spend on these kits, the instructions are by far lackluster and not very informative. You would think with the KW H.A.S. you would get some sort of instructions that point you in the direction of how to best set up the coils and perches for specific ride height drops, etc, rather than just doing it trial and error. Once they are on, adjusting the collar up and down isn't all that easy.

The Ground Control camber plates were the same, a one page instruction set that tells you nothing about how to set them up to achieve any particular camber settings.

I do get a good bit of rattling from the camber plates, only over sharp bumps though. Good thing the government as invested so much money into keeping our roads and highways buttery smooth.

Can't imagine how much noise these things will make over long stretches of interstate with worn expansion joints
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2017, 10:08 AM   #14
MetalsMan
Private
3
Rep
50
Posts

Drives: 2015 Mineral Gray M3
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Baton Rouge, LA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZAGA_M3 View Post
This is exactly what happened to mine. Same set as well KW hAS and GC plates.
After the shop installed everything, they could not reset that error and i ended up taking it to dealer and both front sensors got replaced (under warranty). Apparently these are very sensitive/finicky sensors that do not like to be touched or what not.

By the way, any creaking/crackling noises from top hats when going on driveways?
What sensors did BMW replace?
Appreciate 0
      08-01-2017, 10:45 AM   #15
ZAGA_M3
Captain
ZAGA_M3's Avatar
162
Rep
714
Posts

Drives: 16' F80
Join Date: May 2014
Location: CA

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalsMan View Post
What sensors did BMW replace?
the sensors that are mounted on the shocks itself
__________________
1996 Maxima (Sold)
2007 G35 Sport (Sold)
1996 Miata Supercharged (Sold)
2010 E92 M3 (Sold)
2016 F80 ED..MW / Exec / Black 19' / DCT
Appreciate 0
      08-02-2017, 02:30 PM   #16
DavidGP
Lieutenant
305
Rep
443
Posts

Drives: 2016 MG F80 6spd
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Same thing happened to me, it was a pinched wire just a couple inches from the EDC connector on the rear. The pinched wire caused the chassis error code. I had to unscrew the mount and re-adjust the wires. Not a big PITA but I was able to fix on my own. I would start there. Its easy to tighten down the mount that bolts to the chassis and pinch a wire.
Appreciate 0
      08-07-2017, 03:26 PM   #17
LLNM4
Private First Class
LLNM4's Avatar
Netherlands
107
Rep
176
Posts

Drives: M4 F82 MG
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: The Netherlands

iTrader: (1)

Same thing happened to me because the KW HAS was in the lowest setting with EDC competition coded.
The KW HAS is now higher with EDC CS and works perfectly. I did not use other camber plates.
__________________
M4 F82, MG, stage 2, ER catless DP, Akra, BMS intake, ER charge pipes, Ohlins, GTS/CS hood, GTS flash, EDC CS, 763M CS rims, retrofit LCI taillights and LCI LED adaptive headlights
M5 F10, Singapore grey, stage 2
335i RB upgrade turbo & FBO
Appreciate 0
      09-30-2019, 07:18 PM   #18
TrueLoyaltyInc
First Lieutenant
TrueLoyaltyInc's Avatar
31
Rep
388
Posts

Drives: BMW 328i Coupe
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Atlanta, GA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZAGA_M3 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MetalsMan View Post
What sensors did BMW replace?
the sensors that are mounted on the shocks itself
Any idea what this part number or a link to it?
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST