INDustry distribution
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > DIY and Coding Discussions

Post Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
      05-19-2015, 12:41 AM   #1
hworang00
New Member
United_States
4
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Baltimore, MD

iTrader: (0)

Unhappy Misread the coding instructions...Drivetrain: Check soon error...

Hey guys, I'm kind of terrified right now. I read and reread the instructions but my finger slipped and I tapped Code on the ECU tab and after it finished my car came up with the "Drivetrain: Check soon" error. It won't go away after a restart (waited a few seconds to restart). I didn't change anything, the only thing I did was to read one of the CAFD files. I'm terrified and I'm taking it in tomorrow. Any one experience this? Anyone know what it could be?
Appreciate 0
      05-19-2015, 07:18 AM   #2
JNoSol
Brigadier General
JNoSol's Avatar
United_States
1235
Rep
3,822
Posts

Drives: 750 MSPORT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City

iTrader: (0)

If you backed up your FA and SVT files before you coded, just reload them and you should be fine. If that doesn't work, the dealer can reload your software. No worries as long as you didn't click on the "Code Default Value" button.
__________________
Daily: G12 750 MSPORT Weekend Car: 981 GT4
Appreciate 1
      05-19-2015, 10:35 PM   #3
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
3809
Rep
20,637
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by hworang00 View Post
Hey guys, I'm kind of terrified right now. I read and reread the instructions but my finger slipped and I tapped Code on the ECU tab and after it finished my car came up with the "Drivetrain: Check soon" error. It won't go away after a restart (waited a few seconds to restart). I didn't change anything, the only thing I did was to read one of the CAFD files. I'm terrified and I'm taking it in tomorrow. Any one experience this? Anyone know what it could be?
Most likely, you VO coded whole SVT with motor running, and when it got to your DME ECU, it killed motor and stalled out car, and now your DME is missing it's CAFD.

You must inject new CAFD into DME and VO Code it now, and motor must NOT be running when you do it..
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 2
420Coupe210.00

      05-21-2015, 03:11 AM   #4
hworang00
New Member
United_States
4
Rep
12
Posts

Drives: F80 M3
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Baltimore, MD

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Most likely, you VO coded whole SVT with motor running, and when it got to your DME ECU, it killed motor and stalled out car, and now your DME is missing it's CAFD.

You must inject new CAFD into DME and VO Code it now, and motor must NOT be running when you do it..
That sounds exactly like what happened...I read that you need constant power to the code so I had my car on...you seem very educated/experienced with coding...any chance you can send me a quick little write up or help me remotely? You can PM me the answer as to not get slammed by others.
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2015, 05:59 AM   #5
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
3809
Rep
20,637
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by hworang00 View Post
That sounds exactly like what happened...I read that you need constant power to the code so I had my car on...you seem very educated/experienced with coding...any chance you can send me a quick little write up or help me remotely? You can PM me the answer as to not get slammed by others.
Yes, this is true, but DME must never be coded with motor running.

From the Instructions:

*NOTE: A continuous power source of at least 12.6 Volts is needed. Failure to maintain proper voltage can lead to corruption of ECU Data. As such, ideally the car is connected to an external charger. In lieu of using an external charger, the car can instead be coded with the engine running in order to maintain proper voltage, which is acceptable for coding all ECU's EXCEPT the DME (Digital Motor Electronics) ECU or DDE (Digital Diesel Electronics) ECU. The DME/DDE are typically not coded anyway, so this ECU limitation is generally not an issue.

So to fix it, with the Motor OFF, perform the following:

Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Left-Click on DME => Click on "Detect CAF for SWE" => Select the CAFD from latest I-Level shown => Select OK => Right-Click on DME (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 4
      05-21-2015, 11:44 AM   #6
secretariat
Major
414
Rep
1,025
Posts

Drives: 2016 X5M
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: New York

iTrader: (0)

This is exactly why I had my coding done for me.
Appreciate 0
      05-21-2015, 05:27 PM   #7
Yeoman
Second Lieutenant
61
Rep
213
Posts

Drives: 2015 BMW M3
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Washington, DC

iTrader: (0)

Quote:
Originally Posted by secretariat View Post
This is exactly why I had my coding done for me.
A slip of the finger could happen to anyone.. it's nice to have balls, learn something new, and not be dependent on others.

Coding is a matter of simply following directions. It's hardly rocket science. Good luck, OP!
Appreciate 1
      05-22-2015, 01:40 AM   #8
samsway
Private
14
Rep
88
Posts

Drives: BMW M3 2015
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

I coded my own car. Researched the heck out of it first and did a fine job overall. I'm glad I did it myself.
Appreciate 1
      05-22-2015, 09:56 AM   #9
JNoSol
Brigadier General
JNoSol's Avatar
United_States
1235
Rep
3,822
Posts

Drives: 750 MSPORT
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Kansas City

iTrader: (0)

shawnsheridan Maybe there should be a "Lite" software w/o CODE ECU and Default Code Values buttons.
__________________
Daily: G12 750 MSPORT Weekend Car: 981 GT4
Appreciate 0
      05-22-2015, 09:59 AM   #10
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
3809
Rep
20,637
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Quote:
Originally Posted by JNoSol View Post
shawnsheridan Maybe there should be a "Lite" software w/o CODE ECU and Default Code Values buttons.
A way to Disable Code Default Values would certainly be welcome.
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2016, 12:34 PM   #11
jbb4
New Member
jbb4's Avatar
United_States
3
Rep
28
Posts

Drives: 428iX M- SPORT
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Detroit

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
Error when coding DME2

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B_...HV2RVZhX2RXSEE

Quote:
Originally Posted by shawnsheridan View Post
Yes, this is true, but DME must never be coded with motor running.

From the Instructions:

*NOTE: A continuous power source of at least 12.6 Volts is needed. Failure to maintain proper voltage can lead to corruption of ECU Data. As such, ideally the car is connected to an external charger. In lieu of using an external charger, the car can instead be coded with the engine running in order to maintain proper voltage, which is acceptable for coding all ECU's EXCEPT the DME (Digital Motor Electronics) ECU or DDE (Digital Diesel Electronics) ECU. The DME/DDE are typically not coded anyway, so this ECU limitation is generally not an issue.

So to fix it, with the Motor OFF, perform the following:

Connect => Read FA (VO) => Activate FA (VO) => Read SVT (VCM) => Left-Click on DME => Click on "Detect CAF for SWE" => Select the CAFD from latest I-Level shown => Select OK => Right-Click on DME (the ECU itself not the underlying CAFD) => Select CODE.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2016, 12:43 PM   #12
shawnsheridan
General
shawnsheridan's Avatar
United_States
3809
Rep
20,637
Posts

Drives: 2016 650i GC M-Sport
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Houston, TX

iTrader: (0)

Garage List
What did you use for Power source when trying to repair DME?

Did you turn car off afterwards, and then restart it and check DME CAFD to see if it was fixed or still missing / corrupt?
__________________

2016 650i GC M-Sport w/ 20" 373M Wheels; Alpine White; Individual Opal White Full Merino Leather; Gray Poplar Wood Trim
Anthracite Alcantara Headliner; Ceramic Controls; Executive Package w/ B&O Sound System; Integral Active Steering, etc.
Appreciate 0
      06-03-2016, 01:37 PM   #13
jwzimm
Colonel
jwzimm's Avatar
United_States
636
Rep
2,771
Posts

Drives: '16 M3
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Renton, WA

iTrader: (17)

Just FYI to folks, there is a thread going on where we are working out a good external PSU that can provide enough juice to power the car. It was developed for flashing operations but I am planning on using while coding primarily. It should allow you to turn the car on and leave the engine off while coding and not run down the battery at all.

http://f80.bimmerpost.com/forums/sho....php?t=1262137
__________________
2008 Honda S2000 - Current
2016 F80 M3 - SOLD!!
2011 e92 X-Drive Coupe - SOLD!!
Appreciate 0
Post Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39 PM.




f80post
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
1Addicts.com, BIMMERPOST.com, E90Post.com, F30Post.com, M3Post.com, ZPost.com, 5Post.com, 6Post.com, 7Post.com, XBimmers.com logo and trademark are properties of BIMMERPOST