European Auto Source (EAS)
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Engine / Drivetrain / Exhaust / Bolt-ons / Tuning

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      11-29-2020, 05:59 PM   #1
Kilabyte
I'm Batman!
Poland
1529
Rep
622
Posts

Drives: Mineral White M3 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (1)

THOR flash failed, now I'm getting a diff warning and the car drives like crap

I'm cross-posting from the official thread to possibly get some help in resolving this issue.
Earlier I attempted a GTS flash. It failed just seconds into it but left me with a diff malfunction warning. At this point I'm wondering if anyone can tell me how to clear the warning, tia.



__________________

S55, 2JZ
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2020, 08:22 PM   #2
Jeremy Billiel
Enlisted Member
United_States
8
Rep
30
Posts

Drives: 2017 BMW M3
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Connecticut

iTrader: (0)

Can you flash it back to stock via the THOR app?
__________________
2017 M3 ZCP
Appreciate 1
Kilabyte1529.00

      11-29-2020, 08:41 PM   #3
TideMD
Some random guy
148
Rep
163
Posts

Drives: 2016 F82 M4 SO
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Lafayette, LA

iTrader: (0)

Did you attempt to reflash?

I typically get the same warning the first time I try to flash with THOR. Clear out the error message and try again, and it's worked every time.
Appreciate 1
Kilabyte1529.00

      11-29-2020, 09:09 PM   #4
Kilabyte
I'm Batman!
Poland
1529
Rep
622
Posts

Drives: Mineral White M3 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeremy Billiel View Post
Can you flash it back to stock via the THOR app?
It never flashed, it failed at 17 seconds

Quote:
Originally Posted by TideMD View Post
Did you attempt to reflash?

I typically get the same warning the first time I try to flash with THOR. Clear out the error message and try again, and it's worked every time.
Numerous times, same error message every time. How did you clear it out?
__________________

S55, 2JZ
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2020, 09:36 PM   #5
sagi
Private First Class
22
Rep
126
Posts

Drives: F80
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Toronto

iTrader: (0)

Try reaching out to THOR for support or maybe even alex@alpine... read he knows his stuff!

Did you start with DCT flash or the other package?

Good luck, keep us updated.
Appreciate 1
Kilabyte1529.00

      11-29-2020, 09:43 PM   #6
Kilabyte
I'm Batman!
Poland
1529
Rep
622
Posts

Drives: Mineral White M3 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sagi View Post
Try reaching out to THOR for support or maybe even alex@alpine... read he knows his stuff!

Did you start with DCT flash or the other package?

Good luck, keep us updated.
I'm 6 speed, I only ordered the "dynamic" package
__________________

S55, 2JZ
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2020, 10:09 PM   #7
ckendri
Private
35
Rep
71
Posts

Drives: BMW M4 - F82
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: AR

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilabyte View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by sagi View Post
Try reaching out to THOR for support or maybe even alex@alpine... read he knows his stuff!

Did you start with DCT flash or the other package?

Good luck, keep us updated.
I'm 6 speed, I only ordered the "dynamic" package
Do you have Bootmod3? I clear errors with it.
__________________
2015 M4 - VRSF Catless DP, BMC HP Filters, Mishi HE, Mishi Catch Can, Mishi Charge Pipes, NGK SILZKBR8F8S, E85 Cary Jordan Tune S2 Hybrid, BM3
Appreciate 0
      11-29-2020, 10:41 PM   #8
Trevorstein
First Lieutenant
88
Rep
397
Posts

Drives: Trabant
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Galifrey

iTrader: (0)

Sub'd. ...





G.L.!


__________________
///M Joy

Last edited by Trevorstein; 11-29-2020 at 11:48 PM..
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2020, 10:15 AM   #9
TideMD
Some random guy
148
Rep
163
Posts

Drives: 2016 F82 M4 SO
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Lafayette, LA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilabyte View Post
Numerous times, same error message every time. How did you clear it out?
It's been a while since I flashed using THOR, but IIRC nothing specific was done to clear it out.

Basically, tried to flash over the MHD wifi adapter --> failed flash with error --> made sure all connections were shut down except for the wifi adapter --> retry --> success.

I flashed numerous times to the different modules trying out the various feels before settling in on my current setup. From what I remember, this process happened each time I initiated a new flash.
__________________
BM3+JordanTuned (93 & E85)//xHP//Injen intake & CPs//Mishimoto coolers//AR Design cat'd DP//AA mid
AutoTecknic front splitters//RW Carbon CS lip//Mode Carbon rear spoiler//3D Design diffuser
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2020, 01:03 PM   #10
Kilabyte
I'm Batman!
Poland
1529
Rep
622
Posts

Drives: Mineral White M3 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckendri View Post
Do you have Bootmod3? I clear errors with it.
I do, it doesn't see it as a code.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TideMD View Post
It's been a while since I flashed using THOR, but IIRC nothing specific was done to clear it out.

Basically, tried to flash over the MHD wifi adapter --> failed flash with error --> made sure all connections were shut down except for the wifi adapter --> retry --> success.

I flashed numerous times to the different modules trying out the various feels before settling in on my current setup. From what I remember, this process happened each time I initiated a new flash.
I'm working with support, they looked at the logs and said it was not a connection issue which they thought it was. Waiting to hear from them
__________________

S55, 2JZ
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2020, 02:03 PM   #11
Kilabyte
I'm Batman!
Poland
1529
Rep
622
Posts

Drives: Mineral White M3 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (1)

I tried yet again making sure everything else is off, got to 7% and I got more gifts, yay

__________________

S55, 2JZ
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2020, 02:27 PM   #12
thestimp
Lieutenant
United_States
150
Rep
588
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 YMB - 21KIA Sorento SXP
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

iTrader: (1)

Garage List
2016 BMW M3  [0.00]
You have to manually reflash your istep stuff back to stock, this happens when you have a failed flashses or a low battery, dont worry its recoverable by someone who knows how to do those things. Need a laptop and enet cable the rest is on the forums somewhere.
__________________
This muthafuka got the RONA!
2016 YMB FBO
Appreciate 0
      12-01-2020, 03:03 PM   #13
CT_M3
Second Lieutenant
501
Rep
284
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 DCT Competition
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by sagi View Post
Try reaching out to THOR for support or maybe even alex@alpine... read he knows his stuff!

Did you start with DCT flash or the other package?

Good luck, keep us updated.
I don't have Thor but I second this if you're stuck. Alex is really good on the coding and is generally very helpful.
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2020, 01:15 AM   #14
Kilabyte
I'm Batman!
Poland
1529
Rep
622
Posts

Drives: Mineral White M3 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by thestimp View Post
You have to manually reflash your istep stuff back to stock, this happens when you have a failed flashses or a low battery, dont worry its recoverable by someone who knows how to do those things. Need a laptop and enet cable the rest is on the forums somewhere.
I have the first two, if someone can point me in the right direction that'd be awesome
__________________

S55, 2JZ
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2020, 05:10 AM   #15
BPMSport
BimmerPost Supporting Vendor
BPMSport's Avatar
United_States
2463
Rep
7,283
Posts


Drives: Harrop M3 / F10 M5 / F82 M4
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: SoCal

iTrader: (9)

Garage List
2000 BMW M5  [0.00]
1990 BMW 735i Turbo  [0.00]
2008 BMW M3  [3.75]
2015 BMW M3  [0.00]
2015 BMW M5  [0.00]
We can fix it remotely for you if needed. Good luck!
__________________

-----| Like us on Facebook | Instagram || Tuning Information | Remote Coding |-----
----Visit us at www.BPMSport.com - Emotion. Driven. | Toll Free: (888) 557-5133----
Appreciate 1
      12-02-2020, 01:31 PM   #16
Kilabyte
I'm Batman!
Poland
1529
Rep
622
Posts

Drives: Mineral White M3 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by BPMSport View Post
We can fix it remotely for you if needed. Good luck!
I might do that, Alex offered his services as well, the thing is I want to learn HOW it's done with Ista but everyone is tight lipped about it even though I'm sure there are numerous people here that know how to do it. Nobody wants to help, everyone wants to get paid...
__________________

S55, 2JZ
Appreciate 1
      12-02-2020, 01:34 PM   #17
Trevorstein
First Lieutenant
88
Rep
397
Posts

Drives: Trabant
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Galifrey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilabyte View Post
I might do that, Alex offered his services as well, the thing is I want to learn HOW it's done with Ista but everyone is tight lipped about it even though I'm sure there are numerous people here that know how to do it. Nobody wants to help, everyone wants to get paid...
Again, Have you been in contact with "Thor" support?

Aren't they working with you on resolving this?


__________________
///M Joy
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2020, 02:05 PM   #18
Kilabyte
I'm Batman!
Poland
1529
Rep
622
Posts

Drives: Mineral White M3 6MT
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Massachusetts

iTrader: (1)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevorstein View Post
Again, Have you been in contact with "Thor" support?

Aren't they working with you on resolving this?


I am, they're not the fastest. They keep looking at logs
__________________

S55, 2JZ
Appreciate 0
      12-02-2020, 02:13 PM   #19
Trevorstein
First Lieutenant
88
Rep
397
Posts

Drives: Trabant
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Galifrey

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trevorstein View Post
This is exactly what happened to me the first time my car was (Not by/with "Thor") -
attempted to be - coded with the same features!

* Chassis error
* Differential error

The car would only drive slow and even then, it felt like a Tank!

I had to take to pay the dealer to hook it up to ISTA and have it reset because the
original [Edit:] ("highly recommended" on the forum) coder could Not resolve it!

I was definitely sweating bullets then!



Yeah.

I stepped back from making the purchase after seeing your issues. It gave me flashbacks!



__________________
///M Joy
Appreciate 2
Kilabyte1529.00
CT_M3501.00

      12-02-2020, 03:15 PM   #20
CT_M3
Second Lieutenant
501
Rep
284
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 DCT Competition
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Bay Area, CA

iTrader: (0)

Trevorstein

I did the same after reading some of the issues Thor had been having (not Kilabyte's). I did have Alex code mine.
Appreciate 1
Kilabyte1529.00

Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:35 AM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST