GetBMWParts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis

09-05-2018, 11:41 AM   #1
beyondtheabyss
Banned
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2015 Sakhir Orange M4

Question Clunking Noise When Turning

Hey guys, just wondering if anyone is or has experienced what I'm going through now.

So about a week ago, after getting my car Ceramic Coated, I realized there was a knocking or clunking noise (that's the best I can describe the noise) coming from the front of the car. More specifically, the wheels. It only happens when I turn the wheel and I have to turn the wheel at least half way before the noise presents itself. Also only happens at low speeds. I thought that maybe it would go away on it's own but it seems like it's starting to get a little worse.

It hasn't affected the way the car drives, but the noise is starting to drive me nuts. I'm no mechanic, as a matter of fact, I'd say I'm a complete amateur when it comes down to the mechanics of cars but I want to say it has something to do with the control arms?

Has anyone else experienced this? Car is out of warranty so I can't take it in. Just wondering if anyone has any insight on what this could possibly be and should it be taken care of immediately or can I hold off on it for another couple weeks?

Thanks in advance!
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2018, 07:26 PM   #2
jdaustin
Enlisted Member
Rep
Drives: f82 m4

Currently have the same issue, started happening after I swapped out brake pads
Appreciate 0
      09-05-2018, 09:01 PM   #3
domino_z
Lieutenant Colonel
Rep
Drives: F-Pace SVR

this has been reported a few times on the forum

happened to me too, within first 1000km, it's the top mounts

dealer replaced under warranty no issues