Fi Exhaust
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Forum > BMW M3 (F80) and BMW M4 (F82) General Forum

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      08-30-2021, 09:23 AM   #1
Karlooch
Private
2
Rep
59
Posts

Drives: 2016 F82 M4
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Okanagan

iTrader: (0)

Should I remove BM3 tune before getting software updated?

Have a 2016 and want to get the software updated as I've read that improvements were made over the production time. Wondering if I should remove the tune first and then re apply it after to avoid anything conflicting?
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2021, 09:27 AM   #2
rmanm4
Lieutenant
rmanm4's Avatar
Canada
801
Rep
427
Posts

Drives: BMW M4 F82
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
2020 BMW M4  [0.00]
I would!

You dont want BMW blaming your TUNE if something goes wrong during the upgrade. Take it back to stock so they dont have a excuse if they brick a module!

Always play stupid and safe when it comes to the dealership!
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2021, 10:32 AM   #3
NickyC
Major General
NickyC's Avatar
11819
Rep
8,792
Posts

Drives: F80. Former G82, x2 F82.
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Jacked out of my mind

iTrader: (22)

Of course remove it.
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2021, 10:37 AM   #4
TopJimmy
Brigadier General
TopJimmy's Avatar
United_States
2780
Rep
3,172
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 F80
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Chester County, PA

iTrader: (2)

RECONSIDER

If you get a really new software update you'll have a re-locked DME and can't use BM3. This might require a bench unlock (pull out the computer) or leave you fully locked and without BM3 access at all.

Don't update car SW unless something broken requires it to fix, then decide if… Ask the mechanic which SW version is requested for the fix, and consult Support@PTF before loading the new BMW SW.
__________________
Laverne: '18 F80 Base 6MT | Paul's E85 | Stock Turbos | Kies Hub | FBOs | 7sec 60-130 | 11.7@124 (Sold in Feb)
Shirley: '19 F82 Exec DCT | Paul's E40 | Kratos EVOs | BMB Engine | Hoosier DR2 | BMCs | 10.45@136
Appreciate 2
EricP3381.50
mord49.00
      08-30-2021, 03:36 PM   #5
AlmondJayRoM3
Second Lieutenant
180
Rep
246
Posts

Drives: 2016 M3
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TopJimmy View Post
RECONSIDER

If you get a really new software update you'll have a re-locked DME and can't use BM3. This might require a bench unlock (pull out the computer) or leave you fully locked and without BM3 access at all.

Don't update car SW unless something broken requires it to fix, then decide if… Ask the mechanic which SW version is requested for the fix, and consult Support@PTF before loading the new BMW SW.
I have a 2016 and was able to reinstall Bootmod3 after my istep upgrade required for the telematics LTE update. Verified with PTF support prior to. Also had to contact them to reset my account so I could have a backup of the newly installed BMW software. Otherwise any future DME stock flash/relock would revert to the software I had originally backed up. PTF was super helpful in that regard.
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2021, 03:53 PM   #6
hellokitty
Brigadier General
hellokitty's Avatar
United_States
2116
Rep
3,338
Posts

Drives: '17 M3 ZCP DCT
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Southern California

iTrader: (0)

YES, otherwise your warranty is toast. They'll know once they plug in your car that it has been tuned.
__________________
2017 F80 M3 ZCP / AA GESI DP / Akrapovic Evo / Bimmerworld v3 Brake Lines / Bend Calibration Ultimate Flex Fuel | Cary Jordan Stage 2 / Bilstein B16 DDC / BMC Filters / BMS OCC / CSF HE / ESS Tuning CP / Motul 300V Gen 2 / Precision Dynamics Crank Hub / Redline Water Wetter / SPL Suspension (Front and Rear) / Uniden R7
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2021, 04:15 PM   #7
EricP3
Captain
EricP3's Avatar
382
Rep
629
Posts

Drives: YMB F80 M3
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Cincinnati

iTrader: (9)

Quote:
Originally Posted by AlmondJayRoM3 View Post
I have a 2016 and was able to reinstall Bootmod3 after my istep upgrade required for the telematics LTE update. Verified with PTF support prior to. Also had to contact them to reset my account so I could have a backup of the newly installed BMW software. Otherwise any future DME stock flash/relock would revert to the software I had originally backed up. PTF was super helpful in that regard.
istep update is a different module than the software update that impacts the suspension, steering, and traction control.
__________________
2016 M3 6MT, Yas Marina Blue/Silverstone
Appreciate 0
      08-30-2021, 04:47 PM   #8
AlmondJayRoM3
Second Lieutenant
180
Rep
246
Posts

Drives: 2016 M3
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by EricP3 View Post
istep update is a different module than the software update that impacts the suspension, steering, and traction control.
That is wrong. An I-step is a set of software revisions that can affect any and all modules depending on current software version. In my case with having never been updated it affected all modules to include the new one they installed.

ISTA can’t target specific modules to update and will in fact check versions based on the istep and will upgrade accordingly.

After I got my car back, PTF had me walkthrough and verify that the DME was in fact updated and had reset my account prior to reflashing.
Appreciate 0
      09-02-2021, 09:23 PM   #9
f80_bill
Private
12
Rep
60
Posts

Drives: 2018 M3
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: California

iTrader: (0)

if you tune your car to stock they can't tell its been tuned?
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2021, 12:50 PM   #10
overlook637
Lieutenant
239
Rep
465
Posts

Drives: M4
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: USA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TopJimmy View Post
RECONSIDER

If you get a really new software update you'll have a re-locked DME and can't use BM3. This might require a bench unlock (pull out the computer) or leave you fully locked and without BM3 access at all.

Don't update car SW unless something broken requires it to fix, then decide if… Ask the mechanic which SW version is requested for the fix, and consult Support@PTF before loading the new BMW SW.
Just the information i was looking for. Thanks.

My AC sometimes blows warm. Independent shop said there is a software update; but he was smart enough to have me check on making any changes.
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2021, 02:37 PM   #11
gspannu
Major
United Kingdom
186
Rep
1,207
Posts

Drives: F10 535, F82 M4
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by TopJimmy View Post
RECONSIDER

If you get a really new software update you'll have a re-locked DME and can't use BM3. This might require a bench unlock (pull out the computer) or leave you fully locked and without BM3 access at all.

Don't update car SW unless something broken requires it to fix, then decide if… Ask the mechanic which SW version is requested for the fix, and consult Support@PTF before loading the new BMW SW.
As I understand it, the DME only gets locked (requiring bench unlocking) only if the chipset supports the new encryption. Older cars from 2016, 2017 do not have the necessary hardware, so an ISTA update (or the DME update) does not lock the DME.
It’s only the newer cars that have the latest chipsets (supporting higher levels of encryption) that get locked and need bench unlocking.
2016, 2017, 2018 cars should be fine to be updated…. My 2c
__________________
---
Appreciate 0
      09-07-2021, 03:09 PM   #12
gspannu
Major
United Kingdom
186
Rep
1,207
Posts

Drives: F10 535, F82 M4
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hellokitty View Post
YES, otherwise your warranty is toast. They'll know once they plug in your car that it has been tuned.
Warranty is toast anyway most likely !
Even if you revert back to stock tune, the moment is car is hooked up to ISTA at the dealership; it flags if the car has ever been tuned.
Just had this last week, and the dealer explained that their latest version of ISTA (and some other logging tools) now detect a tune straight away… They probably can also tell the date/time stamp when the tune was running…
__________________
---
Appreciate 0
      05-14-2022, 11:14 PM   #13
Fat Goose
Lieutenant
Fat Goose's Avatar
United_States
189
Rep
448
Posts

Drives: '18 F83 ZCP 6MT | F/A-18E
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Corpus Christi, TX

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by gspannu View Post
As I understand it, the DME only gets locked (requiring bench unlocking) only if the chipset supports the new encryption. Older cars from 2016, 2017 do not have the necessary hardware, so an ISTA update (or the DME update) does not lock the DME.
It’s only the newer cars that have the latest chipsets (supporting higher levels of encryption) that get locked and need bench unlocking.
2016, 2017, 2018 cars should be fine to be updated…. My 2c

Do you know the specific build date? I have a ‘18 M4 but it was manufactured March 2017. Software was updated in March 2020 and I have a Carbahn stage 1 inbound which I hope to tune via obd2 tablet.
Appreciate 0
      05-18-2022, 09:50 PM   #14
Fat Goose
Lieutenant
Fat Goose's Avatar
United_States
189
Rep
448
Posts

Drives: '18 F83 ZCP 6MT | F/A-18E
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Corpus Christi, TX

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat Goose View Post
Do you know the specific build date? I have a ‘18 M4 but it was manufactured March 2017. Software was updated in March 2020 and I have a Carbahn stage 1 inbound which I hope to tune via obd2 tablet.
Well just flashed my ECU to the Carbahn Stage 1 tune with their flash tablet. Confirmed my March 2020 software update did not lock my ECU/DME nor require a bench unlock.

BTW the Carbahn Stage 1 tune was painless to install and is freaking awesome!
Appreciate 1
      05-19-2022, 07:17 AM   #15
WordOnRoad
First Lieutenant
WordOnRoad's Avatar
108
Rep
323
Posts

Drives: E70 X5/F80 M3
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Boston

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat Goose View Post
Well just flashed my ECU to the Carbahn Stage 1 tune with their flash tablet. Confirmed my March 2020 software update did not lock my ECU/DME nor require a bench unlock.

BTW the Carbahn Stage 1 tune was painless to install and is freaking awesome!
Was there a way for you to check before flashing it? Or did you just say fuck it and send it?
__________________
Winter: 13 PGM 3.5 E70|MHD
Summer: 15 6MT BSM F80|MHD|SSR 4 Pin
Gone: 09 AWD 6MT AW E90|FBO|MHD|XHP|KW|ARC-8
Appreciate 0
      05-19-2022, 09:16 AM   #16
Fat Goose
Lieutenant
Fat Goose's Avatar
United_States
189
Rep
448
Posts

Drives: '18 F83 ZCP 6MT | F/A-18E
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Corpus Christi, TX

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WordOnRoad View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat Goose View Post
Well just flashed my ECU to the Carbahn Stage 1 tune with their flash tablet. Confirmed my March 2020 software update did not lock my ECU/DME nor require a bench unlock.

