ARMA SPEED
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > Regional Forums > AUSTRALIA

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      09-16-2020, 07:27 AM   #1
mmmmQuattro
Major
mmmmQuattro's Avatar
Australia
217
Rep
1,122
Posts

Drives: f83 / E93 335 / E70 X5 40d
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Anyone done a crank-hub fix?

I wasn't thinking I would need one, as I am not pushing too much extra power, but as time goes on, it seems that there are a few more issues of spun hubs both stock and tuned.

Just wondering if anyone's offering a service?
Should I consider it, or am I actually being paranoid?
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2020, 07:41 AM   #2
rokkuchan
Private First Class
16
Rep
120
Posts

Drives: E92 m3
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Nowhere

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmmQuattro View Post
I wasn't thinking I would need one, as I am not pushing too much extra power, but as time goes on, it seems that there are a few more issues of spun hubs both stock and tuned.

Just wondering if anyone's offering a service?
Should I consider it, or am I actually being paranoid?
Done it for peace of mind + running bm3 stage 2.

Where u located?
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2020, 08:26 AM   #3
mmmmQuattro
Major
mmmmQuattro's Avatar
Australia
217
Rep
1,122
Posts

Drives: f83 / E93 335 / E70 X5 40d
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by rokkuchan View Post
Done it for peace of mind + running bm3 stage 2.

Where u located?
In Adelaide

Was it really expensive?
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2020, 08:29 AM   #4
rokkuchan
Private First Class
16
Rep
120
Posts

Drives: E92 m3
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Nowhere

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmmQuattro View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by rokkuchan View Post
Done it for peace of mind + running bm3 stage 2.

Where u located?
In Adelaide

Was it really expensive?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmmQuattro View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by rokkuchan View Post
Done it for peace of mind + running bm3 stage 2.

Where u located?
In Adelaide

Was it really expensive?
Two places that do them. I'm in Adelaide too.

Andrawos Auto has done 1 and Carmelos Auto has done 2 now.

Not including the crank hub, it's about $3k labour alone from both places.
Appreciate 1
      09-16-2020, 08:35 AM   #5
mmmmQuattro
Major
mmmmQuattro's Avatar
Australia
217
Rep
1,122
Posts

Drives: f83 / E93 335 / E70 X5 40d
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by rokkuchan View Post
Two places that do them. I'm in Adelaide too.

Andrawos Auto has done 1 and Carmelos Auto has done 2 now.

Not including the crank hub, it's about $3k labour alone from both places.
Thanks, about what I was expecting.
Good to know that there's some local knowledge and experience fitting them.
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2020, 06:05 PM   #6
Alexander13.
Enlisted Member
26
Rep
40
Posts

Drives: F80 ZCP Ind.
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

I had an engine failure with 10 days to make a track day. I ended up with a V2 VTT splined unit. I'll be the first to say I'm hard on the 100% of the time while driving it and so far so good.
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2020, 09:26 PM   #7
waterbottle1
Major
waterbottle1's Avatar
135
Rep
1,084
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth AUSTRALIA

iTrader: (3)

well some with the fix also failed, so thats scary
and the unlucky ones with both stock or modified, low or high kms, new or old engines without the fix has failed in past.
bit of a hit and miss i reckon, but i guess it may be worth it for a little piece of mind if paranoid.
iv only got the VTT crank bolt capture plate, i hope thats holding it together lol
and im bm3 stage 2.
Appreciate 0
      09-16-2020, 11:45 PM   #8
rokkuchan
Private First Class
16
Rep
120
Posts

Drives: E92 m3
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Nowhere

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by waterbottle1 View Post
well some with the fix also failed, so thats scary
and the unlucky ones with both stock or modified, low or high kms, new or old engines without the fix has failed in past.
bit of a hit and miss i reckon, but i guess it may be worth it for a little piece of mind if paranoid.
iv only got the VTT crank bolt capture plate, i hope thats holding it together lol
and im bm3 stage 2.
I've got insane performance + vtt crank bolt capture.
One piece design + pinned is best of both worlds imo. Unless someone decides to have pinned + splines + one piece?

Personally I prefer the pins over splines. Splines usually made for male and female where this one is forced in and bite. Then debris is left inside. Drilling you can clean up. Vtt taking out is a problem (not that u would ever do it again)....
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2020, 12:43 AM   #9
waterbottle1
Major
waterbottle1's Avatar
135
Rep
1,084
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Perth AUSTRALIA

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by rokkuchan View Post
I've got insane performance + vtt crank bolt capture.
One piece design + pinned is best of both worlds imo. Unless someone decides to have pinned + splines + one piece?

Personally I prefer the pins over splines. Splines usually made for male and female where this one is forced in and bite. Then debris is left inside. Drilling you can clean up. Vtt taking out is a problem (not that u would ever do it again)....
that is a solid setup, if that kind of setup ever fails we are all doomed
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2020, 01:14 AM   #10
Danlnyc88
First Lieutenant
204
Rep
305
Posts

Drives: 2020 M4 Comp, 2017 Macan Turbo
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Orange County

iTrader: (1)

I don't wanna be "that guy" but this topic has been discussed about a million times. In great lengths and in detail. It's probably the #1 topic in this forum.

Go. Do. Your. Research
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2020, 03:07 AM   #11
rokkuchan
Private First Class
16
Rep
120
Posts

Drives: E92 m3
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Nowhere

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Danlnyc88 View Post
I don't wanna be "that guy" but this topic has been discussed about a million times. In great lengths and in detail. It's probably the #1 topic in this forum.

Go. Do. Your. Research
U can research all the stuff about crankhubs in the main section but having our own Aussie thread for locals to find the right mechanic who has done them is also good.
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2020, 03:16 AM   #12
mmmmQuattro
Major
mmmmQuattro's Avatar
Australia
217
Rep
1,122
Posts

Drives: f83 / E93 335 / E70 X5 40d
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danlnyc88 View Post
I don't wanna be "that guy" but this topic has been discussed about a million times. In great lengths and in detail. It's probably the #1 topic in this forum.

Go. Do. Your. Research
When it was first raised nearly two years ago as a concern, it was only an issue with high-boost E85 cars. I followed the threads for a few weeks and thought - not an issue with stock fuel.

A few years later, I thought, I better check and see how it's going...
Only to find out that it's an issue / risk for all, but I wasn't sure if it was an issue in Australia.

From reading this local forum, it appears that only high boost / hard driven cars have had failures.

Thanks to the guys that did offer suggestions of where to get it done locally - I will just go with the vtt crank bolt capture.
Appreciate 0
      09-17-2020, 08:01 AM   #13
mynameisplayer
SCHNELL
Australia
163
Rep
703
Posts

Drives: F15 50i, F80 CP,
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

20 hours of labor is the issue to me (full spline jobbie). Being a diy/family has auto shop kinda guy I'm in the all or nothing crowd, nothing atm
Appreciate 0
      09-23-2020, 04:27 PM   #14
mynameisplayer
SCHNELL
Australia
163
Rep
703
Posts

Drives: F15 50i, F80 CP,
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Appreciate 0
      09-24-2020, 12:35 AM   #15
SE7EN335
Captain
131
Rep
707
Posts

Drives: 2016 F80 M3, 2020 G01 X3 30i
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (1)

The full crank hub fix solution would be an one-piece crank hub like Gintani OR a VTT V2 crank hub with the crank hub bolt capture as well. Both these solutions would have seemingly infinite durability.

The question of whether the Vtt crank hub bolt capture being sufficient is whether you can accept the risk that the crank hub can still spin at the friction washer and although not causing any significant engine damage but you would need to pay up for the full crank hub fix after that incident. So in that situation, you would need to pay more than if you just did the full crank hub fix in the first place

Overall, I think the bolt capture is sufficient enough for the limits of stock turbos torque output
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2020, 06:14 AM   #16
mmmmQuattro
Major
mmmmQuattro's Avatar
Australia
217
Rep
1,122
Posts

Drives: f83 / E93 335 / E70 X5 40d
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
So I called one of the shops that install the fix and asked if they would do the bolt capture - the answer was 'no, it's a waste of money' He said that it's not the bolt that comes loose, it's the washer that slips.

This thread indicates that you should not make the bolt so tight. - interesting...
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2020, 07:44 AM   #17
Curare86
Captain
42
Rep
667
Posts

Drives: 135i
Join Date: May 2012
Location: perth

iTrader: (0)

Elite euro performance in vic offer the ssr 4 pin for about 5500 installed i think. Dunno anyone in WA that has done it yet
Appreciate 0
      09-24-2020, 09:42 AM   #18
MR RIZK
Captain
MR RIZK's Avatar
Australia
448
Rep
959
Posts

Drives: AW M2C
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmmQuattro View Post
So I called one of the shops that install the fix and asked if they would do the bolt capture - the answer was 'no, it's a waste of money' He said that it's not the bolt that comes loose, it's the washer that slips.

This thread indicates that you should not make the bolt so tight. - interesting...
And I'm assuming this shop has seen multiple sole CBC cars spin their cranks hubs cause if they have, then this would put a lot of the arguments to rest as still to date on this forum we have not seen one genuine reported case.
__________________
Previous Rides: 13' 135i, 08' 130i, 03' HKS Turbo'd 350z, Modded GC8 WRX, NA MX5
Appreciate 0
      10-25-2020, 03:07 AM   #19
AdmiralBulldog
New Member
0
Rep
8
Posts

Drives: 2011 VW Golf R
Join Date: Oct 2020
Location: Sydney, Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by MR RIZK View Post
And I'm assuming this shop has seen multiple sole CBC cars spin their cranks hubs cause if they have, then this would put a lot of the arguments to rest as still to date on this forum we have not seen one genuine reported case.
I just read there was a 6MT with CBC that moneyshifted into 9000rpm and spun the crank hub at the friction washer but the bolt didn't back out though
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 AM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST