VIBE Motorsports
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-28-2020, 02:15 PM   #529
Skysurferke
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: Bmw m3
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevorstein View Post
For all of those having problems...

* Check the strength (and consistency) of your Wi Fi connection.
-->Shut everything and everyone else down.
* Make sure that your e-net cable is properly connected to the OBDII port.

These two things are mostly always the culprit whenever I'm having issues.


Cheers!

When i connect to thor wifi it connects , then after a while the wifi signal comes on the phone.
I have max reception but no internet connection.
To witch network does thor connect for internet through its adapter ( can i make it choose one ? )
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2020, 02:29 PM   #530
Mintsopoulos
First Lieutenant
Mintsopoulos's Avatar
United_States
318
Rep
385
Posts

Drives: '15 MW F80 6MT
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Chicago

iTrader: (0)

Anyone happen to know pricing on just the dynamics package? Looking to add on top of my bm3.
__________________
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2020, 03:00 PM   #531
Trevorstein
Lieutenant
89
Rep
400
Posts

Drives: Trabant
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Galifrey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mintsopoulos View Post
Anyone happen to know pricing on just the dynamics package? Looking to add on top of my bm3.
Wow?!?

Currently:

* U.S.$122.00


Cheers!

__________________
///M Joy
Appreciate 1
      11-28-2020, 03:07 PM   #532
Trevorstein
Lieutenant
89
Rep
400
Posts

Drives: Trabant
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Galifrey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skysurferke View Post
When i connect to thor wifi it connects , then after a while the wifi signal comes on the phone.
I have max reception but no internet connection.
To witch network does thor connect for internet through its adapter ( can i make it choose one ? )
Could be an Android issue...

* https://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh...1&postcount=12

You can also check out the BM3 posts on a similar issue.

* https://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh...5#post26957565


Cheers!

__________________
///M Joy

Last edited by Trevorstein; 11-28-2020 at 03:19 PM..
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2020, 03:22 PM   #533
Skysurferke
Registered
0
Rep
3
Posts

Drives: Bmw m3
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Belgium

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevorstein View Post
Could be an Android issue...

* https://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh...1&postcount=12

You can also check out the BM3 posts on a similar issue.

* https://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sh...5#post26957565


Cheers!

I have Iphone
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2020, 06:48 PM   #534
Enzobaa
New Member
3
Rep
5
Posts

Drives: Bmw m4 2018
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Chile

iTrader: (0)

thor update the software? or is it just coding?
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2020, 10:33 PM   #535
rborane
Captain
166
Rep
698
Posts

Drives: BMW M4
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: AZ

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Enzobaa View Post
thor update the software? or is it just coding?
It updates the software for those specific systems. It doesn't touch the engine software
Appreciate 0
      11-28-2020, 10:34 PM   #536
sagi
Private First Class
22
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: F80
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Has anyone else been experiencing what this guy has in the video? Seems like at lower rpm it would move between 800 and 1000 (confused) as well as drop to 2nd gear when turning?

Appreciate 0
      11-29-2020, 11:34 AM   #537
Jeremy Billiel
Enlisted Member
United_States
8
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: 2017 BMW M3
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

I have not seen it, but need more miles on the car before I can say that definitely
__________________
2017 M3 ZCP
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2020, 12:08 PM   #538
parabmw
Major
126
Rep
1,037
Posts

Drives: 2018 m4
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: canada

iTrader: (0)

Appears s7 doesn't support ethernet.
Need at least s8.
Needed a phone upgrade anyways
Appreciate 1
      11-29-2020, 12:56 PM   #539
Trevorstein
Lieutenant
89
Rep
400
Posts

Drives: Trabant
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Galifrey

iTrader: (0)

What is suggested as the optimum installation sequence here...?


* Thor ---> BM3 (or MHD)
or
* The other way around.
or
* Doesn't matter.


Cheers!

__________________
///M Joy
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2020, 03:38 PM   #540
Kilabyte
I'm Batman!
Poland
1534
Rep
626
Posts

Drives: Mineral White M3 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (1)

Does anyone know if we need to assign a static IP using the ethernet cable? I can't seem to connect with my Note 20

Edit, I figured that out, saw the setting posted a few pages back.

Now I'm getting this, and a permanent rear diff warning on the dash. Fucking great, how do I fix this? Took the car out and it drives horribly



__________________

S55, 2JZ

Last edited by Kilabyte; 11-29-2020 at 05:08 PM..
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2020, 04:00 AM   #541
THOR_Flasher
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Austria
104
Rep
150
Posts


Drives: BMW M2 | M3 | M4 F8X
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilabyte View Post
Does anyone know if we need to assign a static IP using the ethernet cable? I can't seem to connect with my Note 20

Edit, I figured that out, saw the setting posted a few pages back.

Now I'm getting this, and a permanent rear diff warning on the dash. Fucking great, how do I fix this? Took the car out and it drives horribly




About the ENET-cable, here again. Setup your Apple Device for THOR with ENET-Cable
First, enable “Flight Mode” in the iOS Settings. When connecting your Lightning-to-Ethernet Adapter to your Apple device, a new option “Ethernet” will appear in your “Settings” panel.

Just make sure your settings are all on “Automatic”. Once you plugged the ENET cable to your BMW and your ignition is turned ON your Apple device will show an IP Address (for instance
169.254.xxx.xxx) and Subnet Mask (255.255.0.0). This might take 30 seconds. As soon as the IP is showing, wait another 10 -15 seconds, before trying to connect.

Setup your Android Device for THOR with ENET-Cable

Android users need to configure the Ethernet port, after connecting the Adapter to their devices. Please open the settings panel on your device. Depending on your Android version, the procedure may be a bit different. This procedure is only necessary on first connect and for wired connections. Your
phone will store those settings for subsequent connects. Eventually you need to re-plug the adapter, after saving the settings to take effect.

1. After connecting cable, press OK
2. Open „Connections“
3. Open „More Conn. Settings“
4. Open „Ethernet“
5. Open „Configure“
6. Ethernet settings

Necessary Ethernet settings (Topic 6) are:
Static IP: 169.254.250.250
Subnet: 255.255.0.0
DNS: 0.0.0.0
Default Gateway: 0.0.0.0
Please enter and save them!

Now you are ready to flash your vehicle with an ENET-Cable and iOS or Android Smartphone/Tablet.

Did you already contact us to support? If not, please write to us at support@thorflasher.com, and we help you to solve your issue.
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2020, 06:10 AM   #542
Kilabyte
I'm Batman!
Poland
1534
Rep
626
Posts

Drives: Mineral White M3 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (1)

I connected just fine, then the flash failed as far as I'm concerned broke my car, i don't need help connecting, i need help clearing the differential malfunction
Appreciate 1
      11-30-2020, 08:21 AM   #543
perzonal
Private First Class
30
Rep
137
Posts

Drives: BMW M2
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sweden

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2017 BMW M2  [0.00]
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilabyte View Post
I connected just fine, then the flash failed as far as I'm concerned broke my car, i don't need help connecting, i need help clearing the differential malfunction
At you shared pic it looks like you are not in flightmode. Can it be the reason? I.e. Interupted/ disturbed connection?
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2020, 08:58 AM   #544
Trevorstein
Lieutenant
89
Rep
400
Posts

Drives: Trabant
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Galifrey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilabyte View Post
I connected just fine, then the flash failed as far as I'm concerned broke my car, i don't need help connecting, i need help clearing the differential malfunction
This is exactly what happened to me the first time my car was (Not by/with "Thor") -
attempted to be - coded with the same features!

* Chassis error
* Differential error

The car would only drive slow and even then, it felt like a Tank!

I had to take to pay the dealer to hook it up to ISTA and have it reset because the
original coder could Not resolve it!

I was definitely sweating bullets then!



__________________
///M Joy
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2020, 09:59 AM   #545
sagi
Private First Class
22
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: F80
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Maybe it’s just safer to pay the stealership to update the differential software and not have to worry about these errors!

I was going to flash with THOR but after reading quite a few issues with malfunction error, I don’t think I want to even bother.
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2020, 10:30 AM   #546
rborane
Captain
166
Rep
698
Posts

Drives: BMW M4
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: AZ

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sagi View Post
Maybe it's just safer to pay the stealership to update the differential software and not have to worry about these errors!

I was going to flash with THOR but after reading quite a few issues with malfunction error, I don't think I want to even bother.
No issues here at all with THOR. You never know what each car had previously coded, or if the process was followed correctly, so I wouldn't look to much into the one or two negative posts. Thor flashes seamlessly every time for me.
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2020, 01:25 PM   #547
THOR_Flasher
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Austria
104
Rep
150
Posts


Drives: BMW M2 | M3 | M4 F8X
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilabyte View Post
I connected just fine, then the flash failed as far as I'm concerned broke my car, i don't need help connecting, i need help clearing the differential malfunction
Yes, of course, I didn't know if you have already contacted us by mail for support because I didn't found any ticket with your issue. At first, we need a log from your vehicle to check why you have this malfunction.

You have to flash your vehicle again. You have a malfunction because it looks like your flash seems to be aborted.

Turn your Smartphone into Airplane mode and fasten your seatbelt when you flash your vehicle.

Have you already tried flashing your car a second time?

And please do not drive your vehicle as long as you have this error message.

We are happy to help you, the best and fastest way is to write to us at support@thoflasher.com. Please also tell us your VIN. And don't worry, we'll solve this right away.

Thanks
Chris
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2020, 01:30 PM   #548
THOR_Flasher
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
Austria
104
Rep
150
Posts


Drives: BMW M2 | M3 | M4 F8X
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sagi View Post
Maybe it’s just safer to pay the stealership to update the differential software and not have to worry about these errors!

I was going to flash with THOR but after reading quite a few issues with malfunction error, I don’t think I want to even bother.
It is absolutely safe, and yes, a flash can break off once. There are many reasons for this. Mostly it is due to the hardware or WiFi adapters which are disturbed by many other WLAN networks.

I haven't seen the log yet, but I'm sure if we flash again it will work.
Appreciate 0
      11-30-2020, 02:31 PM   #549
sagi
Private First Class
22
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: F80
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Keep us updated! Look forward to hearing about the fix before I make any decisions.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2020, 08:15 AM   #550
tinpot
Captain
United_States
60
Rep
709
Posts

Drives: 2015 F82 M4
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston, Texas

iTrader: (3)

For me flashing issues are because I’ve missed a step in the docs. I’ve never understood why the seatbelt needs to be fastened but this one always gets me along with forgetting to unplug my JB4.

I’ve also found WiFi not to be the most reliable connection and now plug the ENET cable directly to my iPhone and have resolved timeout and interruption issues.

I bought the Thor flasher on Black Friday and flashed in 7 minutes. My first attempt failed because I forgot to buckle up.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bmw m2, bmw m3, bmw m4, cs flash, dct, gts, gts flash, mdm

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:16 PM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST