VIBE Motorsports
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > DIY and Coding Discussions

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-18-2015, 09:16 PM   #1
kitw
Colonel
kitw's Avatar
410
Rep
2,992
Posts

Drives: F91 M8, 991.2 GT3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (20)

Help with issues... F8x M3/M4 - Coding off EDC for coilover install

I bought my F80 in June 2014. I had new car fever and chose a fully loaded car off the lot, that happened to lack EDC. This meant that I didn't have to code it off, but the passive suspension was terrible with the H&R sports - felt great the first few days but got bouncier and bouncier until I could no longer stand it and I stuck KW V3s on the car, which I hated. They are a "slow" reacting shock with a syrupy high speed rebound damping which constantly reminded me I had cheap coilovers on the car.

When I bought my F82, I got EDC and was planning on doing Swift springs.

But, things change and I ended up putting JRZ RStwos on the car. Full review later. I went to look for instructions on how to code out EDC fully and didn't find complete instructions, so I'll post them here.

First off, if you're coding, you've likely talked to ShawnSheridan here or on Bimmerfest. He's an invaluable resource, and like many others, I wouldn't have been able to do this without him, so THANKS SHAWN!

Second, download the VO Coding via E-SYS document and make sure you have the up to date PSdZData. http://f30.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=696777

Briefly, assuming you have the doc:
Read the FA, save a backup, and then edit
Remove 2VF from the VO code and write to the vehicle. (there are a few screens to click through - see the document)
Then, you need to code a few modules. This is what I couldn't find.

I knew I had to re-code the DSC module, but you also have to code ICM, to get rid of the instrument cluster and iDrive errors, and KOMBI to update the instrument cluster not to show the status of the EDC.
__________________

DSC_3369 by Kit W, on Flickr

Last edited by kitw; 08-20-2015 at 12:38 PM..
Appreciate 0
      08-19-2015, 10:24 PM   #2
kitw
Colonel
kitw's Avatar
410
Rep
2,992
Posts

Drives: F91 M8, 991.2 GT3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (20)

I spoke too soon. Once I started the car, I couldn't get into the M mode, so I tried VO coding the HU_NBT, and that worked when the car was off (and EDC disappeared from the M1/M2 settings menus) but when I start the car, it still locks me out.

hmm....
__________________

DSC_3369 by Kit W, on Flickr
Appreciate 0
      08-19-2015, 10:40 PM   #3
dmnc02
Major
dmnc02's Avatar
United_States
901
Rep
1,481
Posts

Drives: 2015 M4
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kitw View Post
I spoke too soon. Once I started the car, I couldn't get into the M mode, so I tried VO coding the HU_NBT, and that worked when the car was off (and EDC disappeared from the M1/M2 settings menus) but when I start the car, it still locks me out.

hmm....
I would try VO coding ACSM next and then FEM_BODY.
__________________
2015 Mineral Grey ///M4 6MT
Appreciate 0
      08-19-2015, 11:17 PM   #4
kitw
Colonel
kitw's Avatar
410
Rep
2,992
Posts

Drives: F91 M8, 991.2 GT3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (20)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmnc02 View Post
I would try VO coding ACSM next and then FEM_BODY.
Thank you!

I've now VO Coded:

DSC, KOMBI, ICM, FEM_BODY, and ACSM

I can select M1 or M2 with the car ON but not with the motor running The little M1 or M2 indicator flashes.

Any other ideas? The VO is definitely missing 2VF when I read it... (I'm not getting any error messages now, just the flashing M1/M2 and not being able to choose them. )
__________________

DSC_3369 by Kit W, on Flickr
Appreciate 0
      08-19-2015, 11:31 PM   #5
dmnc02
Major
dmnc02's Avatar
United_States
901
Rep
1,481
Posts

Drives: 2015 M4
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kitw View Post
Thank you!

I've now VO Coded:

DSC, KOMBI, ICM, FEM_BODY, and ACSM

I can select M1 or M2 with the car ON but not with the motor running The little M1 or M2 indicator flashes.

Any other ideas? The VO is definitely missing 2VF when I read it... (I'm not getting any error messages now, just the flashing M1/M2 and not being able to choose them. )
I wonder if this is related to what appears to be a bug in PSdZData 56.2: Who has gotten a software update lately? M Mode Not Activating
__________________
2015 Mineral Grey ///M4 6MT
Appreciate 0
      08-19-2015, 11:36 PM   #6
kitw
Colonel
kitw's Avatar
410
Rep
2,992
Posts

Drives: F91 M8, 991.2 GT3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (20)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmnc02 View Post
I wonder if this is related to what appears to be a bug in PSdZData 56.2: Who has gotten a software update lately? M Mode Not Activating

Hm, I'm actually not using 56.2 - still using 55.4, so shouldn't be the issue.

I will try fully shutting the car down and waiting - I noticed I can't change any of the settings even with the buttons so perhaps one of the modules just needs to reset itself...
__________________

DSC_3369 by Kit W, on Flickr
Appreciate 0
      08-19-2015, 11:48 PM   #7
dmnc02
Major
dmnc02's Avatar
United_States
901
Rep
1,481
Posts

Drives: 2015 M4
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kitw View Post
Hm, I'm actually not using 56.2 - still using 55.4, so shouldn't be the issue.

I will try fully shutting the car down and waiting - I noticed I can't change any of the settings even with the buttons so perhaps one of the modules just needs to reset itself...
Yeah, 55.4 is definitely not an issue: when I was trying to get no-glare HBA to work on my car, at one point I VO coded every module other than DME and FEM_GW with 55.4 and everything was fine.

rhk118 did mention he had to wait a few hours after coding HU_NBT and KOMBI for the M buttons to start working again.

If that does not solve the issue, I would keep VO coding the remaining modules (other than DME and FEM_GW).
__________________
2015 Mineral Grey ///M4 6MT
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2015, 12:15 AM   #8
kitw
Colonel
kitw's Avatar
410
Rep
2,992
Posts

Drives: F91 M8, 991.2 GT3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (20)

So, the Engine Response and Steering buttons weren't working either with the car running - I locked it, waited until it shut down and it seems happy now... but the M1/M2 buttons are still just flashing at me.

I'll leave it for a few hours (overnight) and we'll see.
__________________

DSC_3369 by Kit W, on Flickr
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2015, 12:42 PM   #9
kitw
Colonel
kitw's Avatar
410
Rep
2,992
Posts

Drives: F91 M8, 991.2 GT3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (20)

Darn. Letting the car sit overnight didn't work.

I removed 2VF from the VO and coded DSC, KOMBI, ICM, FEM_BODY, and ACSM

I am still locked out of my M modes. All of the individual settings work.

Is there a way to read internal codes with E-SYS?

Thanks guys!
__________________

DSC_3369 by Kit W, on Flickr
Appreciate 0
      08-20-2015, 09:35 PM   #10
kitw
Colonel
kitw's Avatar
410
Rep
2,992
Posts

Drives: F91 M8, 991.2 GT3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (20)

Ok, this thread is mostly me talking to myself, but hopefully it saves someone some frustration.

Turns out on the F80/F82/F83, in order to activate the M1/M2 buttons, you'll need to unplug the EDC module. I don't know why I didn't think of this before. Do the coding as I described - Remove 2VF from FA/VO and then VO Code the DSC, KOMBI, ICM, and HU_NBT.

Then, open up the trunk. In the trunk, if you remove the battery cover, there is a silver ECU box right in front of you (two actually stacked on each other) You want to unplug the bottom one. Verify the part number if you aren't sure:

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/show...diagId=33_1822

Part number: 37146872837 or number 15 in the diagram. There is a locking tab that you pull out, and the connector will come out - zip tie it somewhere stable and voila, after following my steps, now it works.

I should have thought of this, I ran into the same problem on my E92 M3!
__________________

DSC_3369 by Kit W, on Flickr
Appreciate 4
larryn2054.00
Yessir343.00
Mmvic58.00

      08-21-2015, 06:56 PM   #11
2SNAILS
Colonel
2SNAILS's Avatar
United_States
1723
Rep
2,055
Posts

Drives: silver bullet
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: dirty jerzee

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kitw
Ok, this thread is mostly me talking to myself, but hopefully it saves someone some frustration.

Turns out on the F80/F82/F83, in order to activate the M1/M2 buttons, you'll need to unplug the EDC module. I don't know why I didn't think of this before. Do the coding as I described - Remove 2VF from FA/VO and then VO Code the DSC, KOMBI, ICM, and HU_NBT.

Then, open up the trunk. In the trunk, if you remove the battery cover, there is a silver ECU box right in front of you (two actually stacked on each other) You want to unplug the bottom one. Verify the part number if you aren't sure:

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/show...diagId=33_1822

Part number: 37146872837 or number 15 in the diagram. There is a locking tab that you pull out, and the connector will come out - zip tie it somewhere stable and voila, after following my steps, now it works.

I should have thought of this, I ran into the same problem on my E92 M3!
I ran into the same issue with edc, with m button functions just flashing and disappearing. Turns out that edc modules were needed instead of coding and unplugging so i was told.
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2015, 02:02 PM   #12
kitw
Colonel
kitw's Avatar
410
Rep
2,992
Posts

Drives: F91 M8, 991.2 GT3
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (20)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemans 335i View Post
I ran into the same issue with edc, with m button functions just flashing and disappearing. Turns out that edc modules were needed instead of coding and unplugging so i was told.
Edc modules? Like aftermarket ones?

I got coding and unplugging the EDC to work. Very happily used m2 today on the way home.
__________________

DSC_3369 by Kit W, on Flickr
Appreciate 0
      08-22-2015, 05:06 PM   #13
2SNAILS
Colonel
2SNAILS's Avatar
United_States
1723
Rep
2,055
Posts

Drives: silver bullet
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: dirty jerzee

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kitw
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemans 335i View Post
I ran into the same issue with edc, with m button functions just flashing and disappearing. Turns out that edc modules were needed instead of coding and unplugging so i was told.
Edc modules? Like aftermarket ones?

I got coding and unplugging the EDC to work. Very happily used m2 today on the way home.
Yes after coilover install if u have adaptive will need edc delete kit. Unplugging edc doesnt seem to bring back m button functions.
Appreciate 0
      08-23-2015, 05:48 AM   #14
M4 CSL
Captain
M4 CSL's Avatar
Australia
219
Rep
656
Posts

Drives: ///M4
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemans 335i View Post
Yes after coilover install if u have adaptive will need edc delete kit. Unplugging edc doesnt seem to bring back m button functions.
Who provides the EDC delete kit? Mach Schnell? Is it out for F82 yet?
__________________
///M4 | AKRA Evo & DP's | Brembo GT BBK | MSR CAI & CP's | MPSC2 |
Suspension : | KW CS 3-way | Dinan Toe Links | GC ARWJ & End links | IND Shims | SPL Control arms & End links | aFe Bars |
Appreciate 0
      08-24-2015, 08:41 AM   #15
2SNAILS
Colonel
2SNAILS's Avatar
United_States
1723
Rep
2,055
Posts

Drives: silver bullet
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: dirty jerzee

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by M4 CSL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemans 335i View Post
Yes after coilover install if u have adaptive will need edc delete kit. Unplugging edc doesnt seem to bring back m button functions.
Who provides the EDC delete kit? Mach Schnell? Is it out for F82 yet?
Kw offers the edc modules about $350 more
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2015, 02:08 AM   #16
onesixeight
Captain
79
Rep
626
Posts

Drives: F82 M4/i8
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kitw View Post
Edc modules? Like aftermarket ones?

I got coding and unplugging the EDC to work. Very happily used m2 today on the way home.
I followed Kit's instructions and they worked exactly as he described. My gauge cluster looks like a passive car with only settings for steering and throttle showing. And all my M buttons work just like a passive suspension car.

Kudos to Kit for all his hard work
Appreciate 0
      08-26-2015, 02:10 AM   #17
onesixeight
Captain
79
Rep
626
Posts

Drives: F82 M4/i8
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Seattle, WA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemans 335i View Post
Yes after coilover install if u have adaptive will need edc delete kit. Unplugging edc doesnt seem to bring back m button functions.

Just unplugging it won't work. You need to VO code the ECUs and then unplug the EDC box. It will work just like a passive suspension car.
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2016, 10:55 PM   #18
Greg FEightytwo
Major
Greg FEightytwo's Avatar
United_States
1275
Rep
1,182
Posts

Drives: BMW GT4 M4 and X5M
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Nor Cal

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by onesixeight
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemans 335i View Post
Yes after coilover install if u have adaptive will need edc delete kit. Unplugging edc doesnt seem to bring back m button functions.

Just unplugging it won't work. You need to VO code the ECUs and then unplug the EDC box. It will work just like a passive suspension car.
where is the edc box located
Appreciate 0
      08-03-2016, 11:04 PM   #19
Rid3r
First Lieutenant
112
Rep
375
Posts

Drives: E92
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NJ

iTrader: (-1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg FEightytwo
Quote:
Originally Posted by onesixeight
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lemans 335i View Post
Yes after coilover install if u have adaptive will need edc delete kit. Unplugging edc doesnt seem to bring back m button functions.

Just unplugging it won't work. You need to VO code the ECUs and then unplug the EDC box. It will work just like a passive suspension car.
where is the edc box located
Right above the battery there are 2 silver units stacked on each other, it's the second one at the bottom
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2017, 05:10 PM   #20
The Choosey begger
Libertarian
The Choosey begger's Avatar
United_States
69835
Rep
4,037
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sanctuary City

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kitw View Post
Ok, this thread is mostly me talking to myself, but hopefully it saves someone some frustration.

Turns out on the F80/F82/F83, in order to activate the M1/M2 buttons, you'll need to unplug the EDC module. I don't know why I didn't think of this before. Do the coding as I described - Remove 2VF from FA/VO and then VO Code the DSC, KOMBI, ICM, and HU_NBT.

Then, open up the trunk. In the trunk, if you remove the battery cover, there is a silver ECU box right in front of you (two actually stacked on each other) You want to unplug the bottom one. Verify the part number if you aren't sure:

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/show...diagId=33_1822

Part number: 37146872837 or number 15 in the diagram. There is a locking tab that you pull out, and the connector will come out - zip tie it somewhere stable and voila, after following my steps, now it works.

I should have thought of this, I ran into the same problem on my E92 M3!
Can anyone provide the changes made in DSC, KOMBI, ICM, and HU_NBT?

Thanks in advance!
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2017, 04:55 PM   #21
The Choosey begger
Libertarian
The Choosey begger's Avatar
United_States
69835
Rep
4,037
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Sanctuary City

iTrader: (0)

I figured out how to remove 2VF from FA.

By VO coding DSC, KOMBI,ICM and HU_NBT are the settings changed automatically by Ezsys to a non EDC car?
Appreciate 0
      01-16-2017, 05:47 PM   #22
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
4776
Rep
25,501
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by anglo View Post
I figured out how to remove 2VF from FA.

By VO coding DSC, KOMBI,ICM and HU_NBT are the settings changed automatically by Ezsys to a non EDC car?
Yes.

E-Sys - VO Coding Guide.pdf:
https://mega.nz/#!1xpU2DqY!eVG7F6k0d...dVSDBnKk8Rzg90
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 1
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:48 AM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST