BPM
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      04-06-2020, 08:43 PM   #1
E92inSG
Lieutenant
E92inSG's Avatar
55
Rep
457
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Asia

iTrader: (1)

S55 wastegate calibration

How is wastegate calibration performed and can it only be done at the dealer?
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2020, 09:40 PM   #2
jballer123
Second Lieutenant
United_States
39
Rep
281
Posts

Drives: 2011m3 zcp
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: san diego, ca

iTrader: (6)

I want to know also
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2020, 10:01 PM   #3
tom @ eas
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
tom @ eas's Avatar
United_States
4297
Rep
16,562
Posts


Drives: BMW
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Anaheim, CA

iTrader: (19)

Garage List
2018 BMW i3s  [0.00]
2010 BMW M3  [5.00]
2015 BMW M4  [3.50]
Has to be performed in ISTA or autologic.
__________________
Tom G. | european auto source (eas)
email: tom@europeanautosource.com · web: www.europeanautosource.com · tel 866.669.0705 · ca: 714.369.8524 x22

GET DAILY UPDATES ON OUR BLOG · FACEBOOK · YOUTUBE · FLICKR · INSTAGRAM
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2020, 10:38 PM   #4
Trevorstein
Second Lieutenant
62
Rep
248
Posts

Drives: Trabant
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Galifrey

iTrader: (0)

Bmp'd.!


How does this work & Why??





Cheers!

__________________
///M Joy
Appreciate 1
rborane125.50

      04-06-2020, 11:25 PM   #5
E92inSG
Lieutenant
E92inSG's Avatar
55
Rep
457
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Asia

iTrader: (1)

I’m having problems with high WGDC, surging and boost oscillations with my Pure Stage 2+ turbos. Have reached out to Pure who recommend “actuator calibration” to troubleshoot
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2020, 11:59 PM   #6
papasmurf_m3
First Lieutenant
papasmurf_m3's Avatar
United_States
99
Rep
370
Posts

Drives: YMB F80 M3
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (0)

Have you tried swapping the WG actuators from left bank to right bank or with a different set? It might be something as simple as needing a replacement. Just a thought.
__________________
Instagram - @papasmurf_m3
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2020, 12:00 AM   #7
M4Viper
Private
United_States
26
Rep
54
Posts

Drives: 2018 BMW M4 ZCP
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Drag Strip

iTrader: (0)

I'm having the same issue with my PS2+. Called all over town and no shops provide this ISTA calibration. I've also contacted Pures with no solution.

Last edited by M4Viper; 05-02-2020 at 09:51 PM..
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2020, 12:09 AM   #8
E92inSG
Lieutenant
E92inSG's Avatar
55
Rep
457
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Asia

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megatron23 View Post
I'm having the same issue with my PS2+. Called all over town and no shops provide this ISTA calibration. I've also contacted Pures with no solution.

Pure Turbos should have this issue resolve IMO. Shops might not know about this flaw prior to installation nor do they have the ISTA program.
hmmmm

Last edited by E92inSG; 05-25-2020 at 08:39 PM..
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2020, 01:46 AM   #9
behindthen0thing
Captain
behindthen0thing's Avatar
644
Rep
714
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

The dealer can do it.
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2020, 10:34 AM   #10
mdma-zn
Private
25
Rep
72
Posts

Drives: BMW M2C
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Motor Plan Land

iTrader: (0)

This is how I understood it:
When you turn your ignition on, your dme cycles the wastegate actuator between fully open and fully closed.
It knows the voltage for both extremes and can adjust the opening/closing of the wastegate accordingly.
I have used ISTA to set the linkage length correctly. Basically ISTA runs a test and tells you to increase or decrease the linkage length accordingly.
If you not out of this specification (drivetrain error), then I'm not sure how this calibration can help?
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2020, 10:47 AM   #11
gman_newyork
Private First Class
gman_newyork's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
187
Posts

Drives: 2015 M3
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Fort Myers, Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Has to be performed in ISTA or autologic.
Please note that if the waste gate linkage is more than 2mm out of spec ISTA will not read it. Adjust linkage all the way out and then incrementally adjust it inward using the adjustment nuts and keep checking ISTA as you adjust.

This is a common problem if you're not familiar with the limitations of ISTA.
Appreciate 1
mdma-zn25.00

      04-07-2020, 11:42 AM   #12
chetrickerman
ECUTek Master Tuner
chetrickerman's Avatar
United_States
9457
Rep
1,458
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 YMB
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Colorado Springs

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2016 BMW M3  [0.00]
I have done the WG calibration several times using ISTA+

It is not a hard operation to do. But usually if your WG's do require adjustment, your car will immediately throw a drivetrain malfunction. It will throw the error even if you are 1mm outside of the calibration, so it is very sensitive.

Usually low boost with high WGDC is indicative of a boost leak.
__________________
Quote:
Torque is a measure of an engine's ability to do work; Power is the rate at which work is done
Appreciate 2
      04-07-2020, 02:41 PM   #13
behindthen0thing
Captain
behindthen0thing's Avatar
644
Rep
714
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Mine were 2mm out of adjustment and I didn't have a drivetrain error
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2020, 03:21 PM   #14
M3ZCPNYC
Second Lieutenant
141
Rep
234
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: May 2018
Location: NYC

iTrader: (1)

I just was speaking to pure about this as I have compressor surge with pure stage 2+. I have a JB4 with blue tooth connect and was adjusting my user settings this is where I sit with my wastegate adaptation is at 80 it was originally at 10. I set it and drove the the surge seemed to go away only to come back when I stepped on the gas then backed off the throttle and slowly increased it, but other times when I just floored it (multiple highway pulls) it was fine. Car def feels slower with just a JB4 and not a DME flash stacked.
Attached Images
  
Appreciate 1
Danlnyc88121.00

      04-07-2020, 09:12 PM   #15
E92inSG
Lieutenant
E92inSG's Avatar
55
Rep
457
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Asia

iTrader: (1)



i did get a bunch of these a couple weeks back. Anyway both Pure and my tuner are telling me i need a wastegate calibration most likely. might have been some issue during install.
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2020, 09:13 PM   #16
E92inSG
Lieutenant
E92inSG's Avatar
55
Rep
457
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Asia

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by behindthen0thing View Post
Mine were 2mm out of adjustment and I didn't have a drivetrain error
was there any difference after you adjusted it?
Appreciate 0
      04-07-2020, 10:06 PM   #17
M3ZCPNYC
Second Lieutenant
141
Rep
234
Posts

Drives: M3
Join Date: May 2018
Location: NYC

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92inSG View Post
[img]https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/...4340cd57cf.jpg[/img]

i did get a bunch of these a couple weeks back. Anyway both Pure and my tuner are telling me i need a wastegate calibration most likely. might have been some issue during install.
I throw air mass plausibility codes but not any EWG codes.
I clear the air mass codes and they usually come back every few days or after some spirited driving. I'm not sure what to make of those codes tho.
Appreciate 0
      04-08-2020, 03:03 AM   #18
behindthen0thing
Captain
behindthen0thing's Avatar
644
Rep
714
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Germany

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by E92inSG View Post
was there any difference after you adjusted it?
I'm my case, no.
Appreciate 1
      04-09-2020, 12:48 PM   #19
rborane
Lieutenant
126
Rep
554
Posts

Drives: BMW M4
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: AZ

iTrader: (1)

Do the pure stage 2 HF suffer from this surging issue or is it mainly the 2+ ?
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2020, 06:27 PM   #20
MR RIZK
Captain
MR RIZK's Avatar
Australia
366
Rep
759
Posts

Drives: AW M2C
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Australia

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gman_newyork View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Has to be performed in ISTA or autologic.
Please note that if the waste gate linkage is more than 2mm out of spec ISTA will not read it. Adjust linkage all the way out and then incrementally adjust it inward using the adjustment nuts and keep checking ISTA as you adjust.

This is a common problem if you're not familiar with the limitations of ISTA.
Do you mean if more than ~2mm that ISTA won't report an issue but at ~1.5mm it will say there is a calibration issue hence why you suggest the incremental adjustment till you get it within spec.
__________________
Previous Rides: 13' 135i, 08' 130i, 03' HKS Turbo'd 350z, Modded GC8 WRX, NA MX5
Appreciate 0
      04-09-2020, 07:10 PM   #21
gman_newyork
Private First Class
gman_newyork's Avatar
United_States
127
Rep
187
Posts

Drives: 2015 M3
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Fort Myers, Florida

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR RIZK View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by gman_newyork View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Has to be performed in ISTA or autologic.
Please note that if the waste gate linkage is more than 2mm out of spec ISTA will not read it. Adjust linkage all the way out and then incrementally adjust it inward using the adjustment nuts and keep checking ISTA as you adjust.

This is a common problem if you're not familiar with the limitations of ISTA.
Do you mean if more than ~2mm that ISTA won't report an issue but at ~1.5mm it will say there is a calibration issue hence why you suggest the incremental adjustment till you get it within spec.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MR RIZK View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by gman_newyork View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom @ eas View Post
Has to be performed in ISTA or autologic.
Please note that if the waste gate linkage is more than 2mm out of spec ISTA will not read it. Adjust linkage all the way out and then incrementally adjust it inward using the adjustment nuts and keep checking ISTA as you adjust.

This is a common problem if you're not familiar with the limitations of ISTA.
Do you mean if more than ~2mm that ISTA won't report an issue but at ~1.5mm it will say there is a calibration issue hence why you suggest the incremental adjustment till you get it within spec.
Exactly. Anything more than ~2.0mm and ISTA will give you a random mechanical or electrical error for the waste gate. Once you get it within range ISTA with give you an actual adjustment in mm.
Appreciate 1
MR RIZK366.00

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST