proTUNING Freaks
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Navigation, iDrive, Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Phone, Cameras, Electronics

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      07-29-2018, 05:59 AM   #1
black67
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: 2017 M4
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Solihull, UK

iTrader: (0)

Speed Limit Display Function

Hi,

The owner's manual for my late 2017 M4 mentions a function for showing the current speed limit in the head-up display. However I cannot find anyway to enable this here or in the instrument cluster menu. The manual suggests that this is a standard feature but it looks to me like it must be a factory option.

Does anyone out there know?

Cheers!
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2018, 07:18 AM   #2
RickFLM4
Brigadier General
RickFLM4's Avatar
United_States
3887
Rep
3,712
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: PB County, FL

iTrader: (0)

In the U.S. HUD is part of the Executive Package - not sure how it works in the U.K. To see speed limit in the display, you need to set the HUD to the standard view, not the M view, which you can toggle between in an iDrive menu.
__________________
Current: 2018 SO/SS F83 ZCP
Gone: 2015 SO/SO F82
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2018, 07:57 AM   #3
dinonz
Colonel
United_States
1511
Rep
2,354
Posts

Drives: 2016 M3 MWM ZCP
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Austin

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickFLM4 View Post
In the U.S. HUD is part of the Executive Package - not sure how it works in the U.K. To see speed limit in the display, you need to set the HUD to the standard view, not the M view, which you can toggle between in an iDrive menu.
I see the speed limit in the HUD in M view - however I think it requires the Driver Assistance package to obtain the speed limit feature.
Appreciate 1
RickFLM43886.50

      07-29-2018, 08:09 AM   #4
RickFLM4
Brigadier General
RickFLM4's Avatar
United_States
3887
Rep
3,712
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: PB County, FL

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dinonz View Post
I see the speed limit in the HUD in M view - however I think it requires the Driver Assistance package to obtain the speed limit feature.
Ok then I stand corrected on that point. Iíll check it again tomorrow when I hit the road.
__________________
Current: 2018 SO/SS F83 ZCP
Gone: 2015 SO/SO F82
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2018, 08:43 AM   #5
gatorfast
Major General
gatorfast's Avatar
United_States
2823
Rep
5,919
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SoFla

iTrader: (4)

I turned this function off. Don't need the constant reminder that I am speeding
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2018, 09:26 AM   #6
sandjam
First Lieutenant
United_States
230
Rep
373
Posts

Drives: 2016
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Delaware

iTrader: (1)

You have to enable it in the Settings/Instrument Cluster Menu in iDrive. Speed Limit Info must be checked. It will show in both the HUD and in the center of the instrument cluster when enabled, but it is set in that menu, not the HUD menu.
Appreciate 0
      07-29-2018, 06:50 PM   #7
backagain
just a fool
backagain's Avatar
China
322
Rep
666
Posts

Drives: 2016 SO coded M3
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: CA bay area

iTrader: (0)

The front camera reads the speed signs on the side of the road, then posts it on HUD/dash. So your car will need to be equipped with the camera in the 1st place.
Appreciate 1
      11-08-2019, 02:01 PM   #8
j2dad5389
Private
j2dad5389's Avatar
United_States
17
Rep
71
Posts

Drives: 2015 YMB F82
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Austin, TX

iTrader: (0)

No freaking way. Is that how it actually works? I was wondering how it knows the speed limit on roads. I don't believe it.
Appreciate 1
      11-08-2019, 02:11 PM   #9
bagekko
Lieutenant
bagekko's Avatar
United_States
157
Rep
531
Posts

Drives: Lots of BMWs
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: RI/MA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 BMW X5 35d  [0.00]
1995 540i  [0.00]
2008 BMW M5  [0.00]
2013 BMW 135i Cabrio  [0.00]
Yeah its not, dont know if he is joking. Speed limits are built into the maps/nav.

Quote:
Originally Posted by j2dad5389 View Post
No freaking way. Is that how it actually works? I was wondering how it knows the speed limit on roads. I don't believe it.
__________________
2008 BMW M5 6spd
1995 BMW 540i 6spd
2016 BMW M4 Vert 6spd
2017 BMW X5 35d MSport
2019 BMW i3 120ah REX
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2019, 02:14 PM   #10
allinon72
Major
allinon72's Avatar
United_States
1247
Rep
1,244
Posts

Drives: 15' M3, 12' Raptor, 17' X1
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Indianapolis, IN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by bagekko View Post
Yeah its not, dont know if he is joking. Speed limits are built into the maps/nav.
Incorrect, speed limit info uses the front camera if equipped. I believe it's possible to get speed limit info without the front camera in a certain options configuration, in that case it pulls from the nav.
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2019, 06:17 PM   #11
SD ///M4
///Multiple
SD ///M4's Avatar
United_States
1925
Rep
3,370
Posts

Drives: M4 Coupe | M3 | Z4M Roadster
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by backagain View Post
The front camera reads the speed signs on the side of the road, then posts it on HUD/dash. So your car will need to be equipped with the camera in the 1st place.
Quote:
Originally Posted by j2dad5389 View Post
No freaking way. Is that how it actually works? I was wondering how it knows the speed limit on roads. I don't believe it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by bagekko View Post
Yeah its not, dont know if he is joking. Speed limits are built into the maps/nav.
Quote:
Originally Posted by allinon72 View Post
Incorrect, speed limit info uses the front camera if equipped. I believe it's possible to get speed limit info without the front camera in a certain options configuration, in that case it pulls from the nav.
On my 2016 M4, the ZEC Executive Package included the 610 Head-up Display. However, you also have to have the ZDB Driver Assistance Plus Package to get the 8TH Speed Limit Info. This option is what gets you the front camera, as it also includes 5AS Active Driving Assistant which includes includes Lane Departure Warning, Forward Collision Warning, Pedestrian Warning, and City Collision Mitigation, some of which also require the front camera. ZDB Driver Assistance Plus Package also required ZEC. Reference for this info is my Monroney sticker and the BMW 2016 M3 M4 F80/F82/F83 Pricing Guide, which is available here on Bimmerpost.

It has long been known here on Bimmerpost that the 8TH Speed Limit Info is based on the front camera reading speed limit signs and I'm sure that this information is buried in some BMW Technical Document, most likely also available here on Bimmerpost. It may also get speed limit data from the nav, but here's why I think it doesn't.

First of all, at least on the 2016 models, you have to have the Executive Package and the Driver Assistance Plus Package. All F80/F82/F83 BMWs have nav, but not all of them have this package combo and you have to have the package that includes the front camera to get speed limit info.

Secondly, having this option and using it for the last 3-1/2 years, both in Europe during my Euro Delivery and also in multiple states in the US, the behavior is obviously based on a camera reading a speed limit sign. The speed limit display changes after passing a speed limit sign if the speed limit changes at that sign. Sure that could be done with nav (Waze does this), but if I see that a speed limit sign up ahead that changes the speed limit and a truck is in the way as I get closer and blocks the camera's view of the speed limit sign, the speed limit doesn't change. It also doesn't work as well in pouring rain, sometimes not being able to read the speed limit sign. Also, in construction areas, it will read the temporary speed limit signs that sometimes are on the left side of the car. Those temporary speed limits are not in the navigation. It also reads the speed limit signs in newly developed areas and those are probably not in the nav.

Finally, for the definitive answer, I refer you to this BMW video on how Speed Limit Info works:
.

And this one:


So, believe it or don't, Speed Limit Info works by reading speed limit signs with the front camera (if equipped).

Note that BMW has changed packages and options and the names of some of those packages and options, as well as the version of iDrive/Navigation in nearly every model year, and many things that were optional are now standard, so you can't necessarily compare model years as to what was standard and what was optional, or how navigation options work.
__________________
His: 2016 M4 Coupe | Sakhir Orange | Black Full Merino Leather | CF Trim | M-DCT | More | ED 5/13/16
Hers: 2018 M3 Sedan | San Marino Blue | Black Full Merino Leather | CF Trim | M-DCT | ZCP | ED 7/18/18
Ours: 2006 Z4 Roadster | Interlagos Blue | Black Extended Nappa Leather | Carbon Leather Trim | Purchased 7/19/12


Last edited by SD ///M4; 11-08-2019 at 07:05 PM..
Appreciate 0
      11-08-2019, 07:43 PM   #12
allinon72
Major
allinon72's Avatar
United_States
1247
Rep
1,244
Posts

Drives: 15' M3, 12' Raptor, 17' X1
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Indianapolis, IN

iTrader: (0)

The easiest way to "tell" that the car uses the front camera is that it will change once you pass temporary construction zone speed limit signs. The front camera is remarkably accurate.
Appreciate 0
      11-10-2019, 01:44 AM   #13
backagain
just a fool
backagain's Avatar
China
322
Rep
666
Posts

Drives: 2016 SO coded M3
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: CA bay area

iTrader: (0)

The technology that enables this is called CNN (no, not that TV channel) based, machine learned visual computing. We've used the same technology to force cars to a stop after the machine learned about stop signs. Pretty cool, isn't it?
Appreciate 0
      Yesterday, 10:23 PM   #14
SD ///M4
///Multiple
SD ///M4's Avatar
United_States
1925
Rep
3,370
Posts

Drives: M4 Coupe | M3 | Z4M Roadster
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Diego, CA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by allinon72 View Post
The easiest way to "tell" that the car uses the front camera is that it will change once you pass temporary construction zone speed limit signs. The front camera is remarkably accurate.
Or put tape on your windshield to cover up the camera and see if it still works.
__________________
His: 2016 M4 Coupe | Sakhir Orange | Black Full Merino Leather | CF Trim | M-DCT | More | ED 5/13/16
Hers: 2018 M3 Sedan | San Marino Blue | Black Full Merino Leather | CF Trim | M-DCT | ZCP | ED 7/18/18
Ours: 2006 Z4 Roadster | Interlagos Blue | Black Extended Nappa Leather | Carbon Leather Trim | Purchased 7/19/12

Appreciate 0
      Today, 02:28 PM   #15
danchee
First Lieutenant
60
Rep
303
Posts

Drives: 18' F80 M3 Laguna Seca Blue
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Rainy City

iTrader: (0)

It actually uses both NAV and front camera. If it sees a speed limit sign, it takes that value but if you turn or drive to an area where the NAV has a different limit but it does not see a sign, the NAV limit takes over.

My speed limit changes from 30mph to 45mph going north on Hwy 99 in Seattle after West Seattle bridge but before the new tunnel as there is a speed limit sign. As I go into the tunnel, it changes to 20mph because the tunnel goes under the city and that's the speed limit in the city but there was no new speed limit sign. Inside the tunnel there are variable speed limit signs but the camera doesn't look like it's been tuned to read that specific font/configuration. It just isn't as consistent as in Germany.

In Germany, it works a whole lot better given the standardization of signs everywhere. Whether it is a static sign on the side of the road, temporary speed limit signs in construction areas or overhead dynamic sign board (still uses the same font and color scheme as static sign), the speed limit display changes accordingly. When you exit the highways in Germany, not every exit has a new speed limit sign for the city road but the system is smart enough to know you're on city streets and uses the Nav speed limit info.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:53 PM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST