BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Cosmetic Maintenance (Wash/Wax/Detailing/Exterior Restoration & Repairs)

11-04-2022, 05:32 PM   #1
NightriderCS
Private
Rep
Drives: M3 CS

Anyone "Touched up" Frozen Blue Matte paint rock chips

Wondering has anyone used touch up for small rock chips on frozen blue matte paint? I've heard that sometimes the whole panel and section has to be repainted.

Wondering how it will look if only a small portion was redone?
Appreciate 0
      11-04-2022, 06:23 PM   #2
NickyC
Lieutenant General
Rep
Drives: M4 CS. Former G82, x2 F82, F80

I'm not an expert, from what I'm learning the answer is NO.

I purchased an M4 CS back in September which had some paint issues which I thought were minor. As part of the deal, the dealership agreed to have all issues fixed to my satisfaction. Unfortunately, I've learned while the car has been away for repairs (FOR A MONTH NOW), that the panels basically have to be resprayed. They can't buff the paint, they can't polish it, they can't do anything.

I was told today it could be another 10 days before my car is ready, and to say I'm reaching the boiling point is an understatement. The dealership I purchased the car from is wonderful, but the paint place they sent the car to is just so horribly slow it's painful. At least we removed the Vorsteiner wing in the meantime so it wasn't all a total waste of time.

Here's a pic of my car, posting it just so I don't forget what I actually bought and still cannot drive. I never would have bought this car had I known the panels would require a respray, and now I'm just hoping beyond hope the paint job is done correctly or I'm going to have to go to war.
Attached Images

Appreciate 4
GERMAN M34181.00
NYG10738.00
      11-05-2022, 02:32 AM   #3
NightriderCS
Private
Rep

Quote:
Originally Posted by NickyC View Post