BTW the Carbahn Stage 1 tune was painless to install and is freaking awesome!
Was there a way for you to check before flashing it? Or did you just say fuck it and send it?
Just sent it
Appreciate 1
      05-19-2022, 03:55 PM   #17
Fat Goose
Lieutenant
Fat Goose's Avatar
United_States
189
Rep
448
Posts

Drives: '18 F83 ZCP 6MT | F/A-18E
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Corpus Christi, TX

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by WordOnRoad View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat Goose View Post
Well just flashed my ECU to the Carbahn Stage 1 tune with their flash tablet. Confirmed my March 2020 software update did not lock my ECU/DME nor require a bench unlock.

BTW the Carbahn Stage 1 tune was painless to install and is freaking awesome!
Was there a way for you to check before flashing it? Or did you just say fuck it and send it?
I did look up on real oem to see exactly what ECU/DME version was in my build (03/17) and all though it was not the same as your build, they were the exact same weight and "interchangeable." Where as the later builds had a different version, that were not interchangeable and actually weighed more. When I discovered that, I was more inclined to send it and it worked out.
Appreciate 1
      05-21-2022, 07:23 AM   #18
Rbc44
Private First Class
49
Rep
120
Posts

Drives: 2016 M4 Convertible
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Maplewood, N.J.

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat Goose View Post
Well just flashed my ECU to the Carbahn Stage 1 tune with their flash tablet. Confirmed my March 2020 software update did not lock my ECU/DME nor require a bench unlock.

BTW the Carbahn Stage 1 tune was painless to install and is freaking awesome!
I have a very early 2016 M4 that I bought through European Delivery in September of 2015. A couple of years ago I had the USA BMW dealership (Park Avenue BMW) I bought the car from, install a Carbahn Stage 1 tune (they are an authorized Carbahn installer). If I now want that dealership to update my tune, do you think they can do that without screwing up my Carbahn tune? And if they can do that, how can I verify that they did it correctly?
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2022, 08:25 AM   #19
TopJimmy
Brigadier General
TopJimmy's Avatar
United_States
2780
Rep
3,172
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 F80
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Chester County, PA

iTrader: (2)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rbc44 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat Goose View Post
Well just flashed my ECU to the Carbahn Stage 1 tune with their flash tablet. Confirmed my March 2020 software update did not lock my ECU/DME nor require a bench unlock.

BTW the Carbahn Stage 1 tune was painless to install and is freaking awesome!
I have a very early 2016 M4 that I bought through European Delivery in September of 2015. A couple of years ago I had the USA BMW dealership (Park Avenue BMW) I bought the car from, install a Carbahn Stage 1 tune (they are an authorized Carbahn installer). If I now want that dealership to update my tune, do you think they can do that without screwing up my Carbahn tune? And if they can do that, how can I verify that they did it correctly?
What do you mean by "update my tune" if you already have the Carbahn Stage1 flash applied? Another updated Carbahn tune, or a different tune like BM3?
__________________
Laverne: '18 F80 Base 6MT | Paul's E85 | Stock Turbos | Kies Hub | FBOs | 7sec 60-130 | 11.7@124 (Sold in Feb)
Shirley: '19 F82 Exec DCT | Paul's E40 | Kratos EVOs | BMB Engine | Hoosier DR2 | BMCs | 10.45@136
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2022, 11:52 AM   #20
Fat Goose
Lieutenant
Fat Goose's Avatar
United_States
189
Rep
448
Posts

Drives: '18 F83 ZCP 6MT | F/A-18E
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Corpus Christi, TX

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rbc44 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat Goose View Post
Well just flashed my ECU to the Carbahn Stage 1 tune with their flash tablet. Confirmed my March 2020 software update did not lock my ECU/DME nor require a bench unlock.

BTW the Carbahn Stage 1 tune was painless to install and is freaking awesome!
I have a very early 2016 M4 that I bought through European Delivery in September of 2015. A couple of years ago I had the USA BMW dealership (Park Avenue BMW) I bought the car from, install a Carbahn Stage 1 tune (they are an authorized Carbahn installer). If I now want that dealership to update my tune, do you think they can do that without screwing up my Carbahn tune? And if they can do that, how can I verify that they did it correctly?
If you mean update the ILevel "cars" software, they will update it and then have to reflash the Carbahn tune again. But with your build date, you should be fine without having to do a bench unlock.
Appreciate 1
      05-22-2022, 05:09 AM   #21
Rbc44
Private First Class
49
Rep
120
Posts

Drives: 2016 M4 Convertible
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Maplewood, N.J.

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat Goose View Post
If you mean update the ILevel "cars" software, they will update it and then have to reflash the Carbahn tune again. But with your build date, you should be fine without having to do a bench unlock.
OK, Thanks.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:04 AM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST