VIBE Motorsports
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      06-07-2019, 08:59 PM   #67
Commanderwiggin
Captain
Commanderwiggin's Avatar
United_States
1108
Rep
815
Posts

Drives: 19 M2C;12 X5 35D;Turbo E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Socal

iTrader: (2)

I just unlocked my ECU today with EcuTek and I personally know two others running it with great success. Technically most of the S55 development is still in beta from what I can see and I'm looking forward to the RaceRom features coming out as it will provide the one key feature I'm after which is flexfuel. Being on california junk 91 I'm not too interested in pushing things too hard so my tuner will be dialing things in on the conservative side over the next while. I'll post as I have results but so far things seem very good. First on the menu...disabling all these junk burbles in sport, s+
__________________
575RWHP F87 M2C - ECUTEK RACEROM with flex fuel tuning by Bend Calibration
1000+RWHP E46 M3, Lab22 Built Turbo S54, Bend Calibration Tuned - BMW Half Mile Record Holder
Appreciate 2
MR RIZK448.00
domino_z1093.50

      06-07-2019, 11:01 PM   #68
FSociety
Follow Me on IG @BMW_F9X
FSociety's Avatar
No_Country
3496
Rep
7,373
Posts

Drives: F98 X4MC, F90 M5, F80 M3 ZCP
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NYC NJ FL

iTrader: (3)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR RIZK View Post
I think FSociety posted in another thread some of the beta users where experiencing DTMAL issues. Not sure if true nor how widespread.
It's not ready for user who live away from the called tuner.
The 2 guys in NYC have been contacting (email ECUTEK main guy) because the tuner wasn't getting back to them. Long story short, DTMAL is still there flashed stock via ecutek and Alex Alpine is trying to recover his software by updating it to latest it seems. I will ask to see whats the status, and the other guy needs a bench flash because ecutek stock is also not operating right.
__________________
F98 X4M Custom STG1 1/4m 10.61@130.92 60-130 7.5 World Record
TristateBM3 STG2-- 1/4m -- 60-130: 7.3 -- 0-100mph: 10.18

IG: @bmw_F9X

Appreciate 1
MR RIZK448.00

      06-07-2019, 11:48 PM   #69
Commanderwiggin
Captain
Commanderwiggin's Avatar
United_States
1108
Rep
815
Posts

Drives: 19 M2C;12 X5 35D;Turbo E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Socal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by FSociety View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR RIZK View Post
I think FSociety posted in another thread some of the beta users where experiencing DTMAL issues. Not sure if true nor how widespread.
It's not ready for user who live away from the called tuner.
The 2 guys in NYC have been contacting (email ECUTEK main guy) because the tuner wasn't getting back to them. Long story short, DTMAL is still there flashed stock via ecutek and Alex Alpine is trying to recover his software by updating it to latest it seems. I will ask to see whats the status, and the other guy needs a bench flash because ecutek stock is also not operating right.
I'm an end user and my tuner is in Oregon. They are remote ready now fyi.
__________________
575RWHP F87 M2C - ECUTEK RACEROM with flex fuel tuning by Bend Calibration
1000+RWHP E46 M3, Lab22 Built Turbo S54, Bend Calibration Tuned - BMW Half Mile Record Holder
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2019, 07:43 AM   #70
coxxoc
Private First Class
79
Rep
110
Posts

Drives: 2017 M3 CP
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Arkansas

iTrader: (1)

I think we will see more traction when the platform goes out of beta and launches racerom features. Racerom usually includes adding a flexfuel feature.

Iím tuned on Ecutek and all is good. The tuner is working on a throttle sensitivity in sport+ change to suite my preference. My work travel is pretty demanding and has made turnaround time longer. Standard remote tuning process of data logging and updating map revisions is being performed. Using ecu connect to log with my phone has been convenient.

I got a before dyno and will do some after runs to share with the group. Iíll jump to e85 as soon as they are ready.
Appreciate 0
      06-08-2019, 11:10 PM   #71
Commanderwiggin
Captain
Commanderwiggin's Avatar
United_States
1108
Rep
815
Posts

Drives: 19 M2C;12 X5 35D;Turbo E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Socal

iTrader: (2)

Step 1 complete...Started the tuning process today with my EcuTek tuner - Bend Calibration. Burbles disabled!!!! Some may laugh but this has been the #1 item on my list lol.

Also exhaust flaps completely open in both sport modes at all speed/rpms.
__________________
575RWHP F87 M2C - ECUTEK RACEROM with flex fuel tuning by Bend Calibration
1000+RWHP E46 M3, Lab22 Built Turbo S54, Bend Calibration Tuned - BMW Half Mile Record Holder

Last edited by Commanderwiggin; 06-08-2019 at 11:23 PM..
Appreciate 0
      06-11-2019, 01:00 PM   #72
Commanderwiggin
Captain
Commanderwiggin's Avatar
United_States
1108
Rep
815
Posts

Drives: 19 M2C;12 X5 35D;Turbo E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Socal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatWhiteM2 View Post
Great to hear, how are you finding it?

Mine is running lovely.
So far so good, datalogging and tweaking things to my specific preference. This will continue as more features are added on with RaceRom and I switch fuels and other upgrades in the coming months. I have sport+ throttle mapping nearly how I'd like. I hated the base calibration for the sport+ load offset tables. I have a new Cal loaded waiting to take it out for a spin to see how I like some newer changes. Super quick to load a new calibration and really easy to datalog so I'm liking the process so far.
__________________
575RWHP F87 M2C - ECUTEK RACEROM with flex fuel tuning by Bend Calibration
1000+RWHP E46 M3, Lab22 Built Turbo S54, Bend Calibration Tuned - BMW Half Mile Record Holder
Appreciate 1
      06-12-2019, 12:09 PM   #73
CrazyK
Private
97
Rep
62
Posts

Drives: M2C
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Moscow

iTrader: (0)

Is it possible to tune 19.03 Dme lock with ecutek software?
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2019, 12:17 PM   #74
Commanderwiggin
Captain
Commanderwiggin's Avatar
United_States
1108
Rep
815
Posts

Drives: 19 M2C;12 X5 35D;Turbo E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Socal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by CrazyK View Post
Is it possible to tune 19.03 Dme lock with ecutek software?
Not sure but Litchfield just posted something on FB about tuning a new M2C with Ecutek that was locked through OBD
__________________
575RWHP F87 M2C - ECUTEK RACEROM with flex fuel tuning by Bend Calibration
1000+RWHP E46 M3, Lab22 Built Turbo S54, Bend Calibration Tuned - BMW Half Mile Record Holder

Last edited by Commanderwiggin; 06-12-2019 at 10:46 PM..
Appreciate 0
      06-12-2019, 02:31 PM   #75
parabmw
Major
122
Rep
1,017
Posts

Drives: 2018 m4
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: canada

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commanderwiggin View Post
Not sure but Litchfield just posted something on FB about tuning a new M2C that was locked through OBD
They've apparently cracked it as well.
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2019, 08:04 AM   #76
Commanderwiggin
Captain
Commanderwiggin's Avatar
United_States
1108
Rep
815
Posts

Drives: 19 M2C;12 X5 35D;Turbo E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Socal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by GreatWhiteM2 View Post
They did mine first, months ago. This is what I kept going on about but no-one believed me :.
Yes but this time Litchfield said they used Ecutek for the unlock. You had a different case iirc. No question that Litchfield has other ways to unlock successfully but if it's true (this time) that Litchfield used Ecutek independently of any other tool then that's good to hear. I won't be inquiring to find out but I'm interested to hear if this is actually true that Ecutek has full unlock access.
__________________
575RWHP F87 M2C - ECUTEK RACEROM with flex fuel tuning by Bend Calibration
1000+RWHP E46 M3, Lab22 Built Turbo S54, Bend Calibration Tuned - BMW Half Mile Record Holder
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2019, 08:01 PM   #77
MR RIZK
Captain
MR RIZK's Avatar
Australia
448
Rep
963
Posts

Drives: AW M2C
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Do u guys have any insight to the relock process or if one actually exists for ecutek.
__________________
Previous Rides: 13' 135i, 08' 130i, 03' HKS Turbo'd 350z, Modded GC8 WRX, NA MX5
Appreciate 0
      06-13-2019, 08:56 PM   #78
Commanderwiggin
Captain
Commanderwiggin's Avatar
United_States
1108
Rep
815
Posts

Drives: 19 M2C;12 X5 35D;Turbo E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Socal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR RIZK View Post
Do u guys have any insight to the relock process or if one actually exists for ecutek.
Once Unlocked you can enter Program Ecu mode to flash a cal. The unlock process is about 5min about. (I didn't time it but seemed quick).

To program the Ecu with your selected bin file (calibration) it takes a minute or two. It's really quick.

At this stage you can leave it or...elect to go back to stock. I don't know about a specific "Lock" process...I can only make assumptions.
__________________
575RWHP F87 M2C - ECUTEK RACEROM with flex fuel tuning by Bend Calibration
1000+RWHP E46 M3, Lab22 Built Turbo S54, Bend Calibration Tuned - BMW Half Mile Record Holder
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2019, 12:40 AM   #79
Trevorstein
First Lieutenant
79
Rep
387
Posts

Drives: Trabant
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Galifrey

iTrader: (0)

Hey,

I call B.S.!

Their "Lichtfield" web-site clearly indicates they require, "* Ö the car or ECU to be present... "

Nothing new, "direct to chip flashing" has already been resolved for over a month now.

OBDII Port flashing is what's critical, needed and still in development.


Cheers!

__________________
///M Joy
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2019, 01:07 AM   #80
Commanderwiggin
Captain
Commanderwiggin's Avatar
United_States
1108
Rep
815
Posts

Drives: 19 M2C;12 X5 35D;Turbo E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Socal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevorstein View Post
Hey,

I call B.S.!

Their "Lichtfield" web-site clearly indicates they require, "* Ö the car or ECU to be present... "

Nothing new, "direct to chip flashing" has already been resolved for over a month now.

OBDII Port flashing is what's critical, needed and still in development.


Cheers!

Litchfield posted yesterday: "This BMW M2 Competition came in for EIBACH lowering springs, a catalyst back Remus exhaust, Eventuri carbon intake kit, our Stage 1 remap and crank hub fix.

Our Stage 1 remap lifted power 110bhp & 111lbft from the claimed 410bhp to 520bhp and torque increased from 406lbft to 511lbft with the internal power meters recalibrated to suit. We carefully set these up to provide a nice smooth torque curve to feed the power into the rear tyres which helps provide better traction.

This particular car had the latest BMW firmware which locks the normal OBD tuning but we are able to reverse this thanks to the latest EcuTek software, all without removing or opening the ECU!

This already great car is transformed into something very special 🙂

If you have an M2 Competition that you would like to improve get in contact."


Now I'm not sure if Ecutek has cracked the March Update (and partly don't care since it doesn't apply to me) but I think if you're really serious to find this information out you should ask Ecutek themselves or Litchfield for clarification.

To add some clarity to your post Trevorstein the OBDII port flashing works just fine; I've been doing it remotely from my tuner all week.
__________________
575RWHP F87 M2C - ECUTEK RACEROM with flex fuel tuning by Bend Calibration
1000+RWHP E46 M3, Lab22 Built Turbo S54, Bend Calibration Tuned - BMW Half Mile Record Holder
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2019, 01:14 AM   #81
Commanderwiggin
Captain
Commanderwiggin's Avatar
United_States
1108
Rep
815
Posts

Drives: 19 M2C;12 X5 35D;Turbo E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Socal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by unleashed View Post
You can't lock it, nor using bm3 to lock. You will get DTMF!!
I asked about locking the ecu with ecutek and yes you can.

Process is to use the unlock tool to lock the ecu. However when doing this you will need to contact ecutek and save your log file as you will need the flash credits re-applied to your license.

No sense (for me) locking the ecu anyways but either way that's the process.
__________________
575RWHP F87 M2C - ECUTEK RACEROM with flex fuel tuning by Bend Calibration
1000+RWHP E46 M3, Lab22 Built Turbo S54, Bend Calibration Tuned - BMW Half Mile Record Holder
Appreciate 1
MR RIZK448.00

      06-14-2019, 01:59 AM   #82
Trevorstein
First Lieutenant
79
Rep
387
Posts

Drives: Trabant
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Galifrey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commanderwiggin View Post
Litchfield posted yesterday: "This BMW M2 Competition came in for EIBACH lowering springs, a catalyst back Remus exhaust, Eventuri carbon intake kit, our Stage 1 remap and crank hub fix.

Our Stage 1 remap lifted power 110bhp & 111lbft from the claimed 410bhp to 520bhp and torque increased from 406lbft to 511lbft with the internal power meters recalibrated to suit. We carefully set these up to provide a nice smooth torque curve to feed the power into the rear tyres which helps provide better traction.

This particular car had the latest BMW firmware which locks the normal OBD tuning but we are able to reverse this thanks to the latest EcuTek software, all without removing or opening the ECU!

This already great car is transformed into something very special ��

If you have an M2 Competition that you would like to improve get in contact."


Now I'm not sure if Ecutek has cracked the March Update (and partly don't care since it doesn't apply to me) but I think if you're really serious to find this information out you should ask Ecutek themselves or Litchfield for clarification.

To add some clarity to your post Trevorstein the OBDII port flashing works just fine; I've been doing it remotely from my tuner all week.
Hey,

I'm glad for you.

This is an "F8x" forum. I was referring to Lichtfields own words ("Power Upgrades - F8x") in reference to this chassis on their website:

* https://www.litchfieldmotors.com/bmw...power-upgrades

No "clarification" necessary. It's clearly stated, next to the asterisk under the "Remote Tuning Option" category.


Cheers!

__________________
///M Joy
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2019, 03:07 AM   #83
Commanderwiggin
Captain
Commanderwiggin's Avatar
United_States
1108
Rep
815
Posts

Drives: 19 M2C;12 X5 35D;Turbo E46 M3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Socal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevorstein View Post
This is an "F8x" forum.
Good thing the M2C is an F87 and shares the same ecu/motor etc...

Either way you know it all already.
__________________
575RWHP F87 M2C - ECUTEK RACEROM with flex fuel tuning by Bend Calibration
1000+RWHP E46 M3, Lab22 Built Turbo S54, Bend Calibration Tuned - BMW Half Mile Record Holder
Appreciate 0
      06-14-2019, 07:11 AM   #84
Trevorstein
First Lieutenant
79
Rep
387
Posts

Drives: Trabant
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Galifrey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commanderwiggin View Post
Good thing the M2C is an F87 and shares the same ecu/motor etc...

Either way you know it all already.
Hey,

I'm sorry. We seem to be miscommunicating here! My call out was in regards to the conflicting Info.

The inference here is that, using Ecutek, something(?) has been "cracked".

If this is the case:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Commanderwiggin View Post
.. the OBDII port flashing works just fine; I've been doing it remotely from my tuner all week.
… which is a huge marketing point, why would they (on their "F8x" page), need the car/ecu to be present
and/or otherwise, completely neglect to update their website?!?

Just my $0.02


Cheers!

__________________
///M Joy
Appreciate 0
      06-20-2019, 01:25 AM   #85
ZTUNER
Lieutenant
19
Rep
551
Posts

Drives: 91 Z32TT, 2000 I30, 335i
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Sarasota

iTrader: (0)

Started working on the ecutek tune on my m3

Looks extremely promising. Yes its a bit expensive but with my nissan ecutek experience i can only expect great results. BTW bmw ecus are way more complicated than nissan stuff

Harry
Appreciate 1
      06-22-2019, 06:18 PM   #86
DagM2C
New Member
8
Rep
24
Posts

Drives: 2020 BMW M2 Comp
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Arizona

iTrader: (1)

Do we know if their racerom will be producing a two step launch control for the manual transmission folks?
Appreciate 0
      06-22-2019, 08:22 PM   #87
drgmt
Lieutenant Colonel
Australia
922
Rep
1,867
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Australia

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZTUNER View Post
Looks extremely promising. Yes its a bit expensive but with my nissan ecutek experience i can only expect great results. BTW bmw ecus are way more complicated than nissan stuff

Harry
I wouldn't necessarily believe that a bmw would be more complex than a GTR ECU - that's one complex beast!
Appreciate 0
      07-15-2019, 02:44 PM   #88
sdstatestud88
Lieutenant
United_States
66
Rep
434
Posts

Drives: 2017 MW F80
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: San Jose

iTrader: (1)

Update:
EcuTek software will support full flex fuel integration with the factory S55 DME which will apply to the F80 M3, F82 M4, and F87 M2 Competition models.

You will also be able to use your cruise control stalk to change maps on the fly. If you want a valet mode for example or an aggressive map for Ignite Red fuel. Whatever, EcuTek will be able to accomodate
__________________
2017 Mineral White M3
Mods to COME
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST