Pandora Car Alarm System
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Track / Autocross / Dragstrip / Driving Techniques

03-11-2019, 01:59 PM   #1
theox05
Private
Rep
Drives: 2016 GT4

Track Car Dilemma

So, I have a 2018 M4 ZCP. I took it to a HPDE and now I have caught that common affliction known as the track bug. However, I am terrified of taking it to the track outside of the HPDE days. My insurance covers me on HPDEs, but does not on other track days. Supplemental insurance is rather expensive and I would like to use that cash on parts/experience. Also, being a newbie, I feel as though I have a higher chance of doing something dumb and wrecking the car, thus being stuck with a massive bill at the end.

So, now I have a dilemma. Do I invest in a dedicated track car or use that money to improve the M4? Do you guys just have brass ones and say "Screw it, I cast my fortune to the fates!"?

I'm looking at 135i and e46 330i at the moment. Any other suggestions?

Last edited by theox05; 03-11-2019 at 02:06 PM..
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2019, 02:16 PM   #2
SYT_Shadow
///M Powered for Life
Rep
Drives: E90M/E92M/M4GTS/M4GT4/X5M

As an avid track rat I would steer you as far away as possible from a dedicated track car.

You have just started tracking. You have much to learn young padawan.

Get some camber plates, track pads and you can track the M4 to your heart's delight. This will be much cheaper than buying a trailer and tow vehicle to drive the 'track' car there.

Plenty of companies offer track insurance dedicated to HPDE events, which is still cheaper than getting a dedicated car.

As an instructor I assure you no one is getting into accidents in the lower run groups. Once you make it to the top run group then it's a different story and that's the moment where a 'dedicated' car starts making sense
Appreciate 1
      03-11-2019, 02:31 PM   #3
theox05
Private
Rep