Autotalent
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Wheels | Tires -- Sponsored by The Tire Rack

01-28-2015, 09:58 AM   #1
Mako
(Sold) '00 M Roadster '06 M Coupe '16 M3 '20 X3MC
Rep
Drives: '23 M3 comp

335i winter wheels on M3?

So I have some basic knowledge of wheels and how they fit (offsets, backspacing...) but I get confused when tirerack says a certain wheel will fit that to me doesn't seem like it should.

Right now I have the following winter wheels for my leased 335i that I was hoping to use on my M3 next winter (love the look of the wheels).

18 X 8.5, 35 mm offset, 6.02" backspacing
I have 225/45/18 tires on them

I realize the offsets are different on the M3 and the recommended winter setup is 8.5" front at ET27 and 9" rear at ET29.

Based on that it appeared that I could buy a 8mm front spacer and 12mm rear spacer and my 335i wheels would work.

BUT then I went to tirerack.com and saw they offer Rial Quinto wheels (not that I would buy those) for winter setup and say you can use OEM lugs and don't mention the need for spacers! These are 18X8 35mm offset 5.9" backspacing.

Based on that wheel from tirerack it makes me think my 335i wheels should work fine without spacers! But may look sunk in too much.

I could always sell my wheels and start over, but like I said I like the look of them and its only for 4 months/year, would like to save some money somewhere
Appreciate 0
      01-28-2015, 10:38 AM   #2
minn19
Lieutenant General
Rep
Drives: 24 Z06, 23 CT4VBW, 22 PFinder

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mako View Post
So I have some basic knowledge of wheels and how they fit (offsets, backspacing...) but I get confused when tirerack says a certain wheel will fit that to me doesn't seem like it should.

Right now I have the following winter wheels for my leased 335i that I was hoping to use on my M3 next winter (love the look of the wheels).