BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > F80 M3 / M4 Pricing, Ordering, European Delivery

10-09-2021, 05:10 PM   #1
secretsquirrel
Colonel
Rep
Drives: f80

Purchase lease only to sell, then buy another car?

I had plans to sell my car to Carmax, but I heard that BMW no longer allows 3rd party finance companies to directly purchase a lease. This puts a wrench in my plan to extract money from the excess lease residual.

My current plan is to purchase my lease, then sell it to another dealership (or Carmax, etc). I will pay off the BMW loan with the proceeds, and apply to get another loan for the new car. My concern is that 2 auto loans within a month might make things difficult. The loans won't overlap, but the reporting of the loans might.

Has anyone done this before? I'll add that I'm a business owner and don't pay myself enough money to have two vehicles on my credit, though I have enough revenue to pay myself more, if needed.
Appreciate 0
      10-09-2021, 11:02 PM   #2
visi107
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2018 M3CS

Quote:
Originally Posted by secretsquirrel View Post
I had plans to sell my car to Carmax, but I heard that BMW no longer allows 3rd party finance companies to directly purchase a lease. This puts a wrench in my plan to extract money from the excess lease residual.

My current plan is to purchase my lease, then sell it to another dealership (or Carmax, etc). I will pay off the BMW loan with the proceeds, and apply to get another loan for the new car. My concern is that 2 auto loans within a month might make things difficult. The loans won't overlap, but the reporting of the loans might.

Has anyone done this before? I'll add that I'm a business owner and don't pay myself enough money to have two vehicles on my credit, though I have enough revenue to pay myself more, if needed.