GetBMWParts
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > DIY and Coding Discussions

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      01-07-2016, 05:28 PM   #111
Acree
Captain
United_States
362
Rep
825
Posts

Drives: 2016 Grigio Medio M3
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Dallas, TX

iTrader: (2)

Awesome thread! Car comes in in two weeks and I just ordered the cable.
__________________
Current - 2016 Ind Grigio Medio F80 M3
Beater - 2002 Infiniti QX4
Sold - '11 E92 M3, '13 BRZ, '06 Evo IX, '05 350Z
Appreciate 0
      01-07-2016, 06:36 PM   #112
JNoSol
Brigadier General
JNoSol's Avatar
United_States
1297
Rep
3,828
Posts

Drives: 750 MSPORT & E90M3
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Acree
Awesome thread! Car comes in in two weeks and I just ordered the cable.
Congrats on the new ride.
__________________
Daily: G12 750 MSPORT Weekend Car: E90 M3
Appreciate 0
      01-11-2016, 06:07 PM   #113
cwhands
Captain
486
Rep
664
Posts

Drives: F80 M3 SS/CSAT 6MT
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Northern NJ

iTrader: (0)

6NS/6NH

I don't have my F80 yet, but it's on order! Just to confirm - will coding in Enhanced Bluetooth make the Office option available on iDrive / Allow me to see received text messages on the iDrive screen?

The car is at 112 status right now so if this coding doesn't give me office I might have to add Enhanced Bluetooth to the order.
Appreciate 0
      01-13-2016, 12:19 PM   #114
firedown31
Major
United_States
894
Rep
1,419
Posts

Drives: '16 AW M3
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: NH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cwhands View Post
I don't have my F80 yet, but it's on order! Just to confirm - will coding in Enhanced Bluetooth make the Office option available on iDrive / Allow me to see received text messages on the iDrive screen?

The car is at 112 status right now so if this coding doesn't give me office I might have to add Enhanced Bluetooth to the order.
Yes coding in enhanced bluetooth will let you see text messages. I've done it on my 2016 F80.
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2016, 10:40 AM   #115
dmk08
Gone Fishin’
dmk08's Avatar
United_States
5972
Rep
11,708
Posts

Drives: Walks
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (19)

Hey guys 2 coding questions...

Installing KW V3 this weekend and would rather code out EDC than install these modules I got. Anyone have a good guide for this? I know it requires coding and unplugging hardware? I thought kitw had posted previously but I cannot locate it.

AC coding. So I coded my AC to remember last settings but now it always starts "off" when I turn on my car. Is there a way to have it remember settings and start "on" ??

Thanks for any help
Appreciate 0
      01-15-2016, 12:33 PM   #116
JNoSol
Brigadier General
JNoSol's Avatar
United_States
1297
Rep
3,828
Posts

Drives: 750 MSPORT & E90M3
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmk08 View Post
Hey guys 2 coding questions...

Installing KW V3 this weekend and would rather code out EDC than install these modules I got. Anyone have a good guide for this? I know it requires coding and unplugging hardware? I thought kitw had posted previously but I cannot locate it.

AC coding. So I coded my AC to remember last settings but now it always starts "off" when I turn on my car. Is there a way to have it remember settings and start "on" ??

Thanks for any help
Found this thread: http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=863699


Overview of kitw findings:

You do just remove 2VF from FA, and VO Code but you have to hit a few more modules:

DSC, KOMBI (to update the instrument panel), ICM, and HU_NBT (to fix the menu - otherwise you get the EDC option in the menu and if you save it, the car won't activate the M1 / M2 presets)

Turns out on the F80/F82/F83, in order to activate the M1/M2 buttons, you'll need to unplug the EDC module. I don't know why I didn't think of this before.

In the trunk, if you remove the battery cover, there is a silver ECU box right in front of you (two actually stacked on each other)

You want to unplug the bottom one. Verify the part number if you aren't sure:

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/show...diagId=33_1822

Part number: 37146872837 or number 15 in the diagram. There is a locking tab that you pull out, and the connector will come out - zip tie it somewhere stable and voila, after following my steps, now it works.
__________________
Daily: G12 750 MSPORT Weekend Car: E90 M3

Last edited by JNoSol; 01-15-2016 at 12:39 PM..
Appreciate 1
      01-19-2016, 11:43 AM   #117
dmk08
Gone Fishin’
dmk08's Avatar
United_States
5972
Rep
11,708
Posts

Drives: Walks
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Atlanta

iTrader: (19)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JNoSol View Post
Found this thread: http://www.bimmerfest.com/forums/sho...d.php?t=863699


Overview of kitw findings:

You do just remove 2VF from FA, and VO Code but you have to hit a few more modules:

DSC, KOMBI (to update the instrument panel), ICM, and HU_NBT (to fix the menu - otherwise you get the EDC option in the menu and if you save it, the car won't activate the M1 / M2 presets)

Turns out on the F80/F82/F83, in order to activate the M1/M2 buttons, you'll need to unplug the EDC module. I don't know why I didn't think of this before.

In the trunk, if you remove the battery cover, there is a silver ECU box right in front of you (two actually stacked on each other)

You want to unplug the bottom one. Verify the part number if you aren't sure:

http://www.realoem.com/bmw/enUS/show...diagId=33_1822

Part number: 37146872837 or number 15 in the diagram. There is a locking tab that you pull out, and the connector will come out - zip tie it somewhere stable and voila, after following my steps, now it works.
Cool I'm getting my V3 physically installed today. I wonder if ill be OK to drive home w/ the errors (1hr) and then code/disconnect after I get home. Anyone know the answer to that?
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2016, 08:33 AM   #118
JNoSol
Brigadier General
JNoSol's Avatar
United_States
1297
Rep
3,828
Posts

Drives: 750 MSPORT & E90M3
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City

iTrader: (0)

Those with the 2016 model, any issues with coding? There was a rumor that BMW would make it harder to code in the future.
__________________
Daily: G12 750 MSPORT Weekend Car: E90 M3
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2016, 09:37 AM   #119
mephiska
Captain
mephiska's Avatar
United_States
510
Rep
998
Posts

Drives: 2016 M3
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Bay

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by JNoSol View Post
Those with the 2016 model, any issues with coding? There was a rumor that BMW would make it harder to code in the future.
No issues with my 2016. I coded remove legal disclaimers and GFHB 3.1 into my car last weekend.
__________________

Last edited by mephiska; 02-23-2016 at 09:42 AM..
Appreciate 0
      02-23-2016, 09:41 AM   #120
firedown31
Major
United_States
894
Rep
1,419
Posts

Drives: '16 AW M3
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: NH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JNoSol View Post
Those with the 2016 model, any issues with coding? There was a rumor that BMW would make it harder to code in the future.
I've had no issues coding anything on my '16 M3 yet.
Appreciate 0
      02-25-2016, 08:23 AM   #121
ferrarif1
Major
United_States
285
Rep
1,038
Posts

Drives: F85, G05, E46M3
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Boston

iTrader: (5)

Quote:
Originally Posted by JNoSol View Post
Those with the 2016 model, any issues with coding? There was a rumor that BMW would make it harder to code in the future.
There were issues for a while and ************** (thank you) created software to add the coding descriptions back in.
Appreciate 0
      02-27-2016, 11:37 AM   #122
Redbirdsfanatik
New Member
2
Rep
14
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW M3 Austin Yellow
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Highlands Ranch, CO

iTrader: (0)

Thank you Shawn!

I did some coding yesterday and I am really enjoying all of the changes! Thank you Shawn! Does anyone know if rev matching can be enabled for sport plus mode? I really enjoy the heel/toe method of rev matching, but I'm still curious about coding it in. Thank you!
Appreciate 0
      03-11-2016, 01:23 AM   #123
pdx_m3r
First Lieutenant
pdx_m3r's Avatar
United_States
74
Rep
308
Posts

Drives: 2008 M3 E90 & 2016 M3 F80
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (0)

Thank you JNoSol and shawnsheridan for all of your help. I just ordered my cable online and should get it by Wednesday (5 days bc of the weekend). This will be a long 5 days!!
__________________
2016 BMW M3 DCT (AW/SO)
Previous M:
2008 BMW M3 Saloon
Appreciate 1
      03-13-2016, 11:25 PM   #124
JNoSol
Brigadier General
JNoSol's Avatar
United_States
1297
Rep
3,828
Posts

Drives: 750 MSPORT & E90M3
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pdx_m3r
Thank you JNoSol and shawnsheridan for all of your help. I just ordered my cable online and should get it by Wednesday (5 days bc of the weekend). This will be a long 5 days!!
Not a problem. If you guys are feeling generous, please send donations (info on first post). The funds go to Shawn's buddy who runs the hosting and support of the software. Without these guys, coding would not be possible.
__________________
Daily: G12 750 MSPORT Weekend Car: E90 M3
Appreciate 0
      03-15-2016, 02:32 AM   #125
psedog
Captain
psedog's Avatar
476
Rep
812
Posts

Drives: '16 AB 6MT F80
Join Date: May 2015
Location: San Diego

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unixed
Yes. Smell. I smell the road and the exhaust of other vehicles. This is how I even know it changed. I smell something and look down and then swap it back to manual.

Why even have a manual setting if it swaps back. Anyways. Thanks for your assist.
I know this is almost a year after you asked. After coding the A/C setting nothing changed. I used my spare key while I was modifying mine. With the spare key it remembers the last setting and doesn't change it while driving. My theory is that the old values are stored in your profile. Try resetting your profile in iDrive.
__________________
2016 Azurite Black F80 6MT
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2016, 01:40 AM   #126
pdx_m3r
First Lieutenant
pdx_m3r's Avatar
United_States
74
Rep
308
Posts

Drives: 2008 M3 E90 & 2016 M3 F80
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portland, OR

iTrader: (0)

Thanks to JNoSol and shawnsheridan I was able to code the easy stuff - remove legal disclaimer, dvd in motion, blinker to 5, comfort access folding, etc.

Then I was going to VO code the eurodazzle but read that it would reset all of those codings. I guess I'll wait before I attempt the VO coding.

This was fairly easy, but took some time to figure out since I wanted to follow each step carefully. Just take your time and you will be happy with the outcome.
__________________
2016 BMW M3 DCT (AW/SO)
Previous M:
2008 BMW M3 Saloon
Appreciate 0
      03-18-2016, 08:41 AM   #127
JNoSol
Brigadier General
JNoSol's Avatar
United_States
1297
Rep
3,828
Posts

Drives: 750 MSPORT & E90M3
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pdx_m3r
Thanks to JNoSol and shawnsheridan I was able to code the easy stuff - remove legal disclaimer, dvd in motion, blinker to 5, comfort access folding, etc.

Then I was going to VO code the eurodazzle but read that it would reset all of those codings. I guess I'll wait before I attempt the VO coding.

This was fairly easy, but took some time to figure out since I wanted to follow each step carefully. Just take your time and you will be happy with the outcome.
Not a problem. Always VO code before you make changes to the FDL. However, VO coding for Euro LED only impact 2 modules. You just have to re-code FDL on those models.
__________________
Daily: G12 750 MSPORT Weekend Car: E90 M3
Appreciate 1
      03-18-2016, 08:43 AM   #128
JNoSol
Brigadier General
JNoSol's Avatar
United_States
1297
Rep
3,828
Posts

Drives: 750 MSPORT & E90M3
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by psedog
Quote:
Originally Posted by Unixed
Yes. Smell. I smell the road and the exhaust of other vehicles. This is how I even know it changed. I smell something and look down and then swap it back to manual.

Why even have a manual setting if it swaps back. Anyways. Thanks for your assist.
I know this is almost a year after you asked. After coding the A/C setting nothing changed. I used my spare key while I was modifying mine. With the spare key it remembers the last setting and doesn't change it while driving. My theory is that the old values are stored in your profile. Try resetting your profile in iDrive.
Have you ever go to your setting, profile, and great new profile? I just picked up an M5. A profile wasn't created so it keeps resetting all my preferences.

Also, try starting a thread with your issues and you'll get more hits specific to your question.
__________________
Daily: G12 750 MSPORT Weekend Car: E90 M3
Appreciate 0
      04-04-2016, 09:26 PM   #129
romanonj
Major
romanonj's Avatar
121
Rep
1,318
Posts

Drives: F80 DCT
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Jersey, Ocean County

iTrader: (18)

Did anyone code 2016 my with competition pack features? Where do I download the software from? Ordering cable from the eBay link posted earlier..
__________________
2016 F80 M3 BSM with Black interior DCT/Driver Assistance/Executive/LEDs/Adaptive/Black Wheels
2014 F32 435i xDrive AW/CR
2014 F25 X3 M-Sport Carbon Black
2011 e92 335is 2007 X3 122k miles 2006 e90 330i 132k miles
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2016, 09:09 AM   #130
hockey21
Captain
199
Rep
629
Posts

Drives: 16SSM3.Prev ymbM,e46m3,e39 M5
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NYC/CT

iTrader: (0)

anybody know any local dealers in CT that will do this? i would like to but zero chance i am attempting this myself!!!
Appreciate 0
      04-05-2016, 09:41 AM   #131
firedown31
Major
United_States
894
Rep
1,419
Posts

Drives: '16 AW M3
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: NH

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hockey21 View Post
anybody know any local dealers in CT that will do this? i would like to but zero chance i am attempting this myself!!!
A BMW dealer won't do this. You'll want an aftermarket company, like EAS, who can do remote coding. Or find someone local who has confidence doing it.
Appreciate 0
      04-06-2016, 11:56 PM   #132
Joe@TopGearSolutions
Major
Joe@TopGearSolutions's Avatar
United_States
239
Rep
1,160
Posts

Drives: 2009 335i M Sport
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Knoxville, TN

iTrader: (3)

Quote:
Originally Posted by hockey21 View Post
anybody know any local dealers in CT that will do this? i would like to but zero chance i am attempting this myself!!!
We can code it remotely for you.
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
bmw coding, f80 coding

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 PM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST