Coby Wheel
BMW Garage BMW Meets Register Today's Posts

Go Back   BMW M3 and BMW M4 Forum > BMW F80 M3 / F82 M4 Technical Topics > Suspension | Brakes | Chassis

10-05-2018, 04:35 PM   #1
F83M4
Registered
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2016 M4

camber alignment

Recently had Eibach springs installed and went to get an alignment today and shop couldn't adjust camber settings on the driver side because of a broken "tab" on the camber bolt washer. Anyone here seen anything like that before? Dealer says wont be covered under warranty and most likely was caused by hitting a bump very hard causing the control arm to move and break that piece.

I'm a very careful driver and would noticed if I hit something that hard
Attached Images

Appreciate 0
      10-05-2018, 05:22 PM   #2
Miko M
///M
United_States
Rep
Drives: 2020 M2C. 2020 X3M

Sorry to hear, that piece will cost you a lot.
That's casted aluminum.
If I would be you I would take that piece out and mill it square at the end. Add a piece aluminum and put 2 dowel pins and screw to hold it.
      10-05-2018, 11:06 PM   #3
Donger Kim
Captain
United_States
Rep
Drives: MY16 M3

It’s hard to see from this angle but is the tab totally gone? If not maybe just try a set of camber shims as an adjustment. I believe the essentric bolt is torque down to 165nm which is quite tight so maybe that’ll do it.
Appreciate 0
      10-06-2018, 01:07 PM   #4
jww///95
Lieutenant
Rep
Drives: f31xd | f80m3

I'd be sniffing around whoever installed the springs as that bolt would have been removed to drop the control arm. If they didn't cause the damage (and honestly not sure how they could be let's presume anything is possible) they would have seen the damage.

I don't see how hitting something in the road would damage the nub short of lateral hit to the wheel on a curb and you would have destroyed a whole host of other parts in that process.
Appreciate 1
M 4 FUN607.50
      10-07-2018, 08:49 AM   #5
F83M4
Registered
United_States
Rep