GetBMWParts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > M3/M4 versus...

08-30-2017, 11:18 PM   #1
joesmithf1
Rep
Drives: G35

M4 vs Corvette Grand Sport

Hi guys,

Newbie here. I am on the fence on picking either the M4 or the Corvette Grand Sport. I test drove both over the weekend and love them both. However, since i will be buying(instead of leasing), and will keep it for at least 7 or 8 years, the most important thing to me is reliability and maintenance cost.

I know this is a m4 blog, but hopefully you guys can give an honest opinion. The question i have are:

1. Which car is more reliable?
2. Which cost less to maintain(oil change, brake/rotor change, etc.)

thanks!
Joe
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2017, 11:30 PM   #2
Thescout13
Brigadier General
United_States
Rep
Drives: '20 F80 M3CS, %E2%80%9818 GT3

Since you test drive both of them I am sure you are very well aware that they are significantly different cars. The corvette, much like my 16 Camaro SS is much more raw than the M4. This can be quite tiring IMHO and does not have the versatility of the M4. Basically the M4 is more than one type of car. If you want that rawness for the next 7-8 years than the Grand Sport is a phenomenal car. But like I said since you rest drove them I am sure you know this already.

In terms of reliability I would say the Corvette. I am not saying that because the M4 is unreliable, but more so that the cost of maintenance on American sports cars tends to be, on average, much less than German ones. Not to mention changing out big money parts down the line are much cheaper. For example, crate LT1 Engine is roughly $10-20k cheaper than a frat S55 (if you can get one).

Also, another thing you need to consider is whether you will Track the car. If not, the M4 is more than enough and will be very very reliable, fun, and versatile. The Grand Sport is the car you want if you are going to Track a lot.