INDustry distribution
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > BMW M3 (F80) and BMW M4 (F82) General Forum

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-13-2016, 03:23 PM   #45
shortseller
Brigadier General
shortseller's Avatar
United_States
955
Rep
3,373
Posts

Drives: ‘18 ABM F80ZCP/dct
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NOVA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M/// View Post
Drew, please report back your experience. Curious to know a few things:

1) Did you specifically have to ask Otto's to do the software update? Who was your SA?

2) Do you notice any noticeable change?

3) Did it wipe out the coding?

Thanks.

Ricky
Best thing to know is what you told the SA to allow him/her to write up the work order to get it to qualify for a dealer covered software upgrade freebie. - Thanks!
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2016, 03:25 PM   #46
tke743
Major
tke743's Avatar
United_States
715
Rep
1,049
Posts

Drives: MW ZCP M3
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M/// View Post

3) Did it wipe out the coding?
If they update you all your coding is gone. So are all of you settings except for the Homelink and Seat memory.
__________________
Formerly - "That Guy" in the purple BMW
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2016, 03:38 PM   #47
shortseller
Brigadier General
shortseller's Avatar
United_States
955
Rep
3,373
Posts

Drives: ‘18 ABM F80ZCP/dct
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: NOVA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tke743 View Post
If they update you all your coding is gone. So are all of you settings except for the Homelink and Seat memory.
Note to self - have profiles set up on that nice little BMW USB key BMW sent me!
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2016, 03:43 PM   #48
tke743
Major
tke743's Avatar
United_States
715
Rep
1,049
Posts

Drives: MW ZCP M3
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M/// View Post
You should do another thread comparing the 2016 non-CP to your CP

A lot of folks on the forum gave me a hard time when I said I never buy the first year model and free reading your thread I am glad I waited for the 2016 M3. The LCI was a bonus
Note: My F80 is a 2016 LCI. It's just a software change here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRZ06 View Post
I was wondering if it was just me or if they made suspension changes.

I still feel the need to go coilovers, but I will admit it feels a little better. Like you said , only so much you can do with software.
Oh, don't get me wrong, if Íhlins comes out with the rumored "Adaptive Compatible" set, I'm in.
__________________
Formerly - "That Guy" in the purple BMW

Last edited by tke743; 05-13-2016 at 03:54 PM..
Appreciate 1
      05-13-2016, 04:09 PM   #49
Bluex
Useful Idiot
Bluex's Avatar
United_States
1318
Rep
1,775
Posts

Drives: My wife and kids insane.
Join Date: May 2011
Location: West Chester, PA

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW F80 M3  [5.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M/// View Post
Drew, please report back your experience. Curious to know a few things:

1) Did you specifically have to ask Otto's to do the software update? Who was your SA?

2) Do you notice any noticeable change?

3) Did it wipe out the coding?

Thanks.

Ricky
Ricky, lol...name change? I didn't recognize you

1: I have not asked yet. My SA *was* Rob, but due to the dealership showroom expanding and a few other things, he was moved to take care of a few BMW clients out of the Mini dealership in Exton. M-customers remained at Otto's main service department. My SA is now Kevin, but i've had a few good conversations with him. So I feel comfortable bringing this up to him when the time is right. I haven't done it yet, my inspection isn't due until next month.

2: I will absolutely let you know, SHOULD I decide to get the update based on point 3 below:

3: It absolutely WILL wipe all my coding out. And it is a significant amount of coding that I did. The LED's, after much experimenting are perfect, and took a bunch of coding and a fair amount of time and testing to get where I like them. Due to this, i'm not sure I want the update.
__________________
2015 M3 Sakhir Orange ED Pickup 5/13/15

My European Delivery Thread
Appreciate 1
      05-13-2016, 04:22 PM   #50
04cobra
Banned
619
Rep
1,052
Posts

Drives: 2015 M3 - 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: MN

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by minn19 View Post
According to my, SA they fully update the car with the new software if you bring it in for anything. I'm quite a while out for an oil change, but I have had the "NO SIGNAL" display on my monitor a couple of times since I've had the car. I'll bring it in for that and get the new software.

Anyway, just ask your SA and I'm sure they will work with you to get it done under warranty/for free. Obviously, it is definitely dealership dependent though how much they will work with you on stuff like this.
Let me know how this goes, I will bring mine in too. Group software upate

Also Minnetonka or motorworks?
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2016, 04:52 PM   #51
georgere
Lieutenant Colonel
georgere's Avatar
United_States
560
Rep
1,939
Posts

Drives: 2016 M3 BSM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stamford CT

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TRZ06
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wills2
Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M/// View Post
What I don't understand is why would the dealer charge for a software update and be reluctant to do one for free. All devices have updates from time to time (iPhone, etc.) and they are basically improvements, bugs that have been resolved over the previous software. Why would this not be free?
Because your car would take a bay up in the workshop, a tech has to do the upload etc...

If the dealer is targeting service bays and techs time to a revenue/profit stream (all will do of course) it comes down to a good will gesture and some people will have more good will than others.

I know at my dealer if I ask the right people I'll get little things done for free but if I go through service reception there is a high likely hood that the standard tariff kicks in for anything.
THIS

That's why I had mine written up as a complaint and safety issue. Then it becomes a warranty issue and the dealer gets paid from BMW for the repair/time
Can u share your write up please?
__________________
My 1st love was 2006 BMW 325i Sport + Prem 6MT but I married the 2016 M3 BSM MDCT.
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2016, 04:52 PM   #52
robbieMWM3
Private
28
Rep
64
Posts

Drives: 2015 F80 M3
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Salinas Ca

iTrader: (0)

My 2015 still has the older HUD so Im sure my software is out of date. Is there any way I can confirm via my I Drive settings? Newb here
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2016, 04:56 PM   #53
///M///
Brigadier General
///M///'s Avatar
1735
Rep
3,643
Posts

Drives: 2016 Manual AW F80
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Philly

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluex View Post
Ricky, lol...name change? I didn't recognize you

1: I have not asked yet. My SA *was* Rob, but due to the dealership showroom expanding and a few other things, he was moved to take care of a few BMW clients out of the Mini dealership in Exton. M-customers remained at Otto's main service department. My SA is now Kevin, but i've had a few good conversations with him. So I feel comfortable bringing this up to him when the time is right. I haven't done it yet, my inspection isn't due until next month.

2: I will absolutely let you know, SHOULD I decide to get the update based on point 3 below:

3: It absolutely WILL wipe all my coding out. And it is a significant amount of coding that I did. The LED's, after much experimenting are perfect, and took a bunch of coding and a fair amount of time and testing to get where I like them. Due to this, i'm not sure I want the update.

Thanks. On the name change I figured it's time I let go of my dsm roots
__________________
=========================
2016 F80 M3 AW/SO (Manual) - Picked up at the Welt 08/28/15

My Amazing European Delivery Story
Appreciate 1
      05-13-2016, 04:57 PM   #54
///M///
Brigadier General
///M///'s Avatar
1735
Rep
3,643
Posts

Drives: 2016 Manual AW F80
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Philly

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by robbieMWM3 View Post
My 2015 still has the older HUD so Im sure my software is out of date. Is there any way I can confirm via my I Drive settings? Newb here
Can you post a picture of the old vs new HUD? I haven't seen the new one to know which is old vs new.
__________________
=========================
2016 F80 M3 AW/SO (Manual) - Picked up at the Welt 08/28/15

My Amazing European Delivery Story
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2016, 05:16 PM   #55
robbieMWM3
Private
28
Rep
64
Posts

Drives: 2015 F80 M3
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Salinas Ca

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M/// View Post
Can you post a picture of the old vs new HUD? I haven't seen the new one to know which is old vs new.
I dont have pictures but the old one has a grey tac and the speed limit info is a white box. New one has a blue tac and the speed limit info is a circle outlined in red I believe.
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2016, 05:30 PM   #56
TRZ06
Lieutenant Colonel
TRZ06's Avatar
United_States
594
Rep
1,753
Posts

Drives: 16' M3
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by georgere
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRZ06
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wills2
Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M/// View Post
What I don't understand is why would the dealer charge for a software update and be reluctant to do one for free. All devices have updates from time to time (iPhone, etc.) and they are basically improvements, bugs that have been resolved over the previous software. Why would this not be free?
Because your car would take a bay up in the workshop, a tech has to do the upload etc...

If the dealer is targeting service bays and techs time to a revenue/profit stream (all will do of course) it comes down to a good will gesture and some people will have more good will than others.

I know at my dealer if I ask the right people I'll get little things done for free but if I go through service reception there is a high likely hood that the standard tariff kicks in for anything.
THIS

That's why I had mine written up as a complaint and safety issue. Then it becomes a warranty issue and the dealer gets paid from BMW for the repair/time
Can u share your write up please?
I don't have the paperwork with me, but it read something like...

"Customer stated traction control in MDM mode comes in abruptly and creates a safety concern"

"Customer states iDrive is glitchy"
__________________
18? Camaro 2SS 1LE
16' M3 MG Ext. /SO Int. (DCT, Ohlin R/T, 19" wheels)
15' Audi S4
13' Audi TTRS (APR stage 1, MSS springs)
09' C6 Z06
08' M3 Interlagos Blue: 6sp, Tech.
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2016, 07:13 PM   #57
firedown31
Major
United_States
892
Rep
1,419
Posts

Drives: '16 AW M3
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: NH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ///M/// View Post
Can you post a picture of the old vs new HUD? I haven't seen the new one to know which is old vs new.
It's just a subtle change to the background of the tach.



I'll be contacting my SA on Monday and seeing if I can schedule this update. Just tell him the TC cuts power completely and I have some rough shifts some times. throw in a I've had idrive freeze a few times. Should be good. I won't mind recoding everything. My LED coding was pretty simple, just changed the speeds they activate at.
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2016, 08:27 PM   #58
minn19
Major General
minn19's Avatar
United_States
7585
Rep
7,824
Posts

Drives: 19 F150, 21 718, 20 C63S, 212S
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Minnesota

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 04cobra View Post
Let me know how this goes, I will bring mine in too. Group software upate

Also Minnetonka or motorworks?
I know a couple of good SAs at both. But, I bought this one at 'Tonka and somewhat prefer bringing it there. I just have to get off my ass and do it. It is kind of pain as it is a two night process to drop off and pick up. I live 40 minutes north of the cities so it is a long drive from either. And as you know it seems like every road in town is under construction.
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2016, 09:35 PM   #59
dkhm3
Brigadier General
dkhm3's Avatar
United_States
1775
Rep
3,314
Posts

Drives: 2019 911S 2020 X3MC
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orange County

iTrader: (0)

Would be nice if someone had a pre flash and compare with a flashed one at the same time. Otherwise I have a hard time believing these reviews.

My car is coded with euro mdm which I find pretty good at keeping the traction lights at bay.
__________________
Currently:
2019 911S 2020 X3MC

Previously:
1999 M3 2002 M3 2005 S4 2008 C63 2015 M3 2016 X5M
Appreciate 1
      05-13-2016, 09:36 PM   #60
mdefalco25
Captain
mdefalco25's Avatar
United_States
176
Rep
688
Posts

Drives: 16 AW F80
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Normal, IL

iTrader: (3)

So if my car is currently being built I assume I'll have the updated coding?
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2016, 10:10 PM   #61
TRZ06
Lieutenant Colonel
TRZ06's Avatar
United_States
594
Rep
1,753
Posts

Drives: 16' M3
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dkhm3
Would be nice if someone had a pre flash and compare with a flashed one at the same time. Otherwise I have a hard time believing these reviews.

My car is coded with euro mdm which I find pretty good at keeping the traction lights at bay.
No one is twisting your arm to believe it. Lol

I'm happy with it and the differences, but to each their own.
__________________
18? Camaro 2SS 1LE
16' M3 MG Ext. /SO Int. (DCT, Ohlin R/T, 19" wheels)
15' Audi S4
13' Audi TTRS (APR stage 1, MSS springs)
09' C6 Z06
08' M3 Interlagos Blue: 6sp, Tech.
Appreciate 0
      05-13-2016, 10:33 PM   #62
aboulfad
Brigadier General
aboulfad's Avatar
Canada
1493
Rep
3,903
Posts

Drives: 2015 M4 MG/SO
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: MTL, QC

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2015 BMW M4  [5.00]
FYI, in the original thread in m3cutters, only three ECUs were flashed: DME, DSC & ICM. For those that don't want to loose their coding, a non-dealer route is an option, DIY or get it done as those three ECUs are rarely or never coded (except for EuroMDM/DSC).
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2016, 01:41 AM   #63
///M///
Brigadier General
///M///'s Avatar
1735
Rep
3,643
Posts

Drives: 2016 Manual AW F80
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Philly

iTrader: (6)

Quote:
Originally Posted by firedown31 View Post
It's just a subtle change to the background of the tach.



I'll be contacting my SA on Monday and seeing if I can schedule this update. Just tell him the TC cuts power completely and I have some rough shifts some times. throw in a I've had idrive freeze a few times. Should be good. I won't mind recoding everything. My LED coding was pretty simple, just changed the speeds they activate at.
I have the 08/15 build date for my 2016 and I have the updated HUD. I wish there was a larger contrast between the blues. The rpm could be a lot clearer if they could do that.
__________________
=========================
2016 F80 M3 AW/SO (Manual) - Picked up at the Welt 08/28/15

My Amazing European Delivery Story
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2016, 10:04 AM   #64
absoluteis350
Captain
absoluteis350's Avatar
387
Rep
976
Posts

Drives: 2016 Singapore Grey M3
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: boston

iTrader: (0)

Hold on. If it's just a software flash, then can't we do it ourselves if we obtain the updated software?
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2016, 10:19 AM   #65
TRZ06
Lieutenant Colonel
TRZ06's Avatar
United_States
594
Rep
1,753
Posts

Drives: 16' M3
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by absoluteis350
Hold on. If it's just a software flash, then can't we do it ourselves if we obtain the updated software?
My understanding is its firmware.

If you think about it from a logical POV, there is no way it could be just software.

We are talking about new calibration settings that the computer doesn't know exist yet.

I'm sure it's also a lot of code that was changed too.

But, I know little (ok, none) about coding and how it's done, so I guess maybe, but it doesn't make sense to me.
__________________
18? Camaro 2SS 1LE
16' M3 MG Ext. /SO Int. (DCT, Ohlin R/T, 19" wheels)
15' Audi S4
13' Audi TTRS (APR stage 1, MSS springs)
09' C6 Z06
08' M3 Interlagos Blue: 6sp, Tech.
Appreciate 1
Skid12349.00

      05-14-2016, 10:20 AM   #66
firedown31
Major
United_States
892
Rep
1,419
Posts

Drives: '16 AW M3
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: NH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by absoluteis350 View Post
Hold on. If it's just a software flash, then can't we do it ourselves if we obtain the updated software?
Yes you can. The issue a lot of us have is we don't have battery power supplys to insure adequate voltage when flashing. But it seems like everyone from the m3cutters post didn't have one when getting it flashed by the one "Adam" dude. Flash at your own risk.
Appreciate 1
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:42 AM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